Find Evidence - Nursing and Health Sciences - South Bend-Elkhart - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

Background Information: Information Centers and Reference Guides

General
Credo Reference a good place to start to get background information on your topic; reference articles from over 600 titles, with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.

Medical
DSM Library Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), the DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases, the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, and the Spanish edition of Diagnostic Criteria from the DSM-5.

QSEN The Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) project addresses the challenge of preparing future nurses with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs) necessary to continuously improve the quality and safety of the healthcare systems within which they work.

Physicians' Desk Reference

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses

Kanopy - Medicine Videos

Health Sciences - Academic Video Online

Federal Government Websites

HealthFinder.gov
"An award-winning Federal Web site for consumers, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services together with other Federal agencies. It links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,500 health-related organizations."
PubChem (National Library of Medicine)
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. It is a free and open tool from the National Library of Medicine that has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Use this self- paced tutorial to familiarize yourself.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National clearing house for information on infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, disabilities, and environmental health threats
National Institutes of Health
NIH's mission is science in pursuit of fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to extend healthy life and reduce the burdens of illness and disability.
National Institute of Nursing Research
"Promotes research in the following areas: Promoting Health and Preventing Disease, Improving Quality of Life, Eliminating Health Disparities, Setting Directions for End-of-Life Research"
National Library of Medicine
The Worlds largest medical library.
AHRQ Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Provides information on such areas as disaster preparedness, quality and patient safety, datasets and research findings.
Healthcare.gov
The marketplace for purchasing insurance policies for individuals, families, and small businesses.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
Comprehensive, peer-reviewed toxicology data for about 6,000 chemicals.
Pubmed Central