Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fine Arts and Visual Communications - Central Indiana: Online Databases

A guide to library resources and services for Fine Arts and Visual Communications

Where do I find databases?

Click here for an A-Z list of the library's databases.

What do I use online databases for?

Online databases can be used to find many resources related to art and design including images, articles, e-books, and reference materials.

Cite Your Sources!

  • NoodleTools is a site available to Ivy Tech users that lets you create bibliographies for papers, generate outlines and note cards for assignments, and more. 
  • Websites like Citation Machine and bibme allow you to create citation in APA and MLA formats.
  • Microsoft Word has a Reference feature that allows you to create citations, footnotes and bibliographies. Ivy Tech users have access to Office 365 ProPlus. Click here for more details. 

Credo General Reference

CREDO Reference

Offering 525 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.  Over 20 well-respected titles are included in the subject of Art.

Includes Bridgeman Images: The Bridgeman Art Library, a unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more.

ProQuest

Proquest Research Library

Provides authoritative information on many topics including health & medicine, business, social sciences, science & technology, history, and the arts.

Academic Search Premiere and Masterfile Premier

Academic Search Premier EBSCOhost

One of EBSCOhost's many resources, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Masterfile Premier provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Biography In Context

Biography In Context provides biographical information on 600000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.