Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jamestown became the first Permanent English Colony in America in 1607. Visit Virtual Jamestown to explore this exciting time in American colonial life.--"The Virtual Jamestown Archive is a digital research, teaching and learning project that explores the legacies of the Jamestown settlement and The Virginia experiment.'"
First Colony Foundation
The First Colony Foundation, a North Carolina 501(c)(3) non-profit organization formed in April 2003, is dedicated to conducting archaeological and historical research, combined with public education and interpretation, relating to the story of America’s beginnings with the attempts by Sir Walter Raleigh to establish English colonies at Roanoke Island in the 1580s under his charter from Queen Elizabeth I.
Roanoke Colonies Research Newsletter
Newsletters from the 1990s from East Carolina University now part of the North Carolina Digital Collections.
Plymouth Colony Archive Project
The Plymouth Colony Archive presents a collection of fully searchable texts, including: court records, colony laws, seventeenth century journals and memoirs, probate inventories, wills, town plans, maps, and fort plans; research and seminar analyses of numerous topics; biographical profiles of selected colonists; and architectural, archaeological and material culture studies.
Salem Witch Trials 1692, Massachusetts
"Witch Trial-Circa 1692, The trial of George Jacobs for witchcraft at the Essex Institute in Salem, Massachusetts. (Photo by MPI/Getty Images) -- Image Date: 02/01/1754 -- Image Date: 02/01/1754." (n.d.). Image Collection. EBSCO. Ivy Tech Community College, Lafayette, IN. 24 February 2015
Visit these websites for more information on the Salem Witch trials:
Salem Witchcraft Trials, 1692 --Resources for the Salem witchcraft trails
Salem Witch Trials --Documentary Archives and Transcription Project
Excerpts from the PBS American Experience programs on the Pilgrims.
Dates of Settlement
Thirteen Colonies and the dates of their first permanent settlement
New Hampshire 1623
New York 1624
Rhode Island 1636
North Carolina 1653
New Jersey 1660
South Carolina 1670
Discover a wealth of information, images and primary sources from the largest living history museum in the world.
Welcome to MayflowerHistory.com, the Internet's most complete and accurate website dealing with the Mayflower passengers and the history of the Pilgrims and early Plymouth Colony. This website was first created back in 1994 (when the web was still mostly text!) as a simple, but complete, passenger list of the Mayflower. It has grown over the past twenty-five years as the author, historian Caleb Johnson, has researched and compiled material.