Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Discover! for A to Z Resources
Welcome to Medical Assisting at the Ivy Tech Michigan City Campus!
This library guide was created to assist you in the research needed to complete your Medical Assisting program. It includes popular links to films-on-demand, journals, books, e-books, and other online materials that may be available for your use.
- Books may be checked out for two weeks
- 5 per patron
- 1 renewal is available - online or in-person
- Journals may be checked out for 1 week
- Face masks are required
- Social distancing of 6 feet is required
Popular A-Z Resources
Academic and professional journals, magazines, books, theses, and CEUs for Nursing and allied health professions.
Print Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
CMA Today: Published by the American Association of Medical Assistants.
Indianapolis Business Journal
Social Distanced Library
Come join our social distancing efforts in our ongoing effort to a complete education!
Masks are required and we observe the 6 feet social distancing rules established by the CDC. Plenty of hand sanitizer is available.
Search IvyCat for Library Holdings
Library Items in Print
Human Anatomy on File by
Call Number: Ref 611 Hum
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
Here is an ingenious and invaluable addition to medical reference materials. Human Anatomy On File[trademark], New Edition is an authoritative collection of approximately 1,500 clear, simple anatomical drawings. This New Edition provides a clearer, cleaner collection of images for students and teachers. With its companion, these two volumes provide the most comprehensive source of reproducible images of the human body. Coverage includes: Nervous System; Muscular System; Skeletal System; Cardiovascular System; Respiratory System; Digestive System; Urinary System; The Senses; Endocrine System; Physical Development.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
Call Number: Ref 611 Hum
Publication Date: 2009-02-11
It didn't take long for students around the world to realize that anatomy texts just don't get any better than Gray's Anatomy for Students. Only in its 2nd edition, this already popular, clinically focused reference has moved far ahead of the competition and is highly recommended by anyone who uses it. A team of authors with a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience has updated and revised this new edition to efficiently cover what you're learning in contemporary anatomy classes. An improved format, updated clinical material, and remarkable artwork by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson make anatomy easier than ever for you to master. Unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies demonstrate practical applications of anatomical concepts. And, an international advisory board, comprised of more than 100 instructors, ensures that the material is accurate, up to date, and easy to use. To further enhance your learning experience, you'll have access to the entire book online, with additional content, interactive exercises, and more. Offers the complete contents of the book online as well as additional material, interactive exercises, and much more, at www.studentconsult.com, giving you anywhere, anytime access to the information you need. Uses more than 1,000 innovative original illustrations- by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson-to capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity, and makes body structures easy to locate and remember from one illustration to another through consistent use of color. Includes over 300 clinical photographs, including radiological images depicting surface anatomy and common clinical applications of anatomic knowledge. Presents an organization by body region that parallels the approach used in most of today's anatomy courses. Features conceptual overviews summarizing each body region's component parts, functions, and relationship to other bodily organs. Uses clinical cases to underscore the real-life relevance of the material. Promotes further learning with other fine ancillaries from Gray's, including Gray's Atlas of Anatomy, Dorland's/Gray's Pocket Atlas of Anatomy, Gray's Dissection Guide for Human Anatomy, and Gray's Anatomy for Students Flash Cards. Features a rewritten abdomen section for greater clarity. Provides updates and revisions to clinical material to provide you with the absolute latest knowledge in the field. Includes expanded discussions of cranial nerves for added clinical relevancy. Uses a new internal design and presents an improved index for easier retrieval of information. Provides more information on the general aspects of anatomy via introduction chapter. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants by
Call Number: 610.737 Bon 2015
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Learn the concepts, procedures, and skills you need to succeed as a medical assistant! Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants provides clear, step-by-step instructions for common office procedures such as taking vital signs, collecting and processing lab specimens, preparing patients for examinations, and assisting with office surgeries. Written by expert educator Kathy Bonewit-West, this edition covers the latest competencies and topics related to today's medical assisting practice, including HIPAA, the Electronic Health Record, and caring for special populations. It also includes four DVDs with video demonstrating 76 clinical skills described in the book. Over 120 procedures are presented in a clear, illustrated, step-by-step format, with online videos showing 84 of the procedures in action. Chapter outlines and learning objectives prepare you for the skills and concepts you will be learning. What Would You Do? What Would You Not Do? case studies challenge you to apply your knowledge to realistic medical office situations - with a practitioner's response at the end of chapters. Putting It All Into Practice and Memories from Practicum boxes feature real medical assistants sharing personal, on-the-job experiences. Key Terms and Terminology Review help you master medical assisting terminology. Charting examples help you understand the process for charting your own procedures. Patient Teaching boxes prepare you for effective communication, with detailed instructions on how to answer questions and how to explain medical concepts and procedures. Student resources on the Evolve companion website offer a fun way to practice your medical assisting knowledge with animations, games such as Quiz Show and Road to Recovery, drag-and-drop exercises, Apply Your Knowledge exercises, matching exercises, and other interactive activities (blood pressure readings, determining height and weight, drawing up medication), as well as all video procedures and practicum activities. UPDATED fecal occult blood testing procedure includes new video demonstrating this procedure. UPDATED examples of medical assistants using an EHR are demonstrated in the video procedures, showing the use of electronic charting. Updated venipuncture photos show how to perform venipuncture. UPDATED content also includes topics such as the medical record, including HIPAA, electronic medical records, and advanced directives; emergency preparedness; the use of computer technology; medical asepsis; AIDS & hepatitis; latex glove allergies & non-latex gloves; vital signs including temporal artery thermometer, pulse oximetry, and the significance of pulse pressure; pediatrics including immunization information and IM injection theory; the colonos© IV therapy; and the latest CLIA waived tests. All 84 procedure videos are now available on the Evolve companion website for convenient viewing