Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News From Your Library: Fall 2017

New Personnel

Graphic Design Intern

The University Library of Columbus recruited a graphic design intern from the Visual Communication program to develop graphics promoting library services/resources for the first time ever during the spring 2017 semester! The partnership was a great success and will continue to move forward. Our spring graphic design intern, Alex Mbaye was accepted to IPFW for the 2017-2018 academic year and will continue his education there. Josh Walls interned with us this summer, producing a lot of graphics that will be unveiled during the fall semester. This fall we will welcome a brand new intern who will get a head start on projects for the spring 2018 semester. Please join us in welcoming new talent to gain visibility for our library across campus!

IUPUC Librarian

This summer a new librarian was hired to support Executive Director, Emily Dill. Please join us in welcoming Lidiya Grote to our shared library team.

Scheduling Library Instruction

The University Library of Columbus is making it easier than ever before for Ivy Tech faculty to request library instruction during the semester via a new scheduling system. In the next few weeks, you will be able to request instruction with a librarian for a specific day and time without waiting for that librarian to respond regarding availability. This new system allows you to view schedule availability by synchronizing the library staff's Outlook calendar for public view. This should streamline the e-mail exchange process and give you more control of scheduling.

The scheduling system will be available via this link

Study Room Reservations

The library is home to 7 study rooms. Study spaces are a hot commodity on campus and are heavily utilized by students and community patrons. To better accommodate the needs of library users, we will be utilizing an electronic room scheduler that allows them to book one of our rooms for up to 2 hours per day. This will not require patrons to physically visit the library anymore to confirm that a room is free at the time of need. Please promote this new service to your students and take advantage of it yourself by following this link!

Strategic Plan

This fall 2017 semester, the IUPUC and Ivy Tech library directors will be developing strategic plans in line with University Library goals and that of their respective institutions. It is the intent that these plans will help both entities organize achievable projects and goals for the future, streamlining energy to better meet the needs of the faculty, staff, students and community members that we serve. Please look for the University Library of Columbus's 5-year strategic plan in the spring 2018 newsletter.

Spring 2017 Survey Results

The University Library of Columbus would like to extend a big thank you to all of the faculty, staff and students who took our spring 2017 survey! Here are the results:

  • When asked which library services or materials they use most often, the most common responses were: computers, resources found on the library website, study space and printers.
  • When asked which library services were most important to them, the most common responses were the same as the above question.
  • When asked how they felt about different aspects of the library, the items they were most dissatisfied with were: noise level and study spaces.  The items they were most satisfied with were: staff courtesy and technology.
  • We received an overwhelming amount of comments regarding a need for more group study areas.  This is an issue the campus needs to address collectively as we grow. 

New Bestseller Collection

We are pleased to announce that as of May '17, our library now provides access to bestseller fiction/nonfiction. As you may recall, we distributed a survey during the spring, asking about your interest in a collection of this nature. Your responses served as an impetus for the purchase of these titles. For a complete list of titles by genre, please visit this link.

Enter to win one of our new t-shirts each time you check out a book from our new bestseller collection! All current faculty, staff and students are eligible to participate between August 21-September 21. Just stop by the library, pick up a book and enter!

New Academic Titles

Ivy Tech and IUPUC librarians purchase resources to support the academic needs of students at our collective institutions. If you're curious about new academic reads, Ivy Tech compiles a list of resources we purchase every month that you can access here. In addition to the general academic list, we're also compiling lists of new resources by academic area. If you would like to see a list of titles for your area, please reach out to Bethany Messersmith for assistance.

New Signage in Poling Hall

Over time, it has come to our attention that students and adjuncts who enter Poling Hall from the front entrance are often unaware of the University Library of Columbus or don't know how to get there. This summer, Dr. Combs, Randy Proffitt and I (Bethany Messersmith) met to discuss purchasing retractable library signage which will be placed in several strategic locations in Poling Hall to help prospective library users navigate to our building.

Upcoming Events

Pop & Learns

The University Library exists to support student learning and we want to support faculty in that process as well. Starting this fall, the library will host Pop & Learns, consisting of a 30-45 minute information session on library tools and resources customized to meet the needs of specific schools on campus. These sessions will include popcorn, drinks and a drawing for a gift card to a local restaurant or store.

