Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Occupational Safety & Health Administration's mission is to assure the safety and health of America's workers by setting and enforcing standards; providing training, outreach, and education; establishing partnerships, and encouraging continual improvement in workplace safety and health.
The Indiana Occupational Safety and Health Administration is responsible for compliance with Indiana's occupational safety and health regulations, and also conducts safety and health discrimination investigations.
Search multiple government databases for information on toxology, chemical hazards, and related topics.
Chemical Reactivity Worksheet
"The Chemical Reactivity Worksheet (CRW) is a free software program you can use to find out about the chemical reactivity of thousands of common hazardous chemicals. The chemical datasheets in the CRW database contain information about the intrinsic hazards of each chemical and about whether a chemical reacts with air, water, or other materials. It also includes case histories on specific chemical incidents, with references."
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
Presents key information and data for chemicals or substance groupings found in the workplace.
National Toxocology Program
More than 80,000 chemicals are registered for use in the U.S. and each year new ones are introduced. The NTP is an interagency program that conducts research to identify what effects these chemicals have on humans and at what levels they become hazardous.
Safety Data Sheets
Example of the information found on SDS from Princeton University..
Material Safety Data Sheets - KSU
Links to MSDS sites maintained by the Physics Department at Kansas State University.
Great site from Iowa State University Chemistry Department. Provides an alphabetical listing of chemicals with links to the SDS.
Everything you need to know.
Prudent practices in the laboratory: handling and management of chemical hazards
This book, available for free viewing online, provides guidance on chemical hygiene, safety, and regulatory compliance for lab facilities. National Research Council of the National Academies. Updated ed. National Academies Press, 2011.
The International Programme on Chemical Safety and the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety offers access to thousands of searchable full-text documents on chemical risks and the sound management of chemicals.
Provides information about pollutants and toxic chemicals in your community.