Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EbscoHost - Wabash Valley: Downloading Ebooks

Supported Devices

Supported Devices

    

ebrary and EBSCO eBook Collection both use Adobe Digital Editions to authorize downloads of ebooks. Any device which is supported by Adobe Digital Editions should work for offline reading. This includes the Nook, Nook Color, Sony Reader, and more. You can view the complete list and see if your device is listed.

Additionally, iOS (iPad, iPhone) and Android devices (smartphones and tablets) can download reader apps which will allow them to read ADE protected content. If your device is not on the list above and has an app store or marketplace available, you may still be able to download and view ebooks in this manner.

Amazon's Kindle and Kindle Fire are not supported by Adobe Digital Editions, and will not be able to view ebooks downloaded from our collection. They can be used to view PDF samples downloaded from ebrary, as these do not have any form of digital rights management.

Recommended Devices

While the Ivy Tech libraries cannot recommend a particular device, testing of these directions were done with a Nook and iPad2, which are the two devices with the widest amount of format support right now. Kindles are extremely popular, but cannot be used with most library lending systems, including Ivy Tech. Support is being rolled out to some public libraries, and if the Kindle becomes compatible with Ivy Tech's online library, these directions will be updated.

Setup

Create ebrary and/or EBSCO accounts.

Before downloading ebooks from ebrary or EBSCO eBook Collection, you need to create an account with each of them. This account is totally free, and gives you access to other customization features, such as personal bookshelves, highlighting, and more.

From the main pages of ebrary and EBSCO eBook Collection, there is a sign in link. Click on this link, and then choose to create an account on the next page. (These links lead to the portal for the Southwest region library. If you are from a different campus, please use the links from your region's homepage, usually located under Search and Find -> Books)

At this time, Books 24x7 does not support downloading ebooks for offline reading. If your device has a web browser, you may still be able to read the books through the web interface.

Download and install Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions is required to view the protected ebooks that you will download. This is a free download, and is available for Windows and Mac OS X. You will also need to create an Adobe ID. This ID is seperate from your ebrary/EBSCO accounts, and will be used to authorize any downloaded ebook materials on your computer or eReader.

During the setup of ADE, you will be prompted to authorize your computer. You may have up to six computers, and six devices authorized in Adobe Digital Editions at any time, so try to make sure you download your ebooks from one of your primary computers.

If for some reason you wish to deauthorize a computer on which you've installed Adobe Digital Editions, press ctrl+shift+D from within ADE. This will deauthorize that computer, but will not affect your activation limit. If you hit your activation limit, you will need to contact Adobe support to have it raised.

Install Reading App on your eReader

If your device is a Nook, Sony Reader, or other dedicated eReader device supported by Adobe Digital Editions, you will not need to install any additional software. For iOS devices (iPad, iPhone) and some Android tablets and smartphones, you will need to install a reading app. We recommend Bluefire Reader. (Other apps may work, but these instructions assume you are using Bluefire.)

If you are using Bluefire Reader (or another app) you will need to authorize it before you will be able to view any protected ebooks. You can do this from the Info screen, and you will use the Adobe ID you created while setting up Adobe Digital Editions.

Download your eBooks

Searching for eBooks

You may choose to search ebrary and EBSCO eBooks Collection directly through their pages, or you may use IvyCat. When searching IvyCat, ebook results will be returned with phystical materials when you perform a search, unless you choose to exclude them from your results.

If you wish to search for only ebooks, you can limit your search by choosing "Electronic Books" from the location pull-down.

Within the search results, ebooks will be indicated as such to differentiate them from physical materials such as books, DVDs, and other media.

If you click on the item record, you will see a hyperlink which will allow you to view the title through the appropriate ebook provider. Remember that Books 24x7 currently does not allow downloading of ebooks for reading on ereaders, only online viewing.

If you are accessing the library from off campus, you may be asked to log in with your Campus Connect username and password at this point.

Downloading your eBooks

There will be a button to download the title for offline reading. If you did not already sign into your account, the system will prompt you to do so now.

ebrary download

EBSCO download

If you are accessing through ebrary, you will get the option to download either selected pages, a chapter, or the entire book. Pages and chapters are both in PDF format, while the entire book is available only as an Adobe Digital Edition formatted PDF.

Open the downloaded file in Adobe Digital Editions. The downloaded file is actually a link to trigger ADE to then download the entire file.

Adobe Digital Editions will download the ebook, and it should appear in your collection shortly thereafter.

Downloaded eBooks may now be read from your PC. They will have a loan period of between 14 and 7 days, after which they will automatically become unavailable.

Transferring eBooks to your eReader

Jump to: E-readers (Nook, etc.) | iOS (iPad, iPhone) | Android (Other Tablets, Smartphones)

Standard E-readers (Nook, etc.)

Devices supported natively by Adobe Digital Editions are the simplest to transfer your books to. Make sure that you are in library view by clicking the library button in the top left of the screen.

Attach your e-reader to your computer, and it will appear in Adobe Digital Editions below your libraries.

Drag your ebook(s) to your device, and then eject it. The books should then be visible and readable on your device.

iOS Devices (iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch)

When using an iOS device, you will need to use iTunes to transfer your ebooks. Once this has been completed, you will use Bluefire Reader (or similar app) to then read the ebooks.

Connect your iPad, iPhone or iPod touch with Bluefire Reader to the computer that has iTunes and Adobe Digital Editions on it.

You should see the device appear under Devices on the left side of iTunes. Click on it

With your device selected in the left panel, click on the Apps tab at the top of the main iTunes window.

Underneath the Synch Apps panel you should see the File Sharing panel.

Click on Bluefire or Bluefire Reader under Apps in the File Sharing Panel. You should then see the eBooks you have in Bluefire Reader appear in the Documents list to the right.

At the bottom of the Documents list click the Add...button and browse to your library book in the Digital Editions default documents directory and then choose the file.

iTunes should then transfer the file to your device and Bluefire Reader will then automatically add this item to your Bluefire Reader Library.

You can now open and view your ebook in Bluefire Reader

Android Devices using Bluefire Reader (Other tablets, smartphones)

You will need to transfer the downloaded ebook to your device. The recommended way is to connect your device to your computer via a USB cable, and copy the ebook to your device's sdcard or internal storage.

Your device should give you a prompt similar to this one. Choose to set your device into disk mode. This will allow you to copy files to/from it via your computer.

On your computer, your downloaded ebooks will be stored in the "My Digital Editions" or "Digital Editions" folder in your "My Documents" or "Documents" folder in Windows or Mac OS X. (Remember that you will need to have downloaded the actual file via Adobe Digital Editions, and not just the .acsm link from ebrary or EBSCO.)

Copy the ebooks you wish to transfer to the /Bluefire/imports folder on your device. After ejecting your device, you will then need to use the "Import" tool within Bluefire Reader, and your ebooks should now be available to access.

Other Methods

If you do not wish to use iTunes on an iOS device, or do not have the ability to copy files directly to your Android device, you may be able to load the books using Dropbox. This would require installing Dropbox on both your computer and your device, and then copying the files to your shared Dropbox folder. This is beyond the scope of these directions.