Books in the library are shelved by Library of Congress call number in the general collection and reference.
Ebooks are also available through our databases or by searching IvyCat.
Browse the K section to find books about law. Books about criminal justice can be found in the HV section.
The following list is a sample of what you can find in the law section.
To see more information about the books below, hover your cursor over the 
icon.
| Legal research | K | 85-89 | Criminal Law and Procedure | K | 5000-5582 |
| Legal composition and draftsmanship | K | 94 | Religious law in general. Comparative religious law. | KB | 1-4855 |
| Commercial law | K | 1001-1395 | Law of the United States (Federal) | KF | 1-9827 |
| Courts. Procedure | K | 2100-2385 | The legal profession [includes paralegal] | KF |
297-334.2 Paralegal: 320.L4 |
| Constitutional Law | K | 3154-3370 | Laws of the states | KFA-KFW | 3rd letter corresponds with first letter in state name |
| Civil Service. Government officials and employees | K | 3440-3460 | Indiana state law | KFI | 3001-3599 |
Runaway Technology by
In an era of corporate surveillance, artificial intelligence, deep fakes, genetic modification, automation, and more, law often seems to take a back seat to rampant technological change. To listen to Silicon Valley barons, there's nothing any of us can do about it. In this riveting work, Joshua A. T. Fairfield calls their bluff. He provides a fresh look at law, at what it actually is, how it works, and how we can create the kind of laws that help humans thrive in the face of technological change. He shows that law can keep up with technology because law is a kind of technology - a social technology built by humans out of cooperative fictions like firms, nations, and money. However, to secure the benefits of changing technology for all of us, we need a new kind of law, one that reflects our evolving understanding of how humans use language to cooperate.
Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure; 2020 Edition by
A concise and comprehensive edition of the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure for quick reference, updated through January 1, 2020. Also includes a statutory supplement of relevant sections of Title 28 of the United States Code. Perfect for your briefcase or desk and a great format for the attorney or law school student who simply needs to refer to the rules. Contents: Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure Rule 1001 - Scope of Rules and Forms; Short Title Part I - Commencement of Case; Proceedings Relating to Petition and Order for Relief Part II - Officers and Administration; Notices; Meetings; Examinations; Elections; Attorneys and Accountants Part III - Claims and Distribution to Creditors and Equity Interest Holders; Plans Part IV - The Debtor: Duties and Benefits Part V - Courts and Clerks Part VI - Collection and Liquidation of the Estate Part VII - Adversary Proceedings Part VIII - Appeals to District Court or Bankruptcy Appellate Panel Part IX - General Provisions U.S. Code Title 28 Provisions Relating to Bankruptcy (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) Chapter 6 - Bankruptcy Judges Chapter 39 - United States Trustees Chapter 57 - General Provisions Applicable to Court Officers and Employees (Excerpt) Chapter 85 - District Courts; Jurisdiction (Excerpt) Chapter 87 - District Courts; Venue (Excerpt) Chapter 89 - District Courts; Removal of Cases from State Courts (Excerpt) Chapter 111 - General Provisions (Excerpt) Chapter 123 - Fees and Costs (Excerpt) Chapter 131 - Rules of Courts (Excerpt) You may also be interested in our companion publication: United States Bankruptcy Code; 2020 Edition.
Basic Legal Research by
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies, Seventh Edition by Amy E. Sloan is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, the textbook breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation. Key Features: New narrated videos that walk students through research examples from the book Updated coverage of Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law - Completely revised material throughout, providing thorough instruction in the latest features and functions of the main research platforms Flexible organization that accommodates any approach to instruction in print and online research, including instruction focused exclusively on online sources Self-contained chapters on research sources that make the book adaptable to any type of legal research course Increased coverage of free and low-cost sources of information
Unwarranted by
In June 2013, documents leaked by Edward Snowden sparked widespread debate about secret government surveillance of Americans. Just over a year later, the shooting of Michael Brown, a black teenager in Ferguson, Missouri, set off protests and triggered concern about militarization and discriminatory policing. In Unwarranted, Barry Friedman argues that these two seemingly disparate events are connected-and that the problem is not so much the policing agencies as it is the rest of us. We allow these agencies to operate in secret and to decide how to police us, rather than calling the shots ourselves. The courts have let us down entirely. Unwarranted is filled with stories of ordinary people whose lives were sundered by policing gone awry. Driven by technology, policing has changed dramatically from cops seeking out bad guys, to mass surveillance of all of society-backed by an increasingly militarized capability. Friedman captures this new eerie environment in which CCTV, location tracking, and predictive policing has made us all suspects, while proliferating SWAT teams and increased use of force puts everyone at risk. Police play an indispensable role in our society. But left under-regulated by us and unchecked by the courts, our lives, liberties, and property are at peril. Unwarranted is a vital, timely intervention in debates about policing, a call to take responsibility for governing those who govern us.
