Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EbscoHost - Wabash Valley: Literary Reference

Free Web Reference

Credo Reference Titles

Credo Reference titles on Language:

 Credo Reference titles on Literature:

 

Literary Reference Books in Print

Reference books typically provide basic information such as additional sources of information, biographical sketches and details, definitions or statistical information. Reference books do not circulate; they must be used in the library. The following (listed in shelf-browsing order) are available in the region's libraries as indicated ("A" for Anderson; "Ma" for Marion; "Mu" for Muncie) and are a good source of literary cricitism:

Great Books of the Western World Britannica series (A-Mu: shelved at beginning of Reference Collection)
MasterPlots (Magill, 12 vol.) 1,801 plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature (Mu: Ref PN44 .M33 1996)
Masterpieces of World Literature (Magill) (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PN44 .M3448 1989)
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PN172 .E52 2001)
European Writers (3 vol.) 68 unabridged essays (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PN501 .E9 1992)
World Literature Criticism (Gale, 8 vol.) Provides critical responses to a selection of major authors and works from 1500 to the present (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PN523 .W67 1992)
World Poets (Scribner, 3 vol.) Articles on 107 poets from around the world, includes lists of works (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PN1021 .W67 2000)
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations (16th ed.) (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PN6081 .B27 1992)
The Oxford Dictionary of Twentieth Century Quotations (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PN6080 .O955 1999)
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare Encyclopedia volume with variety of information featuring extensive entries for each play (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PR2892 .O94 2001)
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature (Mu: Ref PS153 .N5 O96 1997)
British Writers (3 vol.) Provides biographical information and list of works for selected authors (includes critical commentary on major works) (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PR19 .B58 1997)
World Literature and Its Times: Profiles of Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them (4 vol.) Provides contextual information for both fiction and non-fiction works. (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PR25 .M671 2001)
American Writers (3 vol.) Provides biographical information and list of works for selected authors (includes critical commentary on major works) (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PS129 .A58 1998)
CDALB (Concise Dictionary of American Literary Biography) (Gale, 6 vol.) The six volumes cover these time periods: 1640-1865, 1865-1917, 1917-1929, 1929-1941, 1941-1968, and 1968-1988 (Mu: Ref PS225 .N42 1987)
Encyclopedia of American Poetry (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PS323.5 .E53 2001)
Facts on File Companion to the American Short Story (A-Ma-Mu: Ref PS374 .S5F33 2000)

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

See Credo Reference for dictionaries and reference books available online. (For examples, see left column.)

From Gale Virtual Reference:

Other Reference Helps: