Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most libraries assign Library of Congress Subject Headings to items in their catalogs. These can help you get good results when searching "By Subject." Some examples:
Automobiles - Maintenance and repair
Automobiles - Air conditioning
Automobiles - Bearings
Automotive gas turbines
Click here to search IvyCat for titles in the Ivy Tech system statewide
Print Titles In the Campus Library
These print titles available in the Campus Library are listed below with call numbers. To check these books out you must have you student ID or state issued ID card. If you do not have a student ID card, you can obtain one from the security desk on campus. If you want to browse the shelves for more books on automobiles and automotive technology check in the 629 section of the campus library's collection.
Advanced Automotive Fault Diagnosis by Learn all the skills you need to pass Level 3 and 4 Vehicle Diagnostic courses from IMI, City and Guilds and BTEC, as well as higher levels, ASE, AUR and other qualifications. Advanced Automotive Fault Diagnosisexplains the fundamentals of vehicle systems and components and examines diagnostic principles as well as the latest techniques employed in effective vehicle maintenance and repair. Diagnostics, or fault finding, is an essential part of an automotive technician's work, and as automotive systems become increasingly complex there is a greater need for good diagnostics skills. For students new to the subject, this book will help to develop these skills, but it will also assist experienced technicians to further improve their performance and keep up with recent industry developments. Checked and endorsed by the Institute of to him to ensure that it is ideal for both independent and tutor-based study Diagnostics case studies to help you put the principles covered into real-life context Useful margin features throughout, including definitions, key facts and 'safety first' considerations
Call Number: 629.28 Den
Publication Date: 2016-08-25
Auto Heating and Air Conditioning, A7 by Auto Heating and Air Conditioning is a comprehensive text that focuses on operation, diagnosis, and service topics. It covers refrigeration, heating, and engine cooling system components; climate control electronics; refrigerant handling; and manual and automatic temperature controlsystems.
Call Number: 629.2 JOH 2015
Publication Date: 2014-09-12
Automotive Electrical Systems by Automobile electrical systems have gradually evolved over the years and today it assimilates automatic computer control of the automotive mechanics. In earlier days, automobile electrical systems comprised of only basic wiring technologies that were used for distributing power to other parts of the vehicle. It had only switches, wires, relays and controlled motors as its key components. But in this era of technology, electrical systems include sensors, actuators, alternators, starter solenoids, starter drives and other such devices. This book aims at explaining all these electrical systems along with some other major systems such as ignition systems, cruise control systems, the Engine Control Unit and how it controls the fuel ignition, idle speed & variable valve timing.The circuit diagrams of different power controlled devices help us understand these systems better.
Call Number: 629.254 HAS 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Automotive Engine Performance by This book is part of the Pearson Automotive Professional Technician Series, which provides full-color, media-integrated solutions for today's students and instructors covering all eight areas of ASE certification, plus additional titles covering common courses. Peer reviewed for technical accuracy, the series and the books in it represent the future of automotive textbooks. Prepare tomorrow's automotive professionals for success. Automotive Engine Performance, 5/e covers both the fundamental and advanced engine performance topics, as well as the practical skills that students must master to be successful in the industry. Written by a service technician and an automotive instructor--not a technical writer--and fully up to date with the latest automotive engine performance systems used since 2005, the text is revered as the best available text on the subject. Formatted to appeal to today's technical trade students, Halderman's text uses helpful tips and full-color, step-by-step visuals to bring concepts to life and guide students through the procedures they'll use on the job. To keep your course current, all of the content is correlated to the latest NATEF task requirements for the NATEF MLR, AST, and MAST designated topics of Automotive Engine Performance Systems (A8); over 40 new photos or drawings are included to bring the content alive; and new or updated information is included on such topics as new OSHA hazardous chemical labeling requirements, Atkinson Cycle engine design, scope testing of MAF sensors, gasoline direct injection (GDI), Fiat Chrysler Multiair System information, and Tier 3 Emission Standards.
Call Number: 629.25 HAL 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Automotive Engines by This complete textbook provides detailed content on the theory of operation, diagnosis, repair, and rebuilding of automotive engines. In addition to essential technical expertise, the text helps users develop the skills and knowledge they need for professional success, including critical thinking and awareness of key industry trends and practices. The text emphasizes universal repair techniques and case histories based on real-world scenarios to prepare users for careers in the field. Instructor resources include lesson plans, customizable lab sheets that address NATEF Standards, a customizable test bank with questions based on chapter content, presentations in PowerPoint, and more. Now updated with new, full-color images and information on the latest trends, tools, and technology--including hybrid engines and high-performance components--AUTOMOTIVE ENGINES: DIAGNOSIS, REPAIR, REBUILDING, Seventh Edition, is the ideal resource for automotive programs who want a complete teaching package for their Engines course.
Call Number: 629.2504 GIL 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair by AUTOMOTIVE MAINTENANCE AND LIGHT REPAIR (AM&LR) was designed to meet the needs of automotive programs that teach to the competencies specified in NATEF's Maintenance & Light Repair (MLR) program standard. Designed for entry-level students, the primary features of AM&LR are the focus on the foundational principles and knowledge for the MLR tasks, and the activities to supplement student learning. Both the core textbook and accompanying workbook provide activities covering the entire MLR task list, as well as many supplemental tasks often expected of entry-level technicians. In addition, Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair is written to engage students not just in automotive competencies, but also in applied academic skills and lifelong learning skills, including math, science, and communication.
Call Number: 629.23 THO 2014
Publication Date: 2013-03-27
Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair by The first edition of Delmar's Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) Test Preparation Manual for the G1 Auto Maintenance and Light Repair certification exam contains an abundance of content designed to help you successfully pass your ASE exam. This manual will ensure that you not only understand the task list and therefore the content your actual certification exam will be based upon, but also provides descriptions of the various types of questions on a typical ASE exam, as well as presents valuable test taking strategies enabling you to be fully prepared and confident on test day.
Call Number: 629.23 ASE 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-13
Automotive Milestones by This is a general interest trade book that describes the development of automotive technology and engineering from the start of the industry before 1900 to the present day. It explains how various systems and elements in the automobile work in layman's terms, without resorting to mathematics, and highlights the keymilestones in the historical development of automotive technology. All photos and illustrations are in full color. The intended audience is older teens to adults of any age who are interested in the subject and may be involved in it as a hobby. Sometimes referred to as "gearheads" or "motorheads", they form a huge market. Over the years many of the author's engineering students were in this category, and he often would meet with on-campus car clubs to explain the way things automotive worked, being careful to damp down or eliminate any complicated mathematics, as he does in this book. An Internet search found only titles that are either "hard-engineering oriented" -- such as publications from the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) -- or mere compendiums of dates. Books in the latter category note the milestones but without hardly any explanation at all of how these developments actually work in a technical sense - which is the aim of this book.
Call Number: 629.222 NOR 2016
Publication Date: 2015-07-15
Automotive Service Management by Automotive Service Management: Principles into Practice, Second Edition, provides coverage across a wide range of topics that are critically important in the fast-paced, complex world of automotive service management. Exploring over 30 different topics, the text's conversational tone and real-life examples help reinforce key points and concepts. Designed for those in training to enter the automotive service industry, this text also provides sufficient depth and breadth of content to be a valuable resource to support continuing development for industry service professionals.
Call Number: 629.28 REZ 2013
Publication Date: 2012-04-26
Modern Automotive Technology by Modern Automotive Technology details the construction, operation, diagnosis, sevice, and repair of late-model automobiles and light trucks. This comprehensive textbook uses a building-block approach that starts with the fundamental principles of system operation and progresses gradually tocomplex diagnostic and service procedures. Short sentences, concise definitions, and thousands of colour illustrations help students learn quickly and easily. The new edition of Modern Automotive Technology provides coverage of the latest developments in the automotive field and is correlated tothe 2012 NATEF Task List. A new "Fundamentals of Electricity and Electronics" section provides students with the background needed to troubleshoot and repair complex electrical/electronic systems found in today's vehicles. Updated information on hybrid drive systems has been integrated throughoutthe textbook, and a new hybrid drive service chapter details the diagnosis and repair of these important systems.
Call Number: 629.2 DUF 2014
Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Practical Engine Airflow by The efficient flow of air through an engine is instrumental for producing maximum power. To maximize performance, engine builders seek to understand how air flows through components and ultimately through the entire engine. Engine builders use this knowledge and apply specific practices and principles to unlock horsepower within an engine; this applies to all engine types, including V-8s, V-6s, and imported 4-cylinder engines. Former Hot Rod magazine editor and founder of Westech Performance Group John Baechtel explains airflow dynamics through an engine in layman's terms so you can easily absorb it and apply it. The principles of airflow are explained; specifically, the physics of air and how it flows through major engine components, including the intake, heads, cylinders, and exhaust system. The most efficient and least restricted path through an engine is the key to high performance. To get to this higher level, the author explains atmospheric pressure, air density, and brake specific fuel consumption so you understand the properties of fuel for tuning. Baechtel covers the primary factors for optimizing the airflow path. This includes the fundamentals of air motion, air velocity, and boundary layers; obstructions; and pressure changes. Flowing air through the heads and the combustion chamber is key and is comprehensively explained. Also comprehensively explored is the exhaust system's airflow, in particular primary tube size and length, collector function, and scavenging. Chapters also include flowbench testing, evaluating flow numbers, and using airflow software. In the simplest terms, an engine is an air pump. Whether you're a professional engine builder or a serious amateur engine builder, you must understand engine airflow dynamics and must apply these principles if you want to optimize performance. If you want to achieve ultimate engine performance, you need this book.
Call Number: 629.25 BAE 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-15
Full-text electronic books are available on IvyCat. Click on the titles to access these books.
Autowork by An anthology of original essays on the history of work experience in automobile factories, from 1913 to the present.
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Biodiesel by Biodiesel: A Realistic Fuel Alternative for Diesel Engines describes the production and characterization of biodiesel. The book also presents current experimental research work in the field, including techniques to reduce biodiesel's high viscosity. Researchers in renewable energy, as well as fuel engineers, will discover a myriad of new ideas and promising possibilities.
Publication Date: 2008-03-20
Charging Ahead by A group of MIT students started an electric car company in 1989 that today produces the cleanest car in America. This book chronicles the evolution of Solectria into a small but significant player in the world market for clean cars.
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Electric Vehicle Technology Explained by Fully updated throughout, Electric Vehicle Technology, Second Edition, is a complete guide to the principles, design and applications of electric vehicle technology. Including all the latest advances, it presents clear and comprehensive coverage of the major aspects of electric vehicle development and offers an engineering-based evaluation of electric motor scooters, cars, buses and trains. This new edition includes: important new chapters on types of electric vehicles, including pickup and linear motors, overall efficiencies and energy consumption, and power generation, particularly for zero carbon emissions expanded chapters updating the latest types of EV, types of batteries, battery technology and other rechargeable devices, fuel cells, hydrogen supply, controllers, EV modeling, ancillary system design, and EV and the environment brand new practical examples and case studies illustrating how electric vehicles can be used to substantially reduce carbon emissions and cut down reliance on fossil fuels futuristic concept models, electric and high-speed trains and developments in magnetic levitation and linear motors an examination of EV efficiencies, energy consumption and sustainable power generation. MATLAB#65533; examples can be found on the companion website www.wiley.com/go/electricvehicle2e Explaining the underpinning science and technology, this book is essential for practicing electrical, automotive, power, control and instrumentation engineers working in EV research and development. It is also a valuable reference for academics and students in automotive, mechanical, power and electrical engineering.
Publication Date: 2012-06-27
Making and Selling Cars by From the creation of fast food, to the design of cities, to the character of our landscape, the automobile has shaped nearly every aspect of modern American life. In fact, the U.S. motor vehicle industry is the largest manufacturing industry in the world. James Rubenstein documents the story of the automotive industry... which despite its power, is an industry constantly struggling to redefine itself and assure its success. Making and Selling Cars: Innovation and Change in the U.S. Automotive Industry shows how this industry made adjustments and fostered innovations in both production and marketing in order to remain a viable force throughout the twentieth-century. Rubenstein builds his study of the American auto industry with care, taking the reader through this quintessentially modern history of production and consumption. Avoiding jargon while never over simplifying, Rubenstein gives a detailed and straightforward account of both the production and merchandising of cars. We learn how the industry began and about its methods for building cars and the modern American marketplace. Along the way there were many missteps and challenges-the Edsel, the fuel crisis, and the ascendancy of Japanese cars in the 1980s. The industry met these types of problems with new techniques and approaches. To demonstrate this, Rubenstein gives the reader examples of how the auto industry used to work, which he alternates with chapters showing how the industry has reinvented itself. Making and Selling Cars explains why the U.S. automotive industry has been and remains a vigorous shaper of the American economy.
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
Sustainable Automobile Transport by Transport, and in particular road transport, represents a significant global threat to long-term sustainable development, and is one of the fastest-growing consumers of final energy and sources of greenhouse gas emissions. In this book, long-term energy-economy-environment scenarios are used to identify the key technological developments required to address the challenges passenger car transport poses to climate change mitigation and energy security. It also considers possible targets for policy support and examines some of the elements that contribute to the significant levels of uncertainty - particularly social and political conditions. The book then builds on this long-term scenario analysis with a broad review of recent empirical examples of relevant policy implementation to identify near-term options for the passenger transportation sector, which may promote a shift towards a more sustainable transport system over the longer term.Sustainable Automobile Transport will be of particular interest to those in the policy process who are striving to address the automobile-derived challenges associated with climate change - a growing rather than declining problem. It will have a worldwide audience as every developed and rapidly growing society struggles to address the dynamic growth in greenhouse gas emissions from automobiles.
Publication Date: 2007-11-27
Transitions to Alternative Transportation Technologies - Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicles by The nation has compelling reasons to reduce its consumption of oil and emissions of carbon dioxide. Plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) promise to contribute to both goals by allowing some miles to be driven on electricity drawn from the grid, with an internal combustion engine that kicks in when the batteries are discharged. However, while battery technology has made great strides in recent years, batteries are still very expensive. Transitions to Alternative Transportation Technologies--Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles builds on a 2008 National Research Council report on hydrogen fuel cell vehicles. The present volume reviews the current and projected technology status of PHEVs; considers the factors that will affect how rapidly PHEVs could enter the marketplace, including the interface with the electric transmission and distribution system; determines a maximum practical penetration rate for PHEVs consistent with the time frame and factors considered in the 2008 Hydrogen report; and incorporates PHEVs into the models used in the hydrogen study to estimate the costs and impacts on petroleum consumption and carbon dioxide emissions.
Publication Date: 2010-05-29
Transitions to Alternative Vehicles and Fuels by For a century, almost all light-duty vehicles (LDVs) have been powered by internal combustion engines operating on petroleum fuels. Energy security concerns about petroleum imports and the effect of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions on global climate are driving interest in alternatives. Transitions to Alternative Vehicles and Fuels assesses the potential for reducing petroleum consumption and GHG emissions by 80 percent across the U.S. LDV fleet by 2050, relative to 2005. This report examines the current capability and estimated future performance and costs for each vehicle type and non-petroleum-based fuel technology as options that could significantly contribute to these goals. By analyzing scenarios that combine various fuel and vehicle pathways, the report also identifies barriers to implementation of these technologies and suggests policies to achieve the desired reductions. Several scenarios are promising, but strong, and effective policies such as research and development, subsidies, energy taxes, or regulations will be necessary to overcome barriers, such as cost and consumer choice.
Publication Date: 2013-04-14
Two Billion Cars by Foreword. Acknowledgments. 1. Surviving Two Billion Cars. Transportation Trends: Headed in the Wrong Direction. Roadmap to Survival. Hard Work Ahead. 2. Beyond the Gas-Guzzler Monoculture. Internal Combustion: From the Model T to Cars on Steroids. The Quest for a Better Engine: Electric Drive Technology. Beyond Cars: New Options for Personal Mobility. The Coming Transformations. 3. Breaking Detroit's Hold on Energy and Climate Policy. The Making of the Detroit Mindset. The Jolt of Japanese Competition. Moving Detroit Toward Green. 4. In Search of Low-Carbon Fuels. Petroleum Fuels in Transition. Alternative Fuels Past, Present, and Future. Steps Toward a Post-Petroleum World. 5. Aligning Big Oil with the Public Interest. The Changing Oil Supply. Unconventional Oil: Savior or Disaster?. The Changing Oil Industry. Big Oil's Environmental Epiphany. Big Carrots and Big Sticks. 6. The Motivated Consumer. The Car-Centric American. From Mean to Green: Shifting Consumer Identities. Aligning Incentives with Socially and Environmentally Responsible Behavior. 7. California's Pioneering Role. From Smog and Sprawl to Environmental Leadership. Leadership in Climate and Air Quality Policy. Leadership in Clean Energy Technology. The Trendsetting California Consumer. California's Ripple Effect. 8. Stimulating Chinese Innovation. China's Extreme Makeover. Toward an Enlightened Car Policy. Innovations That Might Spread From China. How the Rest of the World Can Help China Help Us All. 9. Driving Toward Sustainability. Imagining Futurama III. Our Strategy for Getting There. Transforming Vehicles. Transforming Fuels. Transforming Consumer and Local Government Behavior. Realizing the Vision
Publication Date: 2009-01-01