  • School of Information TechnologySeptember 18th - 10:30 am; CLC 1621
    • ​Topics
      • Subject-Specific Databases 
      • Research Guides
  • School of Business, Logistics & Supply Chain - September 19th - 10:30 am; CLC 1614 
    • Topics
      • Subject-Specific Databases
      • Research Guides
  • School of Arts, Sciences & Education September 21 - 1 PM; CLC 1614
    • Topics
      • Subject-Specific Databases
      • Research Guides
  • School of Health Sciences & Nursing September 25th -10:30 am; CLC 1614
    • ​Topics
      • Subject-Specific Databases
      • Research Guides
  • School of Public Affairs & Social Services - September 26th - 10:30 am; CLC 1614
    • ​Topics
      • Subject Specific Databases
      • Research Guides
  • School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering & Applied Technologies - October 3rd - 10:30 am; CLC 1614
    • ​Topics
      • Subject-Specific Databases
      • Research Guides

TED Talk Tuesdays

Who: All faculty, staff and students are invited to attend!

What: Watch compelling video presentations by world renowned thinkers on a variety of topics. Then join us for a post-TED talk discussion. Snacks will be provided!

When: Every Tuesday - August 29-December 5; 11:30 am-12:15 pm

Where: CLC 1618 (Except August 29; we'll be in 1614)

Banned Books Panel & Discussion

Who: All faculty, staff and students are invited to attend!

What: To join us for a discussion of the 1st amendment and banned literature.

When: September 27; 12:00-1:00 pm

Where: University Library

Columbus Past, Present & Future

We are excited to partner with Phi Theta Kappa to host a series of events over the 2017-2018 academic school year, focusing on Columbus past, present and future. The dates for these events are listed below. They will all take place on a Thursday evening at 7 PM in the CLC lecture hall with dessert to follow in the University Library.

Please see list below for dates and a list of panelists. Additional panelists and dessert venues are still being finalized, so stay tuned for details.

  • October 19 - Columbus Past 
    • Panelists
      • Greg Lewis, Social Studies Department Chairman - Columbus East HS
      • Bartholomew County Historical Society
      • Harry McCawley, Former Editor - The Republic
      • Dr. Iorio, Pediatrician - North-Side Pediatric Associates
  • January 25 - Columbus Present
    • Panelists
      • Brittany King, Founder of Black Lives Matter, Columbus Chapter
      • Kathy Oren, Executive Director - Community Education Coalition
  • March 29 - Columbus Future
    • Panelists
      • Richard McCoy, Director - Landmark Columbus
      • Cindy Frey, President - Columbus Chamber
      • Cummins Alternative Energy

Finals Week - Fall 2017

Finals week activities continue to be a big success in the University Library of Columbus. Last semester students, faculty and staff ate their way through nearly 50 lbs. of popcorn in a little under 1.5 weeks! This semester we intend to bring back the popcorn, along with therapy dogs and massages. Stay tuned for further details!

Tutorials

In the age of how-to videos and YouTube clips, the library has decided to engage with the culture and develop tutorials that are student-centered in focus. These tutorials include information on citing sources, using the library's catalog, searching our databases, and so much more. If you have ideas for additional tutorials that are not listed on our website currently, please do not hesitate to reach out to Bethany Messersmith.

Tutorials will be available on the University Library's website by September 5, 2017. They will be available at this link.

Support the University Library of Columbus

Over the next several years, the University Library will be looking to expand program opportunities to students. Would you consider partnering with us in making these events possible by giving towards our library program account in the Foundation?  For more information, please contact Therese Copeland.

 

 

Games

Several vendors donated games to the University Library for ComicCon in April. Since then, some faculty and students have asked to borrow these games. As a result, the library has decided to make all of these games available for checkout to students, faculty and staff. If you are interested in taking a game home for the week or weekend, please stop by!

  • Ticket to Ride
  • Settlers of Catan
  • Dominion
  • Tiffin
  • Hounded
  • Railways & Robber Barons 1830
  • Kill Dr. Lucky
  • 1844;1854
  • Palazzo
  • Internal Affairs
  • Heat
  • Etc.





    undefined