HIST 101 - Survey of American History - HISTORY Course Guide - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

HIST 101: COURSE CONTENT

COURSE CONTENT

First Americans
European exploration and colonization
The American Colonies
The Developing New Nation
The Revolutionary War Era
The Reform Movements
Westward expansion
Jacksonian Era
Slavery and the impending crisis
The Civil War
Reconstruction

Native Land Digital

Native Land Digital is a registered Canadian not-for-profit organization. We have a majority-Indigenous Board of Directors, representing people who have close ties to land bases, communities, and deep knowledge about Indigenous ways of being and knowing. The Board of Directors is further informed by an Advisory Council, consisting of a variety of specialists in mapmaking, GIS, relations with Indigenous communities, and more. Together, these two forces help to face and deal with many of complex issues that mapping Indigenous territories involves, such as:

Who belongs on a map of Indigenous territories? What defines “being Indigenous”, especially across time and space?
How many sources, and what types of sources, are acceptable when it comes to making a map?
How do we balance “accuracy” of borders with the breadth of an ever-expanding global map?
How do we engage with Indigenous people and communities to better facilitate self-representation?
How do we create an organization that represents an Indigenous way of governing?

https://native-land.ca/

American History Videos

American History Videos
This link takes you to thousands of streaming videos form the American History channel on the AVON database.

Crash Course: American History

In 48 short episodes, John Green will teach you the history of the United States of America!

Developing an American colonial identity

HIST 101: Survey of American History I

HIST 101: Survey of American History I

Covers major themes and events in American history from domestic and global standpoints, including exploration of the New World; the colonial period; causes and results of the American Revolution; the development of the federal system of government; the growth of democracy; early popular American culture; territorial expansion; slavery and its effect; reform movements, sectionalism; causes and effects of the Civil War.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195167795
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brownruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatmentto be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figureswho affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.

Electronic Books

American Indian Culture by Carole A. Barrett (Editor); Christina J. Moose (Editor); Harvey J. Markowitz (Editor)
ISBN: 9781587651922
Publication Date: 2004-05-31
Every essay in this set addresses a cultural phenomenon characteristic of the indigenous peoples of North America. The entries cover the range of culture from lifeways, religious rituals, and material culture to art forms and modern social phenomena. Although the emphasis is on the traditional cultural heritage of North American indigenous peoples, modern social trends are surveyed and analyzed as well: such essays cover alcoholism, the impact of disease, education, family life, current demography, gaming, tourism, and urban Indians.
Historical Dictionary of the Jacksonian Era and Manifest Destiny by Mark R. Cheathem; Terry Corps
ISBN: 9781442273207
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
The Jacksonian period under review in this dictionary served as a transition period for the United States. The growing pains of the republic's infancy, during which time Americans learned that their nation would survive transitions of political power, gave way to the uncertainty of adolescence. While the United States did not win its second war, the War of 1812, with its mother country, it reaffirmed its independence and experienced significant maturation in many areas following the conflict's end in 1815. As the second generation of leaders took charge in the 1820s, the United States experienced the challenges of adulthood. The height of those adult years, from 1829 to 1849, is the focus of the Historical Dictionary of the Jacksonian Era and Manifest Destiny. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Jacksonian Era and Manifest Destiny contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 200 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about this era in American history.
Slavery and the Abolition Movement
ISBN: 9781422278932
Americas Civil War, was a cataclysmic event for a country less than 100 years old. The reasons for war are deep-seated, and the discussion that preceded it was often elegant and persuasive, but the war of words would eventually spin out of control and the shooting war would begin. As the South saws its power and influence begin to slip away, into the hands of the brash and upstart North, its way of life and its entire economy seemed to be at risk. Yet the risk was greater still; it threatened to tear a fragile Union apart that had been created from a diversity of states, in terms of both their history and their culture. Here the roots of the conflict are examined from the political situation before the war to the decision made to wage war on fellow citizens. The Civil War would prove to be the ultimate test for the soldiers who fought and for their country.
Revolution in America by Peter David Garner Thomas
ISBN: 9780585282930
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Covering the period of the grand era of European and American imperialism -- from the 18th century until after the Second World War -- this volume examines the situation of women within the historical construction of nations, empires, and colonies. The contributors reveal the power relations of gender, class, race, and sexuality at the heart of the imperialisms, colonialisms, and nationalisms that have shaped our modern world. Topics include the (mis)representations of Native women by European colonizers, the violent displacement of women through imperialisms and nationalisms, and the relations between and among feminism, nationalism, imperialism, and colonialism. A number of the contributors examine historical processes to explain present political policies and cultural politics.

Journals

American Educational History Journal
Journal focusing on United States history and education.
American Historical Review
Presents articles, review articles, substantial numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of American history.
American Nineteenth Century History
Devoted to the history of nineteenth century America. Includes slavery, race, the Civil War & Reconstruction. Also includes reassessments of historical controversies, & reappraisals of prominent events or individuals.
Early American Studies, An Interdisciplinary Journal
Dedicated to publishing original research on a broad range of topics. Organized with the goal of fostering research & scholarly inquiry into the histories & cultures of North America in the Atlantic world before 1850.
Journal of American History
Features a variety of pieces that deal with every aspect of American history, including state-of-the-field essays, broadly inclusive book reviews, and reviews of films, museum exhibitions, and Web sites
Western Historical Quarterly
Presents original articles dealing with the North American West; expansion & colonization, indigenous histories, regional studies (including western Canada, northern Mexico, Alaska & Hawaii), and transnational comparative, and borderland histories.

Online Resources

An Emerging Identity: Ruling Colonial America
An article from the American Battlefield Trust website.
Best History Websites: American History
Best of History Web Sites aims to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories and has been designed to benefit history teachers and their students.
Colonial Williamsburg
Colonial Williamsburg website link which is an interaction website which teaches people about colonial times, the town, and the history of the time period.
USHistory.org: American History
USHistory.org link to guideline of American historical information of North America and its past and present.

American History Timelines

Library of Congress: American Memory Timeline
American Memory Timeline contains links to primary sources for each era in American History.
Library of Congress: U.S. History Timeline
Library of Congress descriptive Timeline of the United States, with dates spread out and pictures of events in American History from 1492 to the 20th Century.