Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to do Research - Central Indiana: Annotated Bibliography

Sample Annotations

University of Minnesota Crookston Library.
Writing an Annotated Bibliography

Cornell University Library (2008)
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography

Purdue University, The OWL at Purdue - OWL Materials
Annotated Bibliography Samples

University of California, Santa Cruz University Library.
How-to . . . Write an Annotated Bibliography

Indiana University
Preparing an Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of works (books, articles, films, etc.) on a particular topic. An annotated bibliography includes a paragraph following each citation that summarizes the work. An annotation can help the reader determine the value of each work on the topic and the contribution it might make to his own research. Two common types of annotated bibliographies are descriptive and critical.

What is included in an annotated bibliography?

A descriptive annotation may summarize:

  • The main purpose or idea of the work
  • The contents of the work
  • The author’s conclusions
  • The intended audience
  • The author’s research methods
  • Special features of the work such as illustrations, maps, tables, etc.

Example

NoodleTools