Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Guide - Terre Haute: Examples: Print & Electronic

Books: Basic Format

Basic Format:

Author’s Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Title. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Books: Citation Examples (click on heading to view)

Close all Citations | Open all Citations

E-Book

Adams, B. (2004). The theory of social revolutions. Retrieved from http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/world/readfile?fk_files=44092 (Original work published 1913)

Chapter from an E-Book

Clinton, S. J. (2004). What can be done to prevent childhood obesity? In Understanding childhood obesity (pp 81-98). Retrieved from http://www.questia.com

Online Reference Work

Swain, C. M. (2004). Sociology of affirmative action. In N. J. Smelser & P. B. Baltes (Eds.), International encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences. Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/referenceworks/9780080430768

One Author

McKenzie, F. R. (2008). Theory and practice with adolescents: An applied approach. Chicago, IL: Lyceum Books.

Unknown Author

New concise world atlas. (2007). New York,  NY: Oxford University Press.

Multiple Authors

Musick, M. A., & Wilson, J. (2007). Volunteers: A social profile. Bloomington: Indiana University Press.

Siessner, R., Solom, R. C., Frost, N. K., Parsons, L., & Davidson, J. (2008). Engagement with beauty: Appreciating natural, artistic, and moral beauty. The Journal Psychology, 142, 303-329.

Eight of More Authors

Mulvaney, S. A., Mudasiru, E., Schlundt, D. G., Baughman, C. L., Gleming, M., VanderWoude, A., . . . Rothman, R. (2008). Self-management in Type 2 diabetes: The adolescent perspective. The Diabetes Educator, 34, 118-127.

Two or More Books by the Same Author

Barry, P. (2007, December 8). Putting tumors on pause. Science News, 172, 365.

Barry, P. (2008, August 2). Finding the golden genes. Science News, 174, 16-21.

Two or More Works by the Same Author in the Same Year

Elkind, D. (2008a, Spring). Can we play? Greater Good, 4(4), 14-17.

Elkind, D. (2008b, June 27). The price of hurrying children [Web log post]. Retrieved from http://blogs/psychologytoday.com/blog/digital-children

Edited Work

Aronson, J., & Aronson, E. (Eds.0. (2008). Readings about the social animal (10th ed.). New York, NY: Worth.

Book with an Author and an Editor

McLuhan, M. (2003). Understanding me: Lectures and interviews (S. McLuhan & D. Staine, Eds.). Toronto, Ontario, Canada: McClellan & Stewart.

Chapter in an Edited Book

Denton, N. A. (2006). Segregation and discrimination in housing. In R. G. Bratt, M. E. Stone, & C. Hartman (Eds.), A right to housing: Foundation of a new social agenda (pp. 61-81). Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Press.

Multiple Editions

O’Brien, J. A. (Ed.). (2006). The production of reality: Essays and readings on social interaction (4th ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Pine Forge Press.

Reprint of an Earlier Edition

Mailer, N. (2008). Miami and the siege of Chicago: An informal history of the Republican and Democratic conventions of 1968. New York, NY: New York Review Books. (Original work published 1968)

Translation

Steinberg, M. D. (2003). Voices of revolution, 1917 (M. Schwartz, Trans.). New Haven, CT: Yale University Press. (Original work published 2001)

Multi-volume Work

Luo, J. (Ed.). (2005). China today: An encyclopedia of life in the People’s Republic (Vols. 1-2). Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

One Volume in a Multi-volume Set

Pflanze, O. (1990). The period of fortification, 1880-1898: Vol. 3. Bismark and the development of Germany. Princeton NJ: Princeton University Press.

Encyclopedia

Balkans: History. (1987). In Encyclopaedia Britannica (15th ed., Vol. 14, pp. 570-588). Chicago: Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Balkans. (2003). Encyclopaedia Britannica [online]. Retrieved December 28, 2003, from http://search.eb.com/eb/article?eu-119645

Graham, G. (2002). Behaviorism. In Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy [online]. Retrieved January 5, 2004, from http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/behaviorism/

Reference Book

Konijn, E. A. (2008). Affects and media exposure. In W. Donsbach (Ed.), The international encyclopedia of communication (Vol. 1, pp. 123-129). Malden, MA: Blackwell.

Dictionary

Leong, F. T. L. (Ed.). (2008). Encyclopedia of counseling (Vols. 1-4). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.

Government Document

U.S. Census Bureau. (2006). Statistical abstract of the United States. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.

U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Economic Analysis. (2008, August). U.S. international trade in goods and services (Report No. CB08-121, BEA08-37, FT-900). Retrieved from http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/Press-Release/2008pr/06/ftdpress.pdf

Organization as Author

American Psychiatric Association. (1994). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed.). Washington, DC: Author.

Introduction, Preface, Foreword, or Afterword

Gore, A. (2000). Foreword. In B. Katz (Ed.), Reflections on regionalism (pp. ix-x). Washington, DC: Brookings Institution Press.



APA list of references (2012). Research and Documentation Online. Retrieved August 16, 2012, from http://bcs.bedfordstmartins.com/resdoc5e/RES5e_ch09_s1-0002.html#RES5e_ch09_p0286

Journal Articles

Close all Citations | Open all Citations

One Author

Zhang, L. F. (2008). Teachers' styles of thinking: An exploratory study. The Journal of Psychology, 142, 37-55.

No Author

The global justice movement [Editorial]. (2005). Multinational Monitor, 26(7/8), 6.

Multiple Authors

Ungar, M., Brown, M., Liebenberg, L., Othman, R., Kwong, W. M., Armstrong, M., & Gilgun, J. (2007). Unique pathways to resilience across cultures. Adolescence, 42, 287-310.

Online Article

Whitmeyer, J. M. (2000). Power through appointment. Social Science Research, 29, 535-555. doi:10.1006/ssre.2000.0680

  • If there is no DOI, include the URL for the journal's home page.

Ashe, D. D., & McCutcheon, L. E. (2001). Shyness, loneliness, and attitude toward celebrities. Current Research in Social Psychology, 6, 124-133. Retrieved from http://www.uiowa.edu/~grpproc/crisp/crisp.html

Article Published Only Online

Samuel, T. (2009, March 27). Mind the wage gap [Supplemental material]. The American Prospect. Retrieved from http://www.prospect.org/

Article From a Database

Eskritt, M., & McLeod, K. (2008). Children's note taking as a mnemonic tool. Journal of Experimental Child Psychology, 101, 52-74. doi:10.1016/jecp.2008.05.007

  • If there is no DOI, include the URL for the journal's home page.

Howard, K. R. (2007). Childhood overweight: Parental perceptions and readiness for change. The Journal of School Nursing, 23, 73-79. Retrieved from http://jsn.sagepub.com/

Abstract

Lahm, K. (2008). Inmate-on-inmate assault: A multilevel examination of prison violence [Abstract]. Criminal Justice and Behavior, 35(1), 120-137.

Abstract from an Online Article

Brockerhoff, E. G., Jactel, H., Parrotta, J. A., Quine, C. P., & Sayer, J. (2008). Plantation forests and biodiversity: Oxymoron or opportunity? [Abstract]. Biodiversity and Conservation, 17, 925-951. doi:10.1007/s10531-008-9380-x

APA list of references (2012). Research and Documentation Online. Retrieved August 16, 2012, from http://bcs.bedfordstmartins.com/resdoc5e/RES5e_ch09_s1-0002.html#RES5e_ch09_p0286

Newspaper Articles

Close all Citations | Open all Citations

With Author

Svoboda, E. (2008, October 21). Deep in the rain forest, stalking the next pandemic. The New York Times, p. D5.

Online Article

Watson, P. (2008, October 19). Biofuel boom endangers orangutan habitat. Los Angeles Times. Retrieved from http://www.latimes.com/

APA list of references (2012). Research and Documentation Online. Retrieved August 16, 2012, from http://bcs.bedfordstmartins.com/resdoc5e/RES5e_ch09_s1-0002.html#RES5e_ch09_p0286

Magazine Articles

Close all Citations | Open all Citations

No Author

The United States and the Americas: One history in two halves. (2003, December 13). Economist, 36.

Strong aftershocks continue in California. (2003, December 26). New York Times [national ed.], p. A23.

With Author

McKibben, B. (2007, October). Carbon's new math. National Geographic, 212(4), 32-37.

Online Article

Rupley, S. (2010, February 26). The myth of the benign monopoly. Salon. Retrieved from http://www.salon.com/



APA list of references (2012). Research and Documentation Online. Retrieved August 16, 2012, from http://bcs.bedfordstmartins.com/resdoc5e/RES5e_ch09_s1-0002.html#RES5e_ch09_p0286

Additional Print Examples

Close all Citations | Open all Citations

Brochure, Pamphlet, or Fact Sheet

National Council of State Boards of Nursing. (n.d.). Professional boundaries [Brochure]. Retrieved from https://www.ncsbn.org/Professional_Boundaries_2007_Web.pdf

World Health Organization. (2007, October). Health of indigenous peoples (No. 326) [Fact sheet]. Retrieved from http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs326/en/index.html

Newsletter Article

Setting the stage for remembering. (2006, September). Mind, Mood, and Memory, 2(9), 4-5.

Letter to the Editor

Park, T. (2008, August). Defining the line [Letter to the editor]. Scientific American, 299(2), 10.

Conference Proceedings

Stahl, G. (Ed.). (2002). Proceedings of CSCL ’02: Computer support for collaborative learning. Hillsdale, NJ: Erlbaum.

Paper Published in Conference Proceedings

VanTassel-Baska, J., & Stambaugh, T. (Eds.) (2007). Overlooked gems: A national perspective on low-income promising learners. Proceedings of the National Leadership Conference on Low-Income Promising Learners. Williamsburg, VA: National Association for Gifted Children and the Center for Gifted Education, College of William & Mary. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED494579)

Review

Applebaum, A. (2008, February 14). A movie that matters [Review of the motion picture Katyn, 2007]. The New York Review of Books, 55(2), 13-15.

Agents of change. (2008, February 2). [Review of the book The power of unreasonable people: How social entrepreneurs create markets that change the world, by J. Elkington & P. Hartigan]. The Economist, 386(8565), 94.

Dissertation from a Database

Hymel, K. M. (2009). Essays in urban economics (Doctoral dissertation). Available from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. (AAT 3355930)

Unpublished Dissertation

Mitchell, R. D. (2007). The Wesleyan Quadrilateral: Relocating the conversation (Unpublished doctoral dissertation). Claremont School of Theology, Claremont, CA.

Map or Chart

Ukraine [Map]. (2008). Retrieved from the University of Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection website: http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/cia08/ukraine_sm_2008.gif

Advertisement

Xbox 360 [Advertisement]. (2007, February). Wired, 15(2), 71.



APA list of references (2012). Research and Documentation Online. Retrieved August 16, 2012, from http://bcs.bedfordstmartins.com/resdoc5e/RES5e_ch09_s1-0002.html#RES5e_ch09_p0286