Skip to main content

Collection Development Policy - Central Indiana

Review of the Collection

Weeding is a crucial part of the collection development process. Weeding allows for an up-to-date collection and ensures that the library is providing top quality materials for the students and faculty. The collection will be reviewed periodically by the librarian assigned to the specific subject area. The Library Liaisons can be on the Staff page of the Central Indiana Libraries’ website.

Weeding Criteria

Based on MUSTIE from the CREW manual, the following is criteria for removal from the collection:

  • Physical deterioration
  • Superseded editions
  • Outdated or inaccurate materials
  • Excess duplicate copies
  • Availability of newer materials
  • Low circulation count
  • Little relevancy for the current curriculum

Textbooks

Older versions of new textbooks will be moved to the general collection or deleted. The decision of what to do with the older editions will be made by the librarian responsible for that specific subject area or the textbook reserve librarian. Only one previous edition of current textbooks or reserve materials will be kept in the general collection. Previous editions of textbooks that have been moved to the general collection will be deleted.

Periodicals

Periodicals adhere to the following general schedule. For a more detailed schedule, consult the Assistant Director.

Quarterly/Bimonthly - 2 years

Monthly - 1 year

Biweekly - 6 months

Weekly - 3/6 months (depending on storage)

Daily - 1 week

Electronic Hardware & Software

Electronic hardware and software follow the same basic weeding criteria as other materials, but it is important to keep the following four guidelines in mind when weeding:

  • Currency (Outdated material in e-book format is just as detrimental to the collection as are outdated physical books)
  • Reliability of the resource’s information
  • Another source offers more comprehensive coverage
  • Budget

Electronic Hardware

Electronic hardware should be evaluated after three years. Circulation stats should be checked every year. If there is a low level of circulation, then an effort should be made by the purchasing librarian to assess why the device(s) are not being used and attempt to find a solution. If, after the three years, the device has a high level of usage then the library should consider replacing the device with an updated version.

Replacement of Materials

Items weeded from the collection should be evaluated for replacement. Materials that are physically damaged or lost are not automatically replaced. Materials that are overdue for 29 days or longer enter lost status. After five months of the item entering lost status, the item will be considered for replacement based on the criteria below.

The following criteria will be considered when determining if an item should be replaced:

  • high demand for the item
  • high level of importance in relation to the subject or collection
  • availability of the replacement
  • a superior format is available (a format that would better meet the needs of students and faculty)