Skip to main content

Philosophy 101 & 102 Reading List - East Central: Plato

Academic Databases

 

Listed below are a collection of academic databases that will enhance your reading of Plato.

Academic Search Premier-This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Biography Resource Center-Magazine, journal articles, and more on people past and present.

JSTOR- Digital library of books, articles, and primary sources.

MasterFILE Premier- Provides full text articles for nearly 1,700 magazines/journals dating back to 1975. It also contains 500 reference books, and 164,400 primary source documents.

Opposing Viewpoints-Essays and articles on different sides of an issue.

 

Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar

New to using Google Scholar?  Start here (guide).

Apology, Crito, The Republic

 

 

Create an ebrary account and download Plato's Apology, Crito and The Republic on your iPad, iPhone, iPod, Android phone or tablet, or your computer.

Apology (Translator: Unknown)

Apology (Translator: Benjamin Jowlett)

Crito (Translator: Unknown)

Crito (Translator: Benjamin Jowett)

‚ÄčThe Republic (Translator: Benjamin Jowett) 

The Republic (Translator: Tom Butler Bowdon)

The Republic (Translator: Raymond Larson)


ebrary has thousands of books that support scholarly inquiry on Plato's Apology, Crito and The Republic. Listed below are a handful of digital texts that can be downloaded. For a more comprehensive list, please visit ebrary.

Plato's Republic: A Study by Stanley Rosen

Plato's Republic: The Good Society and the Deformation of Desire by Martha Nussbaum

Critical Notes on Plato's Politeia by Gerard Boter

Development of Plato's Political Theory by George Klosko


IvyCat is East Central Libraries online catalog. You can search for books, eBooks, videos, and audio files. Begin your search here.

Find a Publication

 

Multimedia

Audio Archive Listen to a reading of the Republic, or view 237 other texts and movies that explore The Republic

Films on Demand Access 17 educational films that will help support your understanding of Plato and his works

YouTube Find a variety of information on Plato and The Republic including Yale open courses, audio readings, and critical examinations