Automotive Technology - East Chicago: Websites

Founded in 1954, the Automatic Transmission Rebuilders Association (ATRA) is an international trade association for the professional automatic transmission repair industry.

AAIA's more than 23,000 members and affiliates manufacture, distribute and sell motor vehicle parts, accessories, service, tool, equipment, materials and supplies. AAIA represents more than 100,000 repair shops, parts stores and distribution outlets.

"The Automotive Service Association (ASA) advances professionalism and excellence in the automotive repair industry through education, representation and member services."

CCAR-GreenLink helps persons engaged in automotive service, collision repair and other sectors of the automotive industry better understand their environmental responsibilities, and to help them achieve compliance with environmental program requirements.

Since 1967 the EAA is a non-profit educational organization that promotes the advancement and widespread adoption of electric vehicles.

AERA is a specialized network of professional engine builders, rebuilders, production engine remanufacturers and installers.

Information on electric and hybrid cars.

ASE's mission is to improve the quality of vehicle repair and service through the testing and certification of repair and service professionals.

The Antique Automobile Club of America, founded in 1935, is the world's largest automotive historical society. The AACA is dedicated to perpetuating the memories of early automobiles by encouraging their history, collection and use.

CCCA is dedicated to the collecting, preservation and enjoyment of the world's finest automobiles which were manufactured from 1925 through 1948.

Comprehensive site for the car collector enthusiast.

The Petersen Automotive Museum, is dedicated to the interpretive study of the automobile and its influence on our culture and lives. Encompassing more than 300,000 square feet, its exhibits and lifelike dioramas feature more than 150 rare and classic cars

The Data Center provides a wide range of information and resources to enable the use of alternative fuels in addition to other petroleum reduction options such as advanced vehicles, fuel blends, idle reduction, and fuel economy.

Health and safety regulations for workers in autobody repair shops.

The BTS focuses on the following, each mandated by legislation: 1) compiling, analyzing, and publishing a comprehensive set of transportation statistics; 2) making statistics readily accessible; and 3) implementing a long term data collection program.

This Environmental Protection Agency site provides information on gas mileage for passenger vehicles dating back to 1985, plus information on fuel economy, vehicle comparisons, pollution emissions, safety ratings, alternate fuels, and more.

Includes information on traffic safety problems and issues,vehicle test results,governmental regulations and standards and research and development. Also a good source for statistics on all types of traffic accidents.

information about highway vehicles (cars and light trucks, heavy trucks, buses, engines, and motorcycles) including fuel economy, emission standards and regulations, emission recall programs, new vehicle certification and in-use vehicle compliance, inspection and maintenance programs, diesel retrofit programs, evaluating the benefits of inventions designed to reduce emissions, and importing vehicles to the United States.

Comprehensive site covering all aspects of transportation in the United States overseen and regulated by the United States Government.

Massive site with information on the automobile industry,vehicles,motor sports,automobile repair and maintenance,automotive news,automotive parts and links to many other related sites.

Covers many topics related to automobiles. These web sites have been reviewed, annotated and recommended by professional librarians.

The web's largest site for consumer car buying information

A set of tutorials offered by Carparts.com, which cover the major subsystems of the modern automobile.

Find online Testing Modules to reinforce learning concepts or prepare for ASE certification; Online Instruction Modules ; Technical Articles on a variety of automotive subjects; Automotive Links on the Internet.

Supplier of auto parts and accessories for over 80 years.

Current comprehensive survey of gasoline prices state by state plus national averages. Includes a fuel cost calculator to estimate trips.

Formed in 1999, the Alliance serves as a leading advocacy group for the automobile industry on a range of public policy issues

AWAF is a non-profit professional organization dedicated to promoting the personal and professional development for the advancement of women in the global automotive industry.

Provides information on laws, regulations and other information regarding cell phone use while driving. Includes all 50 states plus the District of Columbia.

Consumers Union and Ralph Nader founded the Center for Auto Safety (CAS) in 1970 to provide consumers a voice for auto safety and quality in Washington and to help lemon owners fight back across the country.

Find results by make/model and year.

Official web site for all types of distracted driving: cell phone use, texting, etc. Includes information on state laws and statistics.

The Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA) provides leadership and representation for the states and territories to improve traffic safety, influence national policy and enhance program management.

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and the Highway Loss Data Institute are dedicated to reducing highway crash deaths, injuries, and property losses. Includes data and reports on vehicle safety ratings, driver and passenger safety,and traffic deaths.

Information on lemon laws state by state.

MADD's mission: to stop drunk driving, support the victims of this violent crime and prevent underage drinking. Site also provides lots of statistics related to drunk driving.

Maintained by the National Conference of State Legislatures, this database searches all state legislatures and finds bills past and present covering all aspects of traffic safety.