NRSG 206: NURSING CARE OF CHILDBEARING AND CHILDREARING FAMILIES - Nursing - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

Course Description

NRSG 206: NURSING CARE OF CHILDBEARING AND CHILDREARING FAMILIES

Applies knowledge of etiology and pathophysiology to provide an understanding of the health care needs of children and childbearing families. Examines the roles of the associate degree nurse in applying the nursing process and implementing the ordered plan of treatment for childbearing and childrearing families. Introduces growth and development components and how they impact therapeutic communication, family development theories, principles of family nursing, therapeutic interventions, and teaching-learning techniques when providing nursing care to children and child-rearing families.

COLLEGEWIDE COURSE OUTLINE OF RECORD
Prerequisites, course description, major learning objectives, and course content

Library eBooks: Nursing Care of Childbearing and Childrearing Families

Breastfeeding and Human Lactation, 6th Ed. (2020)
The ultimate reference for the latest clinical techniques and research findings that direct evidence-based clinical practice for nurses and lactation consultants.
more...less...
Topics include placing breastfeeding in its historical context, workplace-related issues, anatomical and biological imperatives of lactation, the prenatal and perinatal periods and concerns during the postpartum period, the mother's health, sociocultural issues, and more vital information.
Comprehensive Neonatal Nursing Care, 6th Ed. (2020)
This text presents current research findings and strategies for providing complete neonatal care.
more...less...
It examines each neonatal body system and describes evidence-based interventions that assist in understanding the ‘why’ behind various clinical presentations. Case studies, evidence-based practice boxes, QSEN competencies, and online resources amplify and reinforce content.
Handbook of Perinatal and Neonatal Palliative Care : A Guide for Nurses, Physicians, and Other Health Professionals (2020)
This authoritative handbook holistically addresses the multidimensional aspects of perinatal and neonatal palliative care.
more...less...
It describes healthcare for neonates and pregnant mothers, care and support of the family, planning and decision-making, and effective support for grief and bereavement, addressing all palliative and neonatal care settings.
The Maternal Health Crisis in America: Nursing Implications for Advocacy and Practice (2019)
This professional clinical reference is the first to comprehensively address the escalating crisis in U.S. maternal health—our country experiences the highest maternal mortality among developed nations—and provides strategies and roadmaps for improved outcomes.
Physical Assessment of the Newborn: A Comprehensive Approach to the Art of Physical Examination, 6th Ed. (2019)
Illustrates how to systematically and accurately gather assessment data and interpret results. Addresses the physical, physiologic, neurologic, and behavioral implications of a thorough assessment, and explains how healthcare providers can reduce the risks associated with the transition to extrauterine life and the neonatal period.
Protocols for High-Risk Pregnancies : An Evidence-Based Approach, 7th Ed. (2021)
This is an essential reference for healthcare professionals seeking the most up-to-date information and guidance on high-risk pregnancies. Its focus on protocols and guidelines will help to reduce errors and optimize maternal and fetal patient outcomes.
Maternal and Newborn Success : NCLEX Style Q&S Review, 4th Ed. (2022)
Assure your mastery of maternal and newborn nursing knowledge while honing your critical-thinking and test-taking skills.
more...less...
Over 1,160 NCLEX®-style questions on maternal and newborn nursing care reflect the latest test plan, including the more difficult SATA format. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types. Together, with a comprehensive exam at the end of the book, they provide the practice you need to build your confidence for course exams and the NCLEX.
Neonatology for Primary Care, 2nd Ed. (2020)
Covers practical approaches to caring for healthy and high-risk newborns and infants. The book covers maternal and fetal health, care of the newborn after delivery, breastfeeding, follow-up care, common congenital anomalies, the newborn with a heart murmur or cyanosis, neurologic findings, primary care issues relating to newborns and infants requiring intensive care, and health and developmental outcomes.
Infant Safe Sleep : A Pocket Guide for Clinicians (2020)
This book is a practical, comprehensive look at safe sleep for infants, including safe sleep for infants with co-occurring medical conditions.
more...less...
This book gives guidance and suggestions for clinicians for counseling parents and other caretakers of infants. It discusses common barriers to adherence, as well as approaches that are evidence-based or use behavior change theory. Chapters focus on important aspects of the sleep environment, evaluating commonly sold sleep products, and common sleep practices, including roomsharing and bedsharing. There is also a thorough discussion of SIDS pathophysiology, and a closing chapter on grief and counselling families after a loss.
The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook, 4th Ed. (2018)
This United Kingdom publication provides a practical and comprehensive guide to midwifery care, The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook continues to promote best practice and a safe, satisfying birthing experience with a focus on women-centred care.
more...less...
Covering all aspects of care during labour and birth, from obstetric emergencies to the practicalities of perineal repair (including left-hand suturing), the fourth edition has been fully revised and updated to include: Full colour photographs of kneeling extended breech and footling breech births New water birth and breech water birth photographs Female genital mutilation Sepsis Group B streptococcus Care of the woman with diabetes /Neonatal hypoglycaemia Mental health Seeding/microbirthing

Library eBooks: Pediatric Patient Care

Pediatric Nutrition, 8th Ed. (2020)
This valuable AAP reference covers how nutrients influence and direct growth and development, as well as immediate and long-term health, from birth through adolescence.
more...less...
This evidence-based manual reflects the current policies and practices recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Nutrition.
Reference Range Values for Pediatric Care, 2nd Ed. (2019)
This popular guide provides commonly used reference ranges and values spanning birth through adolescence; plus, data needed for treatment of preterm and other newborns.
more...less...
This resource helps reduce search time for reference ranges and other critical values to optimize patient assessment and treatment.
Peds Notes: Nurse's Clinical Pocket Guide, 2nd Ed. (2019)
Pediatric reference providing the information you need to deliver safe, effective care for children based on their age, size, developmental level, and unique pathologies.
Adolescent Health Sourcebook, 5th Ed. (2022)
Information about adolescent growth and development, puberty, sexuality, reproductive health, and physical, emotional, social, and mental-health concerns of teens.
more...less...
Includes facts about nutrition, physical activity, weight management, acne, allergies, cancer, diabetes, growth disorders, juvenile arthritis, infections, substance abuse, and more.
Pediatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, 3rd Ed. (2020)
This fully illustrated, enjoyable guide offers easy-to-remember ways to strengthen your understanding and retention of common pediatric conditions at every level of child development.
more...less...
An irreplaceable on-the-job reference for all new nurses, this go-to resource supports class materials, is the ideal study partner for NCLEX®, HESI or CPN exam preparation, and is an excellent refresher for experienced nurses.
2021 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy
This best-selling reference provides instant access to the latest recommendations for treatment of infectious diseases in children, including COVID-19. For each disease, the authors provide a commentary to help select the best of all antimicrobial choices. Drug descriptions cover all antimicrobial agents available today and include complete information about dosing regimens.
Pediatric Success : NCLEX-Style Q&a Review, 3rd Ed. (2018)
Assure your mastery of pediatric nursing knowledge while improving your critical-thinking and test-taking skills. Over 1,000 NCLEX®-style questions on pediatrics and growth and development provide the practice you need to build your confidence. Rationales for both correct and incorrect answers as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types.
Pediatric Injectable Drugs : The Teddy Bear Book (2018)
The most comprehensive research-based information on pediatric intravenous infusions. This is the only reference of its kind that focuses on the unique issues that pediatric practitioners face when dealing with pediatric injectable drugs, such as limited fluid amounts, limited intravenous sites, and maximum doses.

Books at the Lawrence Campus Library

The following books can be found in the general collection of the Lawrence Campus Library and can be checked out for a two-week loan period:

Your Pregnancy and Childbirth by American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
Call Number: RG525 .A26 2021
ISBN: 9781934984901
Publication Date: 2021-01-26
Your Pregnancy and Childbirth: Month to Month from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, offers the latest medical guidelines in straightforward, easy-to-read language to help you make the best decisions for you and your pregnancy.
Infections in Pregnancy by Adel Elkady (Editor); Prabha Sinha (Editor); Soad Ali Zaki Hassan (Editor)
Call Number: RG571 .I54 2020
ISBN: 9781108716635
Publication Date: 2019-10-24
This comprehensive resource covers the diagnosis and management of viral, bacterial, fungal and parasitic diseases that affect women in pregnancy. Designed for professionals with busy schedules, this guide provides efficient solutions and relevant information regarding investigation, diagnosis and treatment of common maternal infections.
Congenital Disorders Sourcebook, 4th Ed. by Siva Ganesh Maharaja (Managing editor)
Call Number: RG626 .C597 2018
ISBN: 9780780816138
Publication Date: 2018-01-26
This resource provides consumer health information about nonhereditary birth defects and disorders, including facts about prevention and treatment options.
Maternal and Newborn Success, 4th Ed. by Nancy Irland; F.A. Davis
Call Number: RG951 .I75 2022
ISBN: 9781719643061
Publication Date: 2021-10-06
Assure your mastery of maternal and newborn nursing knowledge while honing your critical-thinking and test-taking skills. Over 1,160 NCLEX®-style questions on maternal and newborn nursing care reflect the latest test plan, including the more difficult SATA format. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types.
Maternal-Neonatal Nursing Made Incredibly Easy by Stephanie Evans
Call Number: RG951 .M38 2020
ISBN: 9781975120801
Publication Date: 2019-11-15
This friendly guide's colorful images and helpful learning aids offer the latest in nursing interventions for prenatal care basics, including high-risk pregnancy, family planning, contraception and infertility, labor and birth, and postpartum care, presented in the enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. Offering practice questions written in NCLEX® exam format, this is the ideal support for nursing students and new nurses preparing for certification and the everyday challenges of the maternal-neonatal unit.
Fast Facts for the Neonatal Nurse by Michele R. Davidson
Call Number: RJ253 .D38 2021
ISBN: 9780826184849
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Written for novice neonatal nurses and those new to the NICU, this concise, easy-to-use resource delivers all the essentials of daily practice for the care of neonates and their families.