Databases: Start research here! - Nursing - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

Academic Integrity

ACADEMIC HONESTY STATEMENT

The College is committed to academic integrity in all its practices. The faculty value intellectual integrity and a high standard of academic conduct. Activities that violate academic integrity undermine the quality and diminish the value of educational achievement.

Cheating on papers, tests or other academic works is a violation of College rules. No student shall engage in behavior that, in the judgment of the instructor of the class, may be construed as cheating. This may include, but is not limited to, plagiarism or other forms of academic dishonesty such as the acquisition without permission of tests or other academic materials and/or distribution of these materials and other academic work. This includes students who aid and abet as well as those who attempt such behavior.

Start Here! Best Databases for Nursing Research

CINAHL
The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, and 17 allied health disciplines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. This database also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

PubMed (Medline)
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

More Great Research Databases

BioMed Central
BioMed Central publishes over 230 peer-reviewed open access journals which are available to the public for free. BioMed specializes in subjects related to science, technology and medicine.
Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO)
This database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles included in the Biomedical Reference Collection are indexed in MEDLINE.
DSM-5 Library (Psychiatry Online)
A comprehensive and up-to-date resource used for clinical practice by mental health professionals, this resource includes the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition), the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM-5 Clinical Cases, the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, and the Spanish edition of Diagnostic Criteria from the DSM-5.
EBSCO - Health Business
This database provides full text coverage for nearly 130 well-known administrative journals. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration and much more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PsycArticles
PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1894 to the present.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC contains more than 6 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present).
Research Library (ProQuest)
This database includes more than 600 scholarly journal titles in the medical sciences, including the areas of nursing, pharmacology, psychiatry, surgery, pediatrics, gerontology and oncology. More than 75% of the journals provide full-text content.
Sigma Repository
This is a free digital resource for nurses and nursing students. It contains a wide variety of full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials authored by nurses for nurses. The repository is a resource of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

E-Book Databases

The library provides access to numerous eBooks on health and medicine topics. You can search for eBook titles in the eBook collections below or search the Ivy Tech statewide catalog, IvyCat by author, title, or subject and select "Electronic Resources" for location.

Credo Medical Reference Collection
A collection of online reference books which includes a section on medicine.
DSM-5 Library (Psychiatry Online)
A comprehensive resource used by mental health professionals, this resource includes the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition), the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and the DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
eBook Central (ProQuest)
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.

Consumer Health Databases

Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
more...less...
Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. Access drug information from AHFS Consumer Medication Information in both English and Spanish.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online consumer health information resource. It provides patients with high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.
more...less...
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Reference Sources

Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd Edition
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students
Credo Reference: Health & Medicine
Searchable online collection of reference books on nursing topics, pharmacology, anatomy, psychology, alternative medicine, consumer health, and much more.
F.A. Davis Disorder Lookup
Search for a disorder by typing in a term or selecting a letter. Click on the appropriate disorder displayed in the results. The associated nursing diagnosis will be displayed.
Medical Terminology Pronunciations - Merck Manual Consumer Version
A-Z list of medical terms, each with corresponding audio pronunciation. (English)
Merck Manual - Professional
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students
Oxford Dictionary of Nursing, 8th Ed. (2021)
Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions.
more...less...
As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering thecalculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
RxList Diseases, Conditions, and Medical Tests
This A-Z list of diseases and conditions contains explanations of many medical conditions and tests. Disease articles are written by U.S. Board Certified Physicians.
RxList Drug-Medical Dictionary
The RxList drug medical dictionary contains definitions and explanations of many medical terms including prescription medication abbreviations. Medical terms are from MedTerms™ and are written by pharmacists and U.S. Board Certified Physicians; the same authors of the Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary. To use the medical dictionary, type in your word in the dictionary search box below and click search. You can also browse the terms by selecting on a letter.

Video Databases

Films on Demand: Health & Medicine
Streaming videos covering diseases, disorders, treatments, nutrition, health careers, public health, and more
more...less...
Search by keyword or browse broad topic categories.
MedlinePlus Videos & Tools
Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems, and surgical procedures. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.
Merck Manual - Multimedia Resources
Merck Manual - Procedures and Exams