Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Affordable Care Act - Bloomington: Health Insurance Marketplace

Subsidy Calculator

Here is a link, provided by the Kaiser Family Foundation, for the subsidy calculator that can be used to determine eligibility and approximate cost:

http://kff.org/interactive/subsidy-calculator/

How can I prepare to enroll in the Marketplace?

To prepare to enroll, you can learn about types of health coverage, research your questions, and figure out what you need to know before open enrollment begins.

Open enrollment starts October 1, 2013. Coverage can start as soon as January 1, 2014.

How to get ready now

  • Sign up for email or text updates about the Marketplace.We'll let you know when there's important new information about the Marketplace, and we'll send timely reminders about important dates. You can also visit our Facebook page at facebook.com/healthcare.gov or follow @healthcare.gov on Twitter.

  • Learn about different types of health coverage. Through the Marketplace, you'll be able to choose a health plan that gives you the right balance of costs and coverage. You can be better prepared if you understand the types of coverage you'll choose from.

  • Make a list of questions you have before it's time to choose your health plan.
  • Make sure you understand how coverage works, including things like premiums, deductiblesout-of-pocket maximumscopayments, and coinsuranceYou'll want to consider these details while you're looking for health insurance.

  • Gather basic information about your household income.Most people using the Marketplace will qualify for lower costs on monthly premiums or out-of-pocket costs. To find out how much savings you're eligible for, you'll need income information, like the kind you get on your W-2, current pay stubs, or your tax return. Use this checklist to get started.

  • Set your budget. There will be different types of health plans to meet a variety of needs and budgets. You'll need to figure out how much you want to spend on premiums each month.
  • Ask your employer if it plans to offer health insurance in 2014. If not, you may need to get insurance through the Marketplace or from other sources in 2014. If you don’t have coverage, you may have to pay a fee.
  • Explore current options. You may be able to get help with getting coverage now through existing programs. Learn more about health insurance for adults up to age 26, and programs for people and children in families with limited incomes including Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)Medicare covers people who are 65 and older or who have certain disabilities.
  • Find out which Marketplace will serve you. If your state runs the Marketplace, you'll use its website to compare your options and enroll in coverage instead of this one. If your state doesn’t run the Marketplace, you’ll use this website, HealthCare.gov.

Questions? Call 1-800-318-2596, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. (TTY: 1-855-889-4325)

If you run a small business, learn how you can prepare for the SHOP Marketplace to provide coverage for your employees.

From:  http://www.healthcare.gov

Health Insurance Marketplace

What is the Health Insurance Marketplace?

The Marketplace is a new way to find quality health coverage. It can help if you don’t have coverage now or if you have it but want to look at other options.

With one Marketplace application, you can learn if you can get lower costs based on your income, compare your coverage options side-by-side, and enroll.

What you'll learn when you apply in the Health Insurance Marketplace

When you use the Health Insurance Marketplace, you'll fill out an application and see all the health plans available in your area. You'll provide some information about your household size and income to find out if you can get lower costs on your monthly premiums for private insurance plans. You'll learn if you qualify for lower out-of-pocket costs.

The Marketplace will also tell you if you qualify for free or low-cost coverage available through Medicaid or the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

Most Americans will be eligible to use the Marketplace. Learn more about Marketplace eligibility.

The Health Insurance Marketplace is sometimes known as the health insurance "exchange."

Apply online, by mail, or in-person

You can apply for Marketplace coverage three ways: online, by mail, or in-person with the help of a Navigator or other qualified helper. Telephone help and online chat are available 24/7 to help you complete your application. Downloadable and paper applications will be available October 1.

Open enrollment starts October 1, 2013. Plans and prices will be available then. Coverage starts as soon as January 1, 2014. Open enrollment ends March 31, 2014.

Learn about your options if you need coverage that begins before January 1, 2014.

What plans in the Marketplace cover

Insurance plans in the Marketplace are offered by private companies. They cover the same core set of benefits called essential health benefits. No plan can turn you away or charge you more because you have an illness or medical condition. They must cover treatments for these conditions. Plans can't charge women more than men for the same plan. Many preventive services are covered at no cost to you.

Learn who runs the Marketplace in your state

While all insurance plans are offered by private companies, the Marketplace is run by either your state or the federal government. Find out who runs the Marketplace in your state by using the menu at the bottom of this page. If your state runs its Marketplace, you'll use your state’s website, not this one.

How the Marketplace presents plan information

The Marketplace simplifies your search for health coverage by gathering the options available in your area in one place. You can compare plans based on price, benefits, and other features important to you before you make a choice. Plans will be presented in four categories – bronze, silver, gold, and platinum – to make comparing them easier.

In the Marketplace, information about prices and benefits will be written in simple language. You get a clear picture of what premiums you'd pay and what benefits and protections you'd get before you enroll. Compare plans based on what's important to you, and choose the combination of price and coverage that fits your needs and budget.

Learn more about the Marketplace, and visit the page where the application will start on October 1, 2013.

Questions? Call 1-800-318-2596, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. (TTY: 1-855-889-4325)

From:   http://www.healthcare.gov