Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Restaurant and Professional 2018
Modernist Bread by
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Modernist Bread: The Art and Science is a revolutionary new understanding of one of the most important staples of the human diet. Created by the team that published the award-winning Modernist Cuisine: The Art and Science of Cooking, this massive treasury of practical knowledge and groundbreaking techniques captures over four years of independent research and collaborations with leading industry professionals; the result is the most in-depth look at bread to date. Stunning photography brings the complete story of bread to life across five volumes--uncover its incredible history, loaves from every corner of the world, and the breath-taking beauty of scientific phenomena at work above and below the crust. In addition, you will discover innovative recipes and techniques developed by the Modernist Cuisine team that have not been published anywhere else. Housed in a sleek stainless steel case, this five-volume set contains more than 1,500 traditional and avant-garde recipes, as well as a wire-bound kitchen manual so that you can easily bring all of the recipes into the kitchen in one compact collection. Spanning over 2,300 pages, Modernist Bread will become an invaluable resource for anyone who has a thirst for knowledge about bread or wants to advance their craft. This book is a call to arms for any baker--whether you are a strict traditionalist, avid modernist, home baker, restaurant chef, or an artisanal baker--to embrace the possibilities of invention and follow your inspiration to make breads in your own way.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2017
Classic Koffmann by
Call Number: TX719.2 .G37K64 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-13
Winner 'Best French Cuisine Book' - Gourmand World Cookbook Awards 2016 Finalist 'Cooking from a Professional Point of View' - James Beard Foundation Awards 2017 There's no doubt that it's Pierre Koffmann, the three Michelin-starred chef, who is the granddaddy of French cuisine in Britain. Now celebrating 50 years in the business, the self-effacing Pierre has been coaxed out of the kitchen just long enough to write this superlative collection of his classic recipes. Ranging - as you would expect - from Entrees to Desserts, and everything in between, Classic Koffmann is a worthy successor to Pierre's Memories of Gascony, which earned him the prestigious Glenfiddich Award in 1990. As if its collection of over 100 star recipes from the master chef wasn't enough, Classic Koffmann is also beautifully illustrated with photography by master photographer, David Loftus. What's more, having been described as 'the chef of chefs' and 'the chef all other chefs look up to', it's no surprise that many of his proteges - the likes of Marco Pierre White, Gordon Ramsey, Bruno Loubet, Tom Aikens, William Curley, Helena Puolakka, Tom Kitchin, Eric Chavot, Paul Rhodes - have declared themselves 'honoured' to contribute to this epoch-making book. This younger generation of chefs - all culinary luminaries in their own right - have added their own special stories of their training with Pierre, the insights they gained from him and, of course, their paeans of praise for the man who set them on their path in the world of cooking. Classic Koffmann offers a masterclass in all that's best in the French culinary tradition and will most certainly be the must-have cookery book of the season.
Cooking From a Professional Point of View 2016
Call Number: TX725 .M628O8835 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
A cookbook from acclaimed London restaurant Nopi, by powerhouse author Yotam Ottolenghi and Nopi head chef Ramael Scully. Pandan leaves meet pomegranate seeds, star anise meets sumac, and miso meets molasses in this collection of 120 new recipes from Yotam Ottolenghi's restaurant. In collaboration with Nopi's head chef Ramael Scully, Yotam's journey from the Middle East to the Far East is one of big and bold flavors, with surprising twists along the way.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2015
Bar Tartine by
Call Number: TX715.2 .C34B34 2014
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Here's a cookbook destined to be talked-about this season, rich in techniques and recipes epitomizing the way we cook and eat now. Bar Tartine--co-founded by Tartine Bakery's Chad Robertson and Elisabeth Prueitt--is obsessed over by locals and visitors, critics and chefs. It is a restaurant that defies categorization, but not description: Everything is made in-house and layered into extraordinarily flavorful food. Helmed by Nick Balla and Cortney Burns, it draws on time-honored processes (such as fermentation, curing, pickling), and a core that runs through the cuisines of Central Europe, Japan, and Scandinavia to deliver a range of dishes from soups to salads, to shared plates and sweets. With more than 150 photographs, this highly anticipated cookbook is a true original.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2014
Historic Heston Blumenthal by
Publication Date: 2013-11-12
Winner of Three James Beard Awards COOKBOOK OF THE YEAR Cooking from a Professional Point of View and Photography British gastronomy has a grand old tradition that has been lost over time. Now England'smost inventive chef is out to reclaim it. Heston Blumenthal, whose name is synonymous with cutting-edge cuisine, nonetheless finds his greatest source of inspiration in the unique and delicious food that the sceptered isle once produced. This has been the secret to his success at world-famous restaurants The Fat Duck and Dinner, where a contrast between old and new, modern and historic, is key. Historic Heston charts a quest for identity through the best of British cooking that stretches from medieval to late-Victorian recipes. Start with thirty historic dishes, take them apart, put them together again, and what have you got? A sublime twenty-first-century take on delicacies including meat fruit (1500), quaking pudding (1660), and mock-turtle soup (1892). Heston examines the history behind each one's invention and the science that makes it work. He puts these dishes in their social context and follows obscure culinary trails, ferreting out such curious sources as The Queen-like Closet from 1672 (which offers an excellent method for drying goose). What it adds up to is an idiosyncratic culinary history of Britain.This glorious tome also gives a unique insight into the way that Heston works, with signature dishes from both The Fat Duck and Dinner. Illustrated by Dave McKean and with some of the most superb food photography you'll ever see, Historic Heston is a book to treasure. You think you know about British cooking? Think again.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2013
Toque! Creator of a New Quebec Gastronomy by Normand Laprise
(not available in the U.S.)
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2012
Modernist Cuisine by
Call Number: TX651 .M947 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
Revealing the techniques used for preparing food which ranges from the otherworldly to the sublime, 'Modern Cuisine' is a six-volume guide for anyone who is passionate about the art and science of cooking.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2011
Call Number: TX722.A1 R43 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-16
Rene Redzepi has been widely credited with re-inventing Nordic cuisine. His Copenhagen restaurant, Noma, was recognized as the best in the world by the San Pellegrino World's 50 Best Restaurant awards in 2010 and received the unique 'Chef's Choice' award at the same ceremony in 2009. Redzepi operates at the cutting edge of gourmet cuisine, combining an unrelenting creativity and a remarkable level of craftsmanship with an inimitable and innate knowledge of the produce of his Nordic terroir. At Noma, which Redzepi created from a derelict eighteenth-century warehouse in 2003 after previously working at both elBulli and The French Laundry, diners are served exquisite concoctions, such as 'Newly-Ploughed Potato Field' or 'The snowman from Jukkasjr', all painstakingly constructed to express their amazing array of Nordic ingredients. Redzepi's fascination with giving his diners a real taste of their food's environment extends to serving dishes on pebbles found in the same fields as his produce. His search for ingredients involves foraging amongst local fields for wild produce, sourcing horse-mussels from the Faroe Islands and the purest possible water from Greenland. Redzepi has heightened the culinary philosophy of seasonally and regionally sourced sustainable ingredients to an exquisite level, and in doing so has created an utterly delicious cuisine. Noma is an unprecedented opportunity to learn about Redzepi and Noma's history and philosophy, the sourcing of ingredients, the experimentation behind the dishes and the cultural significance of dining at Noma. Accompanying this insight into Redzepi's world will be over 90 of Redzepi's recipