Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Guide - Terre Haute: The Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Example of an Annotated Bibliography

Sample Annotated Bibliography in APA Style

(Based on Publication Manual, 5th ed. 2001 and APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 2007)

Karin Durán, Ph.D. karin.duran@csun.edu

The following annotated bibliography is one possible, general example. Students should be alert and adhere to specific requirements that might vary with each professor’s assignment or to the course subject discipline.

APA now requires the use of the DOI (Digital Object Identifier), if the DOI is known, in place of the “Retrieved on…” statement with the database name or web address

Acuña, R. (1996). Anything but Mexican : Chicanos in contemporary Los Angeles. New York : Verso.

Provides a focused perspective on the role of the Chicana in the workforce and education through the use of historical documents. Includes

relevant evidence about the contributions of Chicanas to the Chicana/o movement throughout Southwest history with examples from

education,politics, and the economy. Addresses pertinent social justice issues and responses by both the Chicana/o and the anglo

populations.

Acuña, R. (2000). Occupied America : A history of Chicanos. New York : Longman. Described the gender inequality within the Chicano

Movement and the impact of Chicana feminism on the overall progress of 1970s social actions. Comprehensive coverage of the Chicana/o

history with a careful examination and analysis of key events and players in the quest for ethnic and gender equality

Cabrera, . L., & Padilla, A.M. (2004, May). Entering and succeeding in the “Culture of College”: The story of two Mexican heritage students.

Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences 26(2), 152-169.

doi: 10.1177/0739986303262604 Discusses the academic resilience of two Stanford Latino students using in-depth interviews. Provides

insights into the common struggles faced by many first-time college students who rely on emotional support of families and academic

support from faculty and staff at institutions of higher education. Discusses and evaluates various services available to students at crucial

points in a college career and the strategies that assist in the efforts for academic success.

“Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSI) Grant Project.” (February 2, 2005). California State University, Northridge Oviatt Library. Retrieved on

February 7, 2008, from http://library.csun.edu/hsi/ Provided a current list of archival materials dealing with Latinas available for research

purposes at CSU Northridge Oviatt Library. These archival collections are made up of numerous primary sources that document the history

and development of many grassroots community organizations that influenced the progression of the plight of the Latina in Los Angeles.

Pardo, M S. (1998). Mexican American women activists : Identity and resistance in two Los Angeles communities. Philadelphia : Temple

University Press. Describes the development and evolution of two community-based organizations that empowered Latinas to deal with

social justice issues in Los Angeles. Details the actions of Latinas in two neighboring communities who develop constructive, cohesive

responses to perceived social threats.

8/21/2009 Sample Annot.Biblio APA