Paralegal Studies -Indianapolis

"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service."- from website.

"The Center provides legal assistance to indigenous peoples of the Americas to combat racism and oppression, to protect their lands and environment, to protect their cultures and ways of life, to achieve sustainable economic development and genuine self-government, and to realize their other human rights."- from website

"The mission of the Law Library of Congress is to provide authoritative legal research, reference and instruction services, and access to an unrivaled collection of U.S., foreign, comparative, and international law. "-from website

The Legal Information Institute (LII) is an independently funded project of the Cornell Law School. This institute includes federal and state regulations as well as other law materials freely online, including a legal encyclopedia and lawyer directory.

The National Archives has a Library Information Center with several links that share information about Federal law, court opinions, treaties, and other law materials.

"The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs. "- from website.

Librarians from the Indianapolis Marion County Public Library, Indiana State Library, Indiana Supreme Court Library, and Ruth Lilly Law Library came together to create the Legal Information Gateway for use by the general public.
This website provides a starting place for legal research and shortcuts to sources of legal information.

The Legal Information Institute is managed by Cornell University. This link goes to their page about Indiana Administrative Code.

"As one of three co-equal branches of state government, the General Assembly is responsible for enacting the laws by which the state of Indiana is governed. The intent behind this website is to afford you the opportunity to better understand the operation of the General Assembly and its impact on your life and well being." -from website

"The Office of the Clerk of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and Tax Court serves as the gateway to Indiana’s appellate courts and Tax Court.
Its primary responsibilities are: (1) processing documents filed in appeals from rulings in Indiana’s trial courts and administrative agencies; (2) collecting all associated filing fees, which are deposited in the State’s General Fund; and (3) issuing orders and opinions of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and Tax Court.
It is also the statutory duty of the Clerk to maintain and preserve on microfilm the decisions and records of cases before the Indiana Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and Tax Court. The Clerk is also responsible for administering oaths and often is called upon to do so by various state agencies.
In conjunction with the State Board of Law Examiners, the Clerk processes and administers the oath of attorneys twice per year to newly admitted attorneys. The Clerk conducts annual elections for the attorney-members of the Judicial Nominating Commission and administers a selection process for chairpersons of medical review panels."-from website.

"The Office of the Indiana Attorney General represents the state in cases involving the state's interest, provides legal defense to state officials or agencies in court, and gives formal legal advisory opinions on constitutional or legal questions to state officials.
The Office of the Attorney General is organized into eight divisions. These include: Advisory Division, Appeals Division, Complex Litigation, Consumer Protection Division, Litigation, Medicaid Fraud Control Division, Solicitor General, and Unclaimed Property Unit."- from website.

The Lloyd Sealy Library is associated with the John Jay College of Criminal Justice at the City University of New York. This link to a tutorial on "How to brief a case" provides definitions and information about the structure involved in Appellate and Student briefs.

This links to a PDF.
The Oregon State Government Department of Education has resources about understanding legal documents. This PDF offers a brief overview of how to read a U.S. Supreme Court opinion.
The original document is from the Fall 2012 issue of the journal, "Insights on Law & Society", volume 13.1, published by the American Bar Association.

This is an excerpt reproduced from "Introduction to the Study of Law: Cases and Materials" 3rd edition by Michael Makdisi and John Makdisi, published in 2009.
The information in this overview includes tips on highlighting and annotating cases as well as crafting a case brief.