Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Did You Know? Items not owned by Carter Library are available through Interlibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan Overview
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows patrons to request books, articles and other materials not owned by Carter Library through reciprocal agreements with other state and national libraries. Current Ivy Tech - Southwest students, faculty and staff are eligible to use ILL services. A valid ID card is required to request ILL material. Always check Carter Library resources first before requesting ILL material.
If you have any questions, please contact Joseph Ritchie, Library Technical Assistant: firstname.lastname@example.org/ Ph: (812) 492-0501
An extensive catalog from library collections from around the globe. Use this resource to search for ILL books and other physical (returnable) resources
ILL Article Request Form
Use this form to request journal articles not available in print or full-text in subscription databases at Carter Library.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. What is interlibrary loan (ILL)?
- Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service provided to Ivy Tech students, faculty and staff that provides access to materials not available at Carter Library.
- Books, journal articles and other desired items from libraries in Indiana and the United States.
2. How do I submit an interlibrary loan Request?
- Books and other physical resources:
- Verify that Carter Library does not own the item(s) in IvyCat and that you have no overdue items or fines.
- Search WorldCat to find the item that you would like to borrow.
- Click the ILL button that appears above the record
- Complete and submit the form the request form
- Journal articles:
- Verify that Carter Library does not have the desired article/journal in full text using Publication Finder
- Complete and submit the ILL Article Request Form
- Your request will be submitted and processed by Carter Library staff
3. How long does it take to receive and interlibrary loan request?
- Generally, physical items take 3-21 days; articles take 3-5 days.
- Arrival time varies depending on item availability, location, and shipping method.
- Planning ahead is essential!
4. How much do interlibrary loan requests cost?
- Carter Library staff will search for lenders who lend items for free
- In the rare instance that an requested items would only be available for a fee, Carter Library staff will notify requestor prior to ordering item
5. How will I know when my request has arrived?
- For physical (returnable) items, Carter Library staff will notify borrowers by phone and/or email when items are available for pickup in Carter Library; please be prepared to present your student/faculty/staff ID
- Journal articles will be made available electronically using a file-drop link sent by email
6. How do I retrieve my articles when they arrive?
- Articles are delivered electronically via email. Copyright restrictions apply.
7. How long can I keep interlibrary loan requests?
- Loan periods are generally 2-4 weeks; the loan period is decided by the lending library.
- Copies are yours to keep. Electronic articles are delivered as PDF's and are available for five viewings or 30 days, whichever comes first. Please print or save your copies.
8. What are the interlibrary loan overdue policies.
- Overdue interlibrary loan books may block library privileges and/or incur fines.
- Lost or damaged ILL materials are subject to replacement costs and processing fees determined by the lending library
9. Are Ivy Tech community card holders eligible for interlibrary loan?
- No, interlibrary loan services are not extended to Ivy Tech community card holders; these patrons should request interlibrary loan services through their local library.
Check Carter Library Resources First
Before requesting books, articles, etc. through Interlibrary Loan, verify that Carter Library does not already own the resource.
Check in IvyCat for books and other physical (returnable) items.
Check here to see if the desired article/journal title is available in full-text in subscription databases.
Current Periodicals List
Carter Library owns over 40 print journal and newspaper subscriptions, with back issues available. Check this link to see if the library owns the journal/newspaper issue you need.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction of copyrighted materials. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or other reproduction is not to be 'used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.' If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of 'fair use,' that user may be liable for copyright infringement.