Skip to main content

Legal Research - Lafayette: Guides and Tutorials

This site provides resources and links for information on finding basic legal information inclding court cases, state ad federal legislation and statutes, etc.

Tutorials

The Bluebook

 
This is the standard citation system used by lawyers.

Legal Citation

Legal Digests Guide

West’s Annotated Indiana Code (IC)This multi-volume set provides the exact wording of the Indiana Code (statutes passed by the legislature) with annotations providing references to reported Indiana court decisions, pertinent information in other publications, attorney general rulings and other relevant sections of the code.  The IC also provides historical notes as to when sections were initially passed, recodified and/or amended.  It has a subject index covering the entire set.  Amendments and updates are provided through pocket parts kept in the back of each volume and/or through soft-bound supplements.

 

West’s Indiana Law Encyclopedia (ILE) – This multi-volume collection is an encyclopedia, arranged by topic, of the law in Indiana. It “sets forth the laws of Indiana, as gathered from reported cases & statutes of Indiana, as well as cases in the Supreme Court of the U. S. and other U. S. courts arising in Indiana as long as the latter deal with Indiana law. It presents the rules of Indiana law and their exceptions, qualifications, limitations and extensions.” These volumes reference landmark cases and cite the North Eastern Reporter among other sources.

 

           

            Example:

                   Vol.         Source (Northeast Reporter 2nd.)       Page

                                               

                  726                         N.E. 2d                              308

 

Topics are ordered alphabetically and there is a descriptive word index in each volume as well as an overall index for the entire set. Amendments are provided through pocket parts kept in the back of each volume and/or through soft-bound supplements.

West’s Indiana Digest 2nd  This multi-volume set covers state and federal Indiana cases decided since 1817. It includes brief discussions of areas of law addressed in a case (headnotes) and lists the deciding court, year, the plaintiffs/defendants, sources where additional information is available, and the case citation (the reporter volume number and page number where the case in question can be located).

The headnotes, listed in reverse chronological order, are grouped into topics, and the topics are ordered alphabetically. This set can be used as a major topical index to Indiana Cases -  North Eastern Reporter 2nd  (N.E.2d). Amendments and updates are provided through pocket parts kept in the back of each volume and/or through softbound supplements.

West’s Indiana Cases – North Eastern Reporter 2ndThis multi-volume set includes reported cases from the Indiana Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and Tax Court since April 1936.  There is an alphabetical table of contents in the front of each volume by names of litigants. The cases are listed chronologically.  There is no descriptive word index.  References are made, however, from the West’s Indiana Digest and West’s Indiana Law Encyclopedia.

This title does have regular updates which include cases published since the last bound volume.  These titles include brief descriptions of each case organized by topical areas similar to West’s Indiana Digest.  From here the reader is directed to the actual cases at the end of the volume.

 

Guides