Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Books
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English by
Publication Date: 2001-08-27
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books is an alphabetized reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of children's books written in English worldwide. It is not a guide to "children's literature" but has a wider task--to include any author, or illustrator, or work, believed by the editors to have made a significant impact on young readers, or to have in some way influenced the development of children's books. In addition to the long-established traditions of children's writing from Great Britain and the USA, the Guide covers the increasing range of successful children's books produced in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, West Africa, and India; and the exciting renaissance in children's books currently taking place in Ireland and South Africa. Reflecting the developing scholarly appreciation for the history of children's books, The Guide gives due weight to children's books from pre-Norman times, and acknowledges recent developments in publishing practices and in children's own reading. Victor Watson is Assistant Director of Research, Homerton College, University of Cambridge. He has edited several volumes about children's literature, including Opening the Nursery Door (Routledge, 1997) and Where Texts and Children Meet (Routledge, 2000).
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by
Publication Date: 2005-09-26
`What an outstanding resource for teachers, parents, librarians, and student researchers, as well as any reader curious about children's and young adult's literature! Articles provide sufficient information in well-written and very readable text. An invaluable addition to any reference collection.' Library Talk & The Book Report `Based on five years of collaborative work by an international board, this encyclopedia represents the most comprehensive basic reference work on children's literature currently available...the well-written author and topical entries provide enough information to make this a good source for parents and librarians trying to assess the suitability of an author or topical area for a particular child....the inclusion of entries on illustrators is a welcome feature.' Library Journal With 1,200 biographical-critical entries and nearly 100 topical articles all written by experts in the field, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is the most complete and up-to-date single-volume reference source on the subject. The work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: The United States, Great Britain, Canada, continental Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators. A distinguished board of advisers, made up of scholars, editors, librarians, authors, and artists, has helped make this encyclopedia even more user-friendly.
The following are full text articles available in the following reference books from the Credo Reference database: