Skip to main content

Sociology - Sellersburg: Online Resources for Sociology

Sociology Research

Full-text, academic research-based articles are available from these databases. To see how to set up a search in EBSCO, please see the guide to finding peer reviewed articles at the bottom of the section. You'll be able to use the same search strategy in other databases.

EBSCO

  • Academic Search Premier
    A multi-disciplinary scholarly database containing full-text articles from nearly 4000 peer-reviewed journals covering many disciplines such as computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethinic studies, and more
  • PsychARTICLES
    From the American Psychological Association (APA), the definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology

JSTOR
A multi-disciplinary scholarly database containing full-text articles from more than 1000 scholarly journals covering many disciplines such as sociology, psychology, literature, business, and more

ProQuest
Full-text peer-reviewed articles from a broad range of academic subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests

Directory of Open Access Journals -- Free, full-text, quality-controlled scholarly journals.

Use Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to find journal articles.  Some articles may be available in full-text.  See your Librarian for help in locating those that are not.
 

Google Scholar


Edit your Google Scholar Settings to also retrieve articles available through the Ivy Tech Bloomington databases.  Links in the the right-hand column of your search results will indicate articles available through the Ivy Tech Library,

 

Reference Sources

Social Sciences (CREDO Reference) 
Online reference books covering a broad range of topics including sociology, political science, gender studies, culture, anthropology, and more

Psychology (CREDO Reference)
Online dictionaries and encyclopedias covering many aspects of psychology including behavioral science, gender issues, mental health, and more

Gale's Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
An online encyclopedia covering the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations