Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here is a list of e-journals available in sociology.
Here are a few recommended journals.
Annual Review of Sociology
Newspaper, journal, and magazine articles are available in both print and electronic form. Print journals for the current year are shelved alphabetically by title in the Periodicals section of the Library.
Electronic articles can be accessed through online library databases. Access library databases using the Ivy Tech Library web page and use the Discover! search or search individual databases on the A-Z Resources list
Search the following EBSCO databases at the same time:MasterFILE Complete, Academic Search Complete, PsycARTICLES, Communication & Mass Media Complete
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
ProQuest: Research Library
A multi-purpose database with full-text articles.
This resource offers weekly reports on current social and political issues. The reports generally have a general overview, statistics, case studies, examples of opposing viewpoints on the issue, possible solutions, and a bibliography.
Google Scholar results are now linking to library databases! We don't recommend it as your first or only step in research but at times you can find some useful resources.
The first time you use Google Scholar at home -- set up your "Preferences" to find the Ivy Tech library.
Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences
Journal of the Social Sciences
RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars
Socjournal aims to bring sociology to the world by providing blog space, regular columns, commentary, pedagogical resources, and academic reports designed to popularize and disseminate the fascinating world of sociological research.