Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library maintains a large collection of material on medicine and nursing. We use the Library of Congress classification system to organize these books on the shelves. Each book is given an LC classification consisting of an alpha-numeric notation on the spine which indicates the area on the shelf where the book is housed. Sample LC classifications are listed below and the shelves can be browsed for these books.
- RC954 - Geriatric Nursing
- RJ245 - Pediatric Nursing
- RT49 - Nursing Care Plans
- RT68 - Mathmatics for Nurses
- RT82 - Nursing as a Profession
- RT84.5 - Philosophy of Nursing. Nursing Models
- RT85 - Nursing Ethics
To find a particular book or books on a particluar topic the library's online catalog IvyCat is the best source. You can search by author, book title, or subject.
Below are links to books available in the Campus Library collection.
Books On Diseases
Medical and nursing books which deal with diseases available in the Campus Library.
Books On Nursing Care Plans
Books dealng with all aspects of care planning in general and for specific illness and diseases available in the Campus Library.
Books On Nursing Theory
Books dealing with nursing theory and nursing theorists available in the Campus Library.
The library's online catalog is the beginning point to locate materials in the library as well as online. The catalog can be searched by:
- Series, etc.
The catalog will give you the status of the item and provide you with the location in the library or, in the case of ebooks, take you directly to the full-text of the item online.
IvyCat lists all of the material held by the Ivy Tech libraries statewide. All but one of these libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System (An alphanumeric system of classifying and arranging books on the shelves in a library. It was developed by the American Library of Congress and is the most widely used system in college and university libraries).
IvyCat provides access to all Ivy Tech library site holdings plus electronic books.
"An online union catalog of over 49 million records representing books, journals, dissertations, audio-visual materials, and manuscripts in repositories worldwide."
LC Classification System
This site provides a detailed break down of the Library of Congress Classification system.
Clinical Nursing Skills and Techniques by
Call Number: RT41 .P46 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Known for its clear and comprehensive coverage of over 200 basic, intermediate and advanced skills, this widely respected, bestselling text features nearly 1,000 full-color photographs and drawings, a nursing process framework, step-by-step instructions with rationales, and a focus on critical thinking and evidence-based practice. This edition also includes new coverage of patient-centered care and safety guidelines, an enhanced emphasis on QSEN core competencies, and an expanded clinical focus with specialized Clinical Debriefs, Teach-Back, and sample documentation throughout.
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2018 by
Call Number: Ref RM125 .H572 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Organized alphabetically by generic drug name, Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2018 provides essential information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs. This go-to drug reference features Black Box Alerts and comprehensive coverage of IV drug administration, nursing considerations, and fixed combinations - all in a handy user-friendly format. To promote better patient care, it uniquely guides you through clinical priorities in the practice setting.
The library provides access to over 30,000 electronic books. These titles are available by searching the various ebook databases or simply searching the Ivy Tech statewide catalog IvyCat . The following are some sample subject searches on IvyCat for electronic books.