Notorious RBG by
Irin Carmon: I heard you can do 20 pushups. Ruth Bader Ginsburg: Yes, but we do ten at a time. And then I breathe for a bit and do the second set. Nearly a half-century into being a feminist and legal pioneer, something funny happened to Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg: the octogenarian won the internet. Across America, people who weren't even born when Ginsburg made her name are tattooing themselves with her face, setting her famously searing dissents to music, and making viral videos in tribute. In a class of its own, and much to Ginsburg's own amusement, is the Notorious RBG Tumblr, which juxtaposes the diminutive but fierce Jewish grandmother with the 350-pound rapper featuring original artwork submitted from around the world. Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg offers a visually rich, intimate, unprecedented look at the Justice and how she changed the world. From Ginsburg's refusal to let the slammed doors of sexism stop her to her innovative legal work, from her before-its-time feminist marriage to her perch on the nation's highest court--with the fierce dissents to match--get to know RBG as never before. As the country struggles with the unfinished business of gender equality and civil rights, Ginsburg stands as a testament to how far we can come with a little chutzpah.
Criminal Procedure by
Packed with examples from real-world situations faced by today's law enforcement professionals, CRIMINAL PROCEDURE: LAW AND PRACTICE, 10th Edition gives you a practical and authoritative look at the most current guidelines in criminal procedure. Comprehensive and accurate without bogging you down in unnecessary details, the text includes cutting-edge coverage of the law as it relates to arrests, searches and seizures, vehicle stops, use of force, interrogations, and line-ups. It also discusses current topics such as racial profiling, DNA evidence, plea bargaining, seizures of text/email messages, and many others. Interesting case briefs, sample police forms, hypothetical cases, and coverage of the most recent Supreme Court rulings keep the text as relevant as ever. Its clear, reader-friendly presentation makes law enforcement concepts easy to understand and apply.
Here is a list of Ebook Databases available through your Ivy Tech library.
Please make sure you are logged in to MyIvy to access content.
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.
To access any of our ebooks, you will need to be signed in to MyIvy.
You have several options to search for ebooks through the library.
Click here to do an advanced search in IvyCat, Ivy Tech's online catalog. Under the Additional Limits section, choose Electronic Resources from the format type drop-down list.
For other ebook catalogs and databases, take a look at our A to Z list of resources. You can filter the type to Book and Ebook collections to see what's available.
Below are a few examples of the thousands of ebooks we have available:
Conversations about Law by
Conversations About Law is a five-part Ideas Roadshow Collection of carefully-edited Ideas Roadshow Conversations featuring leading researchers with a detailed preface highlighting the connections between the different books. All five books include a detailed essay setting up the different ideas and questions for discussion at the end of each chapter. The following experts have participated in this Collection: 1. Nita Farahany, Robert O. Everett Distinguished Professor of Law and Professor of Philosophy at Duke University;2. Emilie Hafner-Burton, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Professor of International Justice and Human Rights at UC San Diego;3. Elizabeth Loftus, a world-renowned expert on human memory and Distinguished Professor of Psychological Science; Criminology, Law, and Society; Cognitive Science and Law at UC Irvine;4. Julian Roberts, Professor of Criminology at the University of Oxford;5. Elyn Saks, Orrin B. Evans Distinguished Professor of Law, and Professor of Law, Psychology and Psychiatry and the Behavioral Sciences at USC.Howard Burton is the creator and host of Ideas Roadshow and was the Founding Executive Director of Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics. He holds a PhD in theoretical physics and an MA in philosophy.
