Skip to main content

Alternative Fuels/Sustainable Energy - Lafayette: Books

This guide provides access to college and other online resources for those students needing material on alternative fuels and energy sources.

Print Books

The library maintains a large collection of material on energy and renewable sources.  We use the Library of Congress classification system to organize these books on the shelves. Each book is given an LC classification consisting of an alpha-numeric notation on the spine which indicates the area on the shelf where the book is housed.  Sample LC classifications are listed below and the shelves can be browsed for these books.

  • TH7413 - Solar energy
  • TJ280 - Geothermal
  • TJ807 - 830 Renewable energy sources
  • TJ820 - 828 Wind power
  • TL220 - Electric cars
  • TP339 - Biomass

To find a particular book or books on a particluar topic the library's online catalog IvyCat is the best source.  You can search by author, book title, or subject.

The following are some sample canned subject searches of the catalog for print books.

Library Catalogs

The library's online catalogs are the beginning point to locate materials in the library as well as online. These catalogs can be searched by:

  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • Keyword
  • Series, etc.

The catalogs will give you the status of the item and provide you with the location in the library or, in the case of ebooks, take you directly to the full-text of the item online.

IvyCat lists all of the material held by the Ivy Tech libraries statewide. All but one of these libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System (An alphanumeric system of classifying and arranging books on the shelves in a library. It was developed by the American Library of Congress and is the most widely used system in college and university libraries).

Electronic Books Direct

 

Sometimes it is better to search directly in the ebook database.  Many of these databases will actually search for terms in the table of contents, chapter headings or fulltext of the book itself.  This will often find books that have a chapter or section on your topic, although the book itself would not be listed under that topic in IvyCat.

Several of our ebook databases that have material on renewable energy are listed below.

Electronic Books

The library provides access to thousands of  electronic books. These titles are available by searching the various ebook databases or simply searching the Ivy Tech statewide catalog IvyCat by author, title, or subject AND choose "ebooks only" as the location.

Below are links to electronic books.