Skip to main content

Career Exploration - Bloomington: Take Career Assessments, Access Career Resources at Ivy Tech, Research Jobs and Careers, and Find Internships

This Guide contains information on Career Exploration for teenagers and college students.

Online Career Assessments


Ferguson's Career Interest Assessment at http://bloomington.libproxy.ivytech.edu/login?url=http://fcg.infobase.com.bloomington.libproxy.ivytech.edu/recordurl.asp?aid=17603&id=1057 (from Facts on File) - Discover the occupations and industries that best target your personal interests.

O*NET Interest Profiler at http://www.mynextmove.org/explore/ip" id="anch_228 - Take this quick, online assessment of your career interests to help identify your work-related interests, and find the types of careers that match them.

Your Free Career Test at http://www.yourfreecareertest.com - Assess your career interests and skills; identify related classes and subjects to focus on in high school and early college.

When I Grow Up at https://dlr.sd.gov/lmic/pdfs_and_other_files/cwonders_interest_survey.pdf - A printable career interest assessment; suitable for younger students.

Career Development - Ivy Tech Bloomington

Career Development (Scroll down and select Bloomington)


Katie T. Anderson
Director of Career Development - Bloomington Region
200 Daniels Way, A145
Bloomington, IN  47404
812.330.6018
kanderso@ivytech.edu

Online Resources for Researching Careers

These subscription databases offer information on careers, wages, job search skills, and more:

  • Ferguson's Career Guidance Center (from Facts on File) is a subscription database that offers job descriptions and analyses, required education and certifications, potential wages and compensation, and more.
  • Careers & Job Search (from Films on Demand) is a subscription database that offers streaming videos on career exploration, career fields, job search skills, & job success skills.

These free websites offer a wealth of information on various careers:
 

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook - This reference book is published by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics and is now available free on the web.
  • Occupational Outlook Quarterly - This quarterly report provides practical information on jobs and careers. Articles are written in straightforward, non-technical language and cover a wide variety of career and work-related topics such as unusual occupations, tips for jobseekers, salary trends, and results of new studies from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
  • O*NET Online - This website for job seekers and employment professionals is maintained by the National Center for O*NET Development on behalf of the U.S. Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration.
  • Monster - Post a resume, search for jobs, and more.
  • CareerOneStop - Explore careers, plan your education, get tips on planning a successful job search, and compare wages and salaries by location.

Indiana Career Resources

  • HireIvy - Ivy Tech students and alumni may post resumes and search for job and internship opportunities on this college-wide, online job board.  Students and alumni may search for local, regional, and statewide opportunities as well as national and international job leads.
  • Learn More Indiana - Explore careers, up & coming industries, hot jobs, internships, job shadowing, and more.  Get tips on planning for, choosing, and completing college.
  • Indiana Career Explorer - Assess your career interests and skills; identify potential occupations; establish educational strategies, and ultimately connect to employers.

Print Resources for Researching Careers

These reference books are available at the Ivy Tech Bloomington Library:
 

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    HB2595 .O26 2013
  • O*NET Dictionary of Occupations
    HB2595 .O16 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Careers
    HF5381 .E52 2015 vols. 1-5
  • Top 300 Careers
    HF5382.5 .U5 A716 2010

In addition to the reference books listed above, many other Career Resources are available in the Library, Room D123.

List of career resources available in the library, room D123

Find Internships in Indiana

The Indiana INTERNnet is "an internship-matching program linking employers, students, high schools, colleges and universities by providing both high-tech and high-touch support. It is a powerful high-tech Web-based search, matching and reporting system coupled with 'high touch' personal assistance, a toll-free hotline to answer questions and provide internship guidance, resource materials, creating or expanding high quality internship opportunities within the state."

Participation is free, but registration is required.  Passwords may take up to two weeks to arrive.

Find Government Internships

Summer White House Internship Program -- Provides a unique opportunity for students with an interest in public service to gain valuable professional experience and build leadership skills. This program is designed to mentor and cultivate today’s leaders, strengthen their understanding of the Executive Office of the President and engage them in public service opportunities. A complete application includes: short answers, two essay questions, a one-page resume, and two letters of recommendation.

Crane Army Ammunition Activity / Dept of the Army Recent Graduates Program -- Affords developmental experiences in the Department of Army intended to promote possible careers in the civil service to individuals who have recently graduated from qualifying educational institutions or programs. Successful applicants are placed in a dynamic, developmental program with the potential to lead to a civil service career in the Federal Government. After Program completion, Department of the Army Recent Graduates MAY be converted to a permanent position. Applicants are reminded that they MUST submit their transcripts with their application. This validates the candidates are "recent grads."

AmeriCorps -- Each year, more than 5 million individuals of all ages and backgrounds help meet local needs through a wide array of service opportunities through the Corporation for National and Community Service's core programs: AmeriCorps, Senior Corps, and the Social Innovation Fund. These programs and others, such as the Volunteer Generation Fund, support projects in six priority areas: disaster services, economic opportunity, education, environmental stewardship, healthy futures, and veterans and military families.