Legal writing: law by
Best practices for legal writing in the workplace and for students of law. BarCharts, Inc was founded on our law guides created by the owner, designed to understand the significance of details within the larger scheme of the law, as a daily refresher, and to review before the Bar Exam. Twenty five years later we keep those guides up to date for students of law and criminal justice, paralegals and practicing lawyers to have the most handy legal reference to the most important points of the law possible in 6 pages. 6-page guide includes: Essentials of a Legal Memorandum Creating the Heading Explaining the Facts Drafting the Question Presented Drafting the Brief Answer Section Drafting the Discussion Section Drafting the Conclusion Section More Complex Organization Plans Best Practices for Editing & Revising Types of Legal Logic Plain English Translation TableSuggested uses: Students – keep your legal writing in check with a quick review plus constant refreshers before classes and exams Professionals – keep your legal writing in check long after passing the Bar exam Bar Exam – great review tool before for taking the exam
Cybersecurity Law, Standards and Regulations, 2nd Edition by
ASIS Book of The Year Runner Up. Selected by ASIS International, the world's largest community of security practitioners. In today's litigious business world, cyber-related matters could land you in court. As a computer security professional, you are protecting your data, but are you protecting your company? While you know industry standards and regulations, you may not be a legal expert. Fortunately, in a few hours of reading, rather than months of classroom study, Tari Schreider's Cybersecurity Law, Standards and Regulations (2nd Edition), lets you integrate legal issues into your security program. Tari Schreider, a board-certified information security practitioner with a criminal justice administration background, has written a much-needed book that bridges the gap between cybersecurity programs and cybersecurity law. He says, "My nearly 40 years in the fields of cybersecurity, risk management, and disaster recovery have taught me some immutable truths. One of these truths is that failure to consider the law when developing a cybersecurity program results in a protective façade or false sense of security." In a friendly style, offering real-world business examples from his own experience supported by a wealth of court cases, Schreider covers the range of practical information you will need as you explore - and prepare to apply - cybersecurity law. His practical, easy-to-understand explanations help you to: Understand your legal duty to act reasonably and responsibly to protect assets and information. Identify which cybersecurity laws have the potential to impact your cybersecurity program. Upgrade cybersecurity policies to comply with state, federal, and regulatory statutes. Communicate effectively about cybersecurity law with corporate legal department and counsel. Understand the implications of emerging legislation for your cybersecurity program. Know how to avoid losing a cybersecurity court case on procedure - and develop strategies to handle a dispute out of court. Develop an international view of cybersecurity and data privacy - and international legal frameworks. Schreider takes you beyond security standards and regulatory controls to ensure that your current or future cybersecurity program complies with all laws and legal jurisdictions. Hundreds of citations and references allow you to dig deeper as you explore specific topics relevant to your organization or your studies. This book needs to be required reading before your next discussion with your corporate legal department. This new edition responds to the rapid changes in the cybersecurity industry, threat landscape and providers. It addresses the increasing risk of zero-day attacks, growth of state-sponsored adversaries and consolidation of cybersecurity products and services in addition to the substantial updates of standards, source links and cybersecurity products.
Understanding Government Contract Law by
This updated classic offers clear and concise explanations of the basic legal concepts of government contract law for professionals at any stage of their career. Written in straightforward language for contracting officers, contract administrators, contractors, subcontractors, and others in the procurement field, this new edition has been updated with new cases and regulations. The book breaks down the complex arena of government contract law into its three most basic parts: the contracting parties, the contract itself, and legal challenges. It begins by examining key aspects of the contracting officer's job and provides guidance for navigating its different and often conflicting demands. The government contractor's responsibilities and challenges are also outlined. Government contracts come in a lot more varieties than the typical commercial contract, and they also tend to be long and confusing. The second part of the book introduces the different types of legal agreements the government uses to buy the goods and services it needs--and addresses the challenges of writing a perfectly clear contract and guidelines for interpreting an ambiguous one. The book concludes with an overview of the government contract litigation process. This is an essential text for students preparing to do the work of government contracts, an indispensable guide for those new to the work, and a valuable reference for contracting personnel who seek solutions to specific issues they face in their day-to-day work.
