Genealogy Guide - Columbus

Easy Family History takes the stress out of family history research. It guides readers through the most important information sources for family historians in the UK including family documents, official records, archives and websites. From what to expect on a birth cert to how to use newspaper archives each chapter focuses on an area of research and takes you through the basics. This book focuses on UK records and archives.Fully updated, this new edition includes information on recently released archives such as the 1911 Census and recently digitised military records and archives that are now online. This book features screenshots of useful websites and images of sample archival documents throughout. Author David Annal draws on his expertise and experience as a professional family history researcher to help budding family historians to get started and keep their findings in order and in perspective.

The quest for roots has been an enduring American preoccupation. Over the centuries, generations have sketched coats of arms, embroidered family trees, established local genealogical societies, and carefully filled in the blanks in their bibles, all in pursuit of self-knowledge and status through kinship ties. This long and varied history of Americans' search for identity illuminates the story of America itself, according to François Weil, as fixations with social standing, racial purity, and national belonging gave way in the twentieth century to an embrace of diverse ethnicity and heritage. Seeking out one's ancestors was a genteel pursuit in the colonial era, when an aristocratic pedigree secured a place in the British Atlantic empire. Genealogy developed into a middle-class diversion in the young republic. But over the next century, knowledge of one's family background came to represent a quasi-scientific defense of elite "Anglo-Saxons" in a nation transformed by immigration and the emancipation of slaves. By the mid-twentieth century, when a new enthusiasm for cultural diversity took hold, the practice of tracing one's family tree had become thoroughly democratized and commercialized. Today, Ancestry.com attracts over two million members with census records and ship manifests, while popular television shows depict celebrities exploring archives and submitting to DNA testing to learn the stories of their forebears. Further advances in genetics promise new insights as Americans continue their restless pursuit of past and place in an ever-changing world.

Embarking on a quest to uncover your ancestry? Finding Your Family Tree is the perfect genealogy guide to have at your side, with special research techniques for underrepresented groups.

This practical guide identifies the major websites and online sources of data available to family historians. It is ideal for both beginners and more experienced researchers as it explores the most useful sources and helps readers to navigate each one. The Genealogist's Internet features fully updated URLs and all of the recent developments in online genealogy. This fully updated fifth edition, endorsed by the National Archives, is the comprehensive guide for anyone researching their family history online. It covers:·Online census records and wills, including the 1911 Census·Civil registration indexes·Information on occupations and professions·DNA matching·New genealogy websites and search engines·Surname studies·Passenger lists and migration records·Information on digitised historical maps and photographsThis book also includes the impact of blogging, podcasting and social networking on family history research, allowing family historians to find others with similar research interests and to share their results. Whether you want to put your family tree online, find distant relatives or access the numerous online genealogical forums, discussion groups and mailing lists, this book is a must-have.

Fully revised and updated, Genealogy, Psychology and Therapy highlights the importance of genealogy in the development of identity, and the therapeutic potential of family history in cultivating wellbeing. The popularity of amateur genealogy and family history has soared in recent times. We will never know any of the people we discover from our histories in person, but for several reasons, we recognize that their lives shaped ours. Key approaches to identity and relationships lend clues to our own lives but also to what psychosocial factors run across generations. Attachment and abandonment, trusting, being let down, becoming independent, migration, health and money, all resonate with the psychological experiences that define the outlooks, personalities and the ways that those who came before us related to others. This new edition builds on the original book, Genealogy, Psychology, and Identity, by highlighting the work of Erik Erikson along with studies of the quality of attachment, historical social conditions especially war, forced migration, health inequalities and financial uncertainty, to enable a more detailed understanding of trauma and its long shadow, and to focus on how genealogy informs our identities and emotional health status, exploring the transmission of trauma across generations. The intergenerational transmission of trauma is examined using analysis of real-life family examples, alongside an assessment of a narrative therapy approach to healing. The book expands on how psychological practices together with genealogical evidence may impart resilience and emotional repair, and develops the discussion of the psychological methods by which we interconnect in a reflective way with material from archival databases, family stories and photographs and other sources including DNA. Showing how people can connect with archival material, using documents and texts to expand their knowledge and understanding of the psychosocial experiences of their ancestors, this book will be of interest to those researching their own family tree, genealogists and counsellors, as well as students and researchers in social psychology and social history.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,  authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most complete and current guide to successful online genealogy Conduct effective genealogical research using the experttechniques and innovative tools in this fully updated, bestselling resource. Genealogy Online, Tenth Edition reveals new research breakthroughs, such as DNA testing, and covers the latest ancestry-related websites, blogs, networks, and social media services. You'll find out how to begin your search, locate specific types of genealogical information on the Web, and efficiently use a wide variety of online tools. Proven methods for recording, organizing, analyzing, and sharing data are provided. Maximize the state-of-the-art genealogy resources available online and connect to researchers worldwide with help from this practical, up-to-date guide. Choose the right genealogy software for your project Record, organize, save, and back up your data Ensure accuracy, privacy, and copyright compliance Conduct targeted Internet searches using Boolean terms Connect to other researchers in real-time using Twitter, Skype, IM, and Google Use social networking services, including Facebook,LinkedIn, Google+, Pinterest, and MeetUp Create your own genealogy blog and tag it for search engine optimization Use DNA testing to find living and past relatives Search vital statistics through the National Archives and Records Administration, the Library of Congress, andother resources Access online library card catalogs and services Tap into international and ethnic genealogy resources Publish your research in print and on the Web

Research your family history using the latest online tools and apps Genealogy Online For Dummies, 7th Edition is the perfect book to help you conduct genealogical research. Updated to cover the latest online tools, this new edition shows you how to leverage social networks and the rapidly increasing number of mobile apps to locate family members and trace their histories. You?ll discover how to start your investigation, develop a research plan of action, identify sites and resources that will be of the most use to you, get information from government records, preserve electronic materials, and share your findings with the rest of the family. Shows you how to conduct research into family history using the latest online tools, mobile apps, and other resources Explains how to use online and offline research techniques and tools for genealogical research, find and share information with other genealogists, and create your own site to showcase your family tree, digital images, and compiled genealogies Includes access to free versions of RootsMagic Essentials and Legacy Family Tree Standard Edition as well as information on free websites for storing your genealogical information Covers DNA research and testing, new geocoding applications, U.S. Census information available online, international records, public access catalogs, and more Genealogy Online For Dummies, 7th Edition helps you follow the clues to uncover your family?s legacy ? the fun and easy way.

An excellent starting point for both reference librarians and for library users seeking information about family history and the lives of others, this resource is drawn from the authoritative database of Guide to Reference, voted Best Professional Resource Database by Library Journal readers in 2012. Biographical resources have long been of interest to researchers and general readers, and this title directs readers to the best biographical sources for all regions of the world. For interest in the lives of those not found in biographical resources, this title also serves as a guide to the most useful genealogical resources. Profiling more than 1400 print and electronic sources, this book helps connect librarians and researchers to the most relevant sources of information in genealogy and biography.

America is in the midst of a genealogy boom. In the last thirty years the number of Americans who said they were "very interested" in family history jumped from 29% to 87%. Online genealogy sites like Ancestry.com went from being a small genealogical research website into a NASDAQ-listed corporation with more than two million subscribers. In Roots Quest, sociologist Jackie Hogan digs into this genealogy boom to ask why we are so interested in our family history. She goes beyond simple demographics--retiring baby boomers with more time on their hands--to show that the surging popularity of genealogy is in part a response to some of the large-scale social changes transforming our lives, such as the increasingly virtual nature of social life, and the sense of rootlessness these transformations provoke. Roots Quest explores the way our increasingly rootless society fuels the quest for authenticity, for deep history, and for an elemental sense of belonging--for roots.

This fully revised second edition of Rosemary Wenzerul's lively and informative guide to researching Jewish history will be absorbing reading for anyone who wants to find out about the life of a Jewish ancestor. In a clear and accessible way she takes readers through the entire process of research. She provides a brief social history of the Jewish presence in Britain and looks at practical issues of research - how to get started, how to organize the work, how to construct a family tree and how to use the information obtained to tell the story of a family. In addition she describes, in practical detail, the many sources that researchers can go to for information on their ancestors, their families and Jewish history.

Scotland is a land with a proud and centuries long history that far predates its membership of Great Britain and the United Kingdom. Today in the 21st century it is also a land that has done much to make its historical records accessible, to help those with Caledonian ancestry trace their roots back to earlier times and a world long past.In Tracing Scottish Family History on the Internet, Chris Paton expertly guides the family historian through the many Scottish records offerings available, but also cautions the reader that not every record is online, providing detailed advice on how to use web based finding aids to locate further material across the country and beyond. He also examines social networking and the many DNA platforms that are currently further revolutionizing online Scottish research.From the Scottish Government websites offering access to our most important national records, to the holdings of local archives, libraries, family history societies, and online vendors, Chris Paton takes the reader across Scotland, from the Highlands and Islands, through the Central Belt and the Lowlands, and across the diaspora, to explore the various flavors of Scottishness that have bound us together as a nation for so long.