Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library maintains a large collection of material on medicine and respiratory care. We use the Library of Congress classification system to organize these books on the shelves. Sample LC classifications are listed below and the shelves can be browsed for these books.
- RC591 - Asthma
- RC702 - Cardiopulmonary Diseases
- RC720 - Pulmonary Toxicology
- RC734.B7 - Bronchoscopy
- RC735.I5 - Inhalation Therapy (Respiratory Therapy)
- RC735.R48 - Respiratoy Emergencies
- R737.5 - Sleep Apnea
To find a particular book or books on a particular topic the library's online catalog IvyCat is the best source.
The library's online catalog is the beginning point to locate materials in the library as well as online. The catalog can be searched by:
- Series, etc.
The catalog will give you the status of the item and provide you with the location in the library or, in the case of ebooks, take you directly to the full-text of the item online.
IvyCat lists all of the material held by the Ivy Tech libraries statewide. All but one of these libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System (An alphanumeric system of classifying and arranging books on the shelves in a library. It was developed by the American Library of Congress and is the most widely used system in college and university libraries).
Ivy Techs statewide online catalog provides access to collections of all fourteen regional libraries. IvyCat provides access to all Ivy Tech holdings including electronic books.
"An online union catalog of over 49 million records representing books, journals, dissertations, audio-visual materials, and manuscripts in repositories worldwide."
LC Classification System
This site provides a detailed break down of the Library of Congress Classification system.
Principles of Biomedical Ethics by
Call Number: R724 .B36 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care by
Call Number: Ref RC735.I5 E37 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Designed for optimal student learning for over 40 years, Egan''s Fundamentals of Respiratory Care, 11th Edition provides you with the strong background you need to succeed in the field of respiratory care. Nicknamed "the Bible for respiratory care," it helps you gain a thorough understanding of the role of respiratory therapists, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications.
There are hundreds of titles covering medicine and respiratory care. These titles are available by searching the various ebook databases or simply searching the Ivy Tech statewide catalog IvyCat. Below are searches for ebooks.