Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LTA Children's Services - Central Indiana: Awards & Honors

This guide is intended for library services to children.

YA Awards

  • YALSA's Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature 
    The Michael L. Printz Award honors the best book written for young adults each year. Find more information on Printz, including past winners, biographical information on Michael L. Printz, policies and procedures, and how to nominate a title.
  • YALSA's Margaret A. Edwards Award 
    The Margaret A. Edwards Award, sponsored by School Library Journal, honors an author and specific works by that author for lifetime contribution to young adult literature. Find more information on the Edwards Award, including previous winners, biographical information on Margaret A. Edwards, policies and procedures, and how to nominate an author and title.
  • YALSA's Alex Awards 
    The Alex Awards are given to 10 adult books with special appeal to young adults. Find more information on the award, including past winners, policies and procedures and how to nominate a title.

Awards and Honors

  • Caldecott Medal  
    The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the artist of the most distinguished picture book for children.
  • Coretta Scott King Book Awards 
    Given to African American authors and illustrator, the Coretta Scott King Book Award recipients promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples.
  •    Newbery Medal 
    Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, this award is given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  •    Belpré Medal; 
      The Pura Belpré Award is presented every two years to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays the Latino experience in an outstanding work of literature for young people. This list highlights winners from 1996 to the present.

Award Books

Local Awards