Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics provide a valuable window into the state of health (and healthcare) within specific populations. Statistics can tell us which illnesses are most prevalent within a population, what risk factors to be aware of, what access to care issues exist, and more. It is important to know where to find relevant statistics - and how to read them.
Office of Minority Health
The mission of the Office of Minority Health is to improve the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.
Health Statistics Tutorial
This online course, provided by the National Library of Medicine, describes the range of available health statistics,
identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use
information about their structure as you search.
Health Statistics Resources
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
This site contains many helpful reports related to healthcare access and utilization.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Data
National data and statistics on matters of public health importance.
Data 2010 (CDC Healthy People 2010 Database)
The Healthy People 2010 report contains 467 objectives that identify specific measures to monitor health. Data for the population-based objectives is presented separately for select populations, such as racial, gender, educational attainment, or income.
This valuable site provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
Global Health Observatory (WHO)
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Data includes statistics for core indicators on mortality, morbidity, risk factors, service coverage, and health systems, as well as data on infectious diseases.
Health Insurance (US Census Bureau)
Provides the latest statistics on income, poverty and health insurance coverage in the United States.
Health Resources and Services Administation (DHHS)
Reports and data about access to care and other healthcare disparity issues.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (US DHHS)
MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
National Center for Health Statistics
The US' principal health statistics agency, NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve health and healthcare. A unique public resource for health information.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
The NHANES program is unique in that it combines interviews with physical examinations and laboratory studies. NHANES adopted these three data collection modes to maximize the efficiency, quality, and accuracy of data collected.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
HSR Information Central was developed to serve the information needs of the health services research community. This site includes links to data sources and tools useful for health services research.
SAMHSA: Data and Dissemination
This Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration page provides the latest national data on substance abuse and mental health issues.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published from 1878 - 2012, was the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Most of that historical data is available at this site.
University of Michigan Health Statistics Guide
Links to government statistical information available online.
US Census Bureau
The primary source for United States Census data, covering a wide range of topics/issues.
US Department of Health & Human Services - Data Gateway
This site brings together key health and human services data and statistics. It is designed to complement other government resources such as FirstGov and FedStats. The Gateway covers federal, state and local government sponsored information.