Skip to Main Content

History Guides - Lafayette


This section on the history of Africa has been subdivided using the list of UN subregions*. These five regions are:

  • Northern Africa
  • Eastern Africa
  • Middle Africa
  • Southern Africa
  • Western Africa

*When you open this page, locate the 'M49 Standard' heading area on the left hand side of the screen. The second tab within this section is titled 'Geographic Regions', which is where the subregions can be found.

The decision to divide this section into subregions, as opposed to countries, is due to the fact that many of Africa's modern nations were not created by the people of Africa. Instead, they were formed by outside colonial powers or by the breakup of former empires, and this reshaping is still very recent in a number of cases. Africa's rich cultural heritage is therefore being viewed through a slightly wider lens on this guide. We hope that this enables us to share African history in a way which takes into account the various tribes and people groups which make up the African population. Their historical footprint, both long distant and near at hand, often stretches beyond modern national boundaries. That is hopefully reflected here in a respectful and appropriately sensitive way.

Print Books