An archive of broadcasts from the University of Albany.
Films On Demand
Image Collections from Your Library and the Internet
Consult the individual Sites for the most up-to-date copyright information and usage restrictions for images in these collections.
40 Centuries of ArchitectureEgyptian, Greek, Islamic, Romanesque, Roman, Gothic, Byzantine, and Armenian architecture. THAIS, Milan.
A Digital Archive of Architecture (Europe)Images of buildings beginning with prehistoric, Greek, and Roman architecture, moving on through Romanesque and Gothic Churches to Medieval fortifications. There is a small collection of buildings from the 15th century though 20th centuries. Includes photos of Charles Rennie Mackintosh’s work and the Eiffel Tower from the 19th century; LeCorbusier's Villa Savoye and chapel at Ronchamp, Rietveld's Schroder-Schrader house, I.M. Pei's addition to the Louvre, and Piano's Pompidou Center are examples from the 20th century.
Artcyclopedia: The Fine Art Search EngineAn index to the online exhibits of thousands of artists, searchable by artist's name & browsable by movement, medium, subject of art, nationality of artist, or women artists. Entries include links to museum sites, image archives, & other online resources. The focus is primarily painting and sculpture, but a smattering of other media (architecture and decorative arts, for example) are represented. The site also has archived monthly articles on art, and a museum directory. (Can go to a list of architects if you Browse by "medium.")
ArtServeAustralian National University Professor Michael Greenhalgh's collection of images of "Art & Architecture mainly from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan and now India."
Asian Historical ArchitectureContains thousands of photographs of historical Asian architecture, browsable by country and city. Entries include images, brief descriptions, and bibliographies.
Buildings of IrelandA collection of images of buildings, bridges, canals, and other structures representing "the architectural heritage of Ireland, from 1700 to the present." Browsable by county, and searchable by name, town, date, type of building, and more. From Ireland's National Inventory of Architectural Heritage.
Cities Around the WorldCities Around the World presents over 6,100 photographic images from the slide collections of the American Geographical Society Library. The images selected for this project focus on architecture, city life, people, transportation and other aspects of urban development, such as neighborhoods, commercial streets, and business districts. From the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries.
Cities and Buildings DatabaseThe University of Washington's collection of nearly 10,000 ancient to contemporary images is for use by students, faculty, and the academic community.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material CultureImages of furniture and decorative arts objects and digital facsimiles of books published on architecture, landscape architecture, and the decorative arts. Includes books by Robert Adam, Asher Benjamin, and Owen Jones. Chipstone Foundation and UW-Madison.
EBSCO Image SearchYou can search for historical images from Ebsco. Be sure to check mark the Historical Photos box. Tip --use a keyword search string. Example: "Civil War" and America
Emporis"The world's largest free-to-use website about buildings. Professionals & people with an interest in structures can find buildings, developments, and photos in more than 60,000 cities worldwide. The focus of our work is the full life cycle of a building."
less...
The data comes from a variety of sources such as data researchers, building-related companies, the public audience, vendors, and last, but not least, an editorial community.
International Archive of Women in Architecture: ImagebaseJust one of the categories of Virginia Tech's Imagebase, this collection of images from the International Archive of Women in Architecture has about 2000 images, sorted by woman or category. The women in this imagebase are architects, designers, and landscape architects. A sample Google search showed these images do not come up in the Google results.
Life Photo ArchiveSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Picture Collection (The)The New York Public Library's collection of 30,000 images from pre-1923 books, magazines, newspapers, photographs, prints, and postcards.
Web Gallery of Art"The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods."
WorldImagesNearly 50,000 art and architecture images. Users may search or browse the collection in 440 portfolios. Portfolio subjects include American, European, Asian, Islamic, and Russian architecture, applied arts, and cityscapes and city life.
