Ivy Tech Libraries: Open Educational Resources: Open Resources

Ivy Tech OERs

Lumen Learning Catalog: Ivy Tech CC OERs

Ivy Tech Library Publications

Publication Finder Ivy Tech Libraries provide students and faculty access to more that 28,000 online magazines, journals, and newspapers. Browse by discipline or search for specific journal titles using our Publication Finder.

Open Courseware (OCW)

Affordable learning Georgia
Open Learning Initiative (Carnegie Mellon University) "The Open Learning Initiative offers online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Our aim is to combine open, high-quality courses, continuous feedback, and research to improve learning and transform higher education."
Google Analytics Academy
Mason OER Metafinder
MIT OpenCourseWare Course materials for over 2,000 courses available for free
Open Education Consortium "We are a global network of educational institutions, individuals and organizations that support an approach to education based on openness, including collaboration, innovation and collective development and use of open educational materials."
Open Course Library "The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less)."
Open Yale Courses "Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University. The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn."

E-Book Collections

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century (Free Access) 52 works published by the Digital Schomburg collection, NYPL
AudioBooksForFree
Bartleby.com Reference and classics, including all 70 volumes of the Harvard Classics
EBSCOhost ebook Collection Ivy Tech's collection of over 13,000 ebook titles for students, faculty and staff
eScholarship at University of California ebooks and articles
HathiTrust (Free Access) Over 5 million digitized titles
Internet Classics Archive "Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation"
Internet Public Library Not just ebooks. Pathfinders, research guides, library directories, exhibits, and more.
Librivox Free Audio Books Volunteers with a purpose: recording all books in the public domain one chapter at a time.
Making of America Free access to 10,000 books and 50,000 articles on American social history
Moonlit Road Folklore from the American South
Online Books Page Indexes over 30,000 ebooks available for personal use
Open Library Contains over 1,000,000 books
Project Gutenberg Thousands of free ebooks from the original ebook project
University of Virginia Hypertexts Books, maps, exhibits and more
Wikibooks An open-content textbook collection that anyone can edit.
Wright American Fiction: 1851-1875 A collection of more than 2,000 works of American fiction published between 1851 and 1875

E-Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals "A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."
Open Access Journals - International Association for Media and Communication Research "In recent years free, on line journals, many of them open access and peer-reviewed, have begun to both challenge and complement traditional academic publishing. This is a welcome development and IAMCR is developing a resource on its website with links to journals in the field of media and communications."
Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Journals "PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals. The journals vary in their selectivity and contain differing amounts of commentary articles from opinion leaders in a variety of scientific disciplines.The journals are editorially independent."
Willey Open Access "Wiley Open Access is an initiative from Wiley to drive quality peer reviewed publishing with speed and efficiency through open access publication. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. The fully open access journals are published in collaboration with authoritative journals and societies as well as supported by internationally renowned editorial board members."
The Atrium: A Journal of Academic Voices Ivy Tech's own online publication that "invites and encourages innovative, creative, and critical articles that spur academic discourse across the disciplines". It "encourages submissions of both discipline-related research, classroom best practices, and thoughtful reflections on the world around us".
Internet Archive Scholar "This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web."