Agriculture - South Bend-Elkhart

"AGRIS is the International System for Agricultural Science and Technology, a multilingual bibliographic database that connects users directly to a rich collection of research and worldwide technical information on food and agriculture."

Environment at a Glance is the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development platform for environmental indicators. It gives access to the most recent data through interactive graphics and provides key messages on major environmental issues. The indicators shown provide a tool to track environmental performance and progress towards sustainable development.

The FAO is an inter-governmental organization dealing with agricultural operations worldwide. On this site, access reams of data on biodiversity, sustainability, plant genetics, markets, fair trade, and more.

Statistics on production and market value of agricultural products for every county in the nation

Section of the federal EPA website with links to agriculture Programs, practices, and topics of interest; Regulatory requirements; Federal, State, and Local Resources for agriculture

Designed for consumers, provides education on food safety and news of alerts & recalls

Online catalog and open-access digital repository of data, publications, and research collections relating to agriculture in the US and world-wide

Weather Alerts, Forecasts, past weather Data, Safety, and Education for the entire US

Open-access tools and resources to support climate-related decisions: maps, data sets, research news

National clearinghouse on rural health issues, supporting healthcare and population health in rural communities. Funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy

Portal to access all subdivisions of the USDA

Access the latest information, disaster assistance, energy and loans programs

Portal to services and regulations for managing public lands, including Energy, Grazing, Timber, and Recreation

"Independent and impartial information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment." Access Usage and Consumption Reports, Reserves estimates, Industry projections, and more

Recalls, Alerts, Food outbreaks, Food science research, Food regulations, Animal & Veterinary regulations more. Recommended for research at all levels.

Portal provides access to programs including training, loans, grants, government contracts, and disaster assistance.

Portal to services including economic development, grain buyers, and soil conservation. Other agricultural services are found at indiana.gov

Open-Access educational materials on agricultural topics. Downloadable PDFs.

Agricultural education is an agribusiness, agriscience and technological education platform. The focus of today’s agriculture education is equipping students with the skills to live active and successful lives using 21st Century Skills, project-based learning and hands-on curriculum that is relevant to the problems they will face in the workforce.

International association for agricultural research

Portal providing access to consortium library catalogs, digital collections, and international agricultural research conferences

Laws for direct-to-consumer wine, beer, and spirit sales by wineries, breweries, & distilleries. Website is maintained by the Wine Institute & Compli

Resources for small- and mid-sized artisanal cheese makers

Trade association for all aspects of animal husbandry. Offer many opportunities for students. They maintain a robust social media presence on Facebook as well.

Private institute with public sector partners, supporting organic farming; founded in 1947 by soil scientist J.I. Rodale. Website covers all aspects of organic farming from home-gardening to CSAs, beekeeping to social media marketing.

Association for high school students, offering leadership conferences, internships, and other training

Non-profit trade organization. Website includes events calendar and information about certifications, continuing education seminars, scholarships, and more.

Trade association promoting ethical and professional standards, advocating at the state level, and providing continuing education. Website includes events calendar and scholarship information.

Trade association for wine grape growers and wine producers in Indiana

Website offers news, advocacy on issues, and leadership programs for agricultural producers at all levels

"Alliance of grassroots organizations that advocates for federal policy reform to advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities." Website offers news, publications, and links to take action

Website includes links to information about organic agriculture initiatives, how research is being applied, issues, and challenges

NGO website provides summaries of issues in food safety and sustainability, action plans, and links to government and IGO contacts

NGO that certifies farms. Website offers Information on sustainability and certification.

News, market info, weather, opinion and more from Farm Journal.

Online news and product reviews for amateur and small-scale farmers. Not all content is open access full text.

The Farmer's Exchange is a weekly agriculture newspaper serving northern Indiana and southern Michigan.