Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start a Revolution by "But this is how we've always done it " Objections to taking a fresh tack are about as common as budget shortfalls, and the two are more closely related than you might think. At the Craighead County Jonesboro Public Library in Arkansas, Bizzle and his colleagues defied common practices by using creative risk-taking in marketing and outreach to transform their library into a dynamic institution that continues to grow and thrive. Here they recount their story, sharing techniques for success alongside a provocative marketing philosophy that will spur libraries to move beyond their comfort zone.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Picture Books for Children by Providing descriptive annotations of the best children's picture books published in the last decade, this comprehensive overview is perfect for librarians, teachers, parents, daycare providers, and anyone who works with young children. It is both an excellent tool for collection development and an abundant resource for planning storytimes and other children's programming. With selections based on proven appeal and quality, Northrup's survey features An introductory essay on the nature of the picture book, and an explanation of the evaluation criteria Bibliographic information on each picture book, including author, illustrator, publisher, date, and age recommendation A thorough index for quick reference and an appendix of additional suggested resources Packed with ardent and insightful recommendations, this book makes it a snap to select and use just the right picture books.
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Storytimes for Children by This text presents a compilation of the best of ideas from a group of library science graduate students, providing creative and engaging programs geared especially for children ages 0-12. * Contains 86 storytime programs from a variety of contributors, covering children from toddler-age to pre-teen * Storytimes combine reading, poetry, song, and activities * Chapters are delineated by age group, with separate storytime themes arranged in alphabetical order
Publication Date: 2010-11-10
What's Black and White and Reid All Over? by Best-selling childrens author Reid knows a thing or two about getting kids attention and holding it. His advice? Cut out the blah-blah-blah and make em laugh In his new book, aimed squarely at the preschool/elementary school crowd, he highlights dozens of programming and title suggestions that are surefire ways to banish young ones yawns permanently, including Humorous lesson plans, organized by age group, with storytelling tips for maximum yuks Several book lists of the funniest titles published since 2000, encompassing picture books, books for beginning readers, graphic novels and Manga, juvenile fiction, poetry, and other literature More than a dozen original fingerplays, songs, activities and stories, along with a new "Rappin Rob Rap" With the hilarious ideas and ready-to-use programs in this book, your storytimes will be the laugh factory of the library
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Reid's Read-Alouds 2 by Need a one-stop resource for jumpstarting sleepy library visitors? Ready to add punch to classroom discussions? In this companion to his best-selling book Reid's Read-Alouds, children's lit guru Reid dips back into the classics to highlight outstanding titles published between 1950 and 1999 that continue to connect with kids today. From humor and drama to science fiction and history, Reid makes it easy to find just the right place to begin, with unique 10-minute read-aloud suggestions drawn from 200 carefully selected titles. Along with his kid-tested great reads, he includes - Brief plot summaries and appropriate grade levels for each title - Program planning suggestions - Indexes by subject, author, title, and grade-level An excellent time-saver for the busy librarian or teacher, Reid's guide will enliven audiences and make reading fun.
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
True Stories of Censorship Battles in America's Libraries by Intellectual freedom is a core value of librarianship, but fighting to keep controversial materials on the shelves can sometimes feel like a lonely battle. And not all censorship controversies involve the public objecting to a book in the collection-libraries are venues for displays and meetings, and sometimes library staff themselves are tempted to preemptively censor a work. Those facing censorship challenges can find support and inspiration in this book, which compiles dozens of stories from library front lines. Edifying and enlightening, this collection Tells the stories of several librarians who withstood difficult circumstances to champion intellectual freedom Touches on prickly issues such as age-appropriateness, some librarians temptation to preemptively censor, sensitive cultural expressions, and criminality in the library Presents case studies of defenses that were unsuccessful, so librarians facing similar challenges can learn from these defeats There are fewer situations more stressful in a librarians professional life than being personally confronted with a demand to remove a book from the shelves or not knowing how to respond to other kinds of censorship challenges. Reading this book will help fortify and inform those in the fray.
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Young Adult Services
Outstanding Books for the College Bound by Connecting teens to books they ll truly enjoy is the aim of every young adult librarian, and the completely revamped guide Outstanding Books for the College Bound will give teen services staff the leg up they need to make it happen. Listing over 400 books deemed outstanding for the college bound by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), this indispensable resource;
- Examines how the previous lists in the series were developed, and explains the book s new layout
- Features engaging, helpful book descriptions useful for readers advisory
- Offers programming tips and other ideas for ways the lists can be used at schools and public libraries
Includes indexes searchable by topic, year, title, and author
More than simply a vital collection development tool, this book can help librarians help young adults grow into the kind of independent readers and thinkers who will flourish at college.
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Being a Teen Library Services Advocate by Here are YALSA's answers to what advocacy is and isn't, what it takes to be an effective advocate for teens, how to practice advocacy skills and techniques, how to be a day-to-day advocate for teens, and how to set up a succesful long-term library teen services advocacy initiative. Front-line public and school librarians working in young adult services will find the volume useful as they will be able to use the information included every day to successfully advocate with administrators, colleagues, community members, and government officials. You get examples of advocacy campaigns from inside and outside of the library world that demonstrate basic principles of successful advocacy efforts, and you will learn to navigate the barriers of time and funding.
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Apps for Librarians by How can your library--and your patrons--benefit from mobile apps? This guidebook offers a solid foundation in "app-literacy," supplying librarians with the knowledge to review and recommend apps, offer workshops, and become the app expert for their communities. * Describes the most important, high-quality mobile apps in specific topic areas of interest to librarians * Provides examples of how these apps are useful for education, creativity, and productivity for all types of users, including those with special needs * Supplies a detailed checklist of what information to include when reviewing apps * Includes an extensive resource guide to books, blogs, websites, courses, and other sources for keeping up with mobile apps * Provides notes on app functionality, features, price, and developer as well as any pertinent limitations
Publication Date: 2014-09-24
Multicultural Programs for Tweens and Teens by Multicultural Programs for Tweens and Teens is a one-stop resource that encourages children and young adults to explore different cultures. Dozens of flexible programming ideas allow you to *Choose a program specific to your scheduling, budget, or age group requirements *Create an event that reflects a specific culture *Recommend further resources Following the practical programs laid out here, young adult librarians in public libraries, school libraries, and adult and young adult services staff can easily expore many diverse cultures.
Publication Date: 2010-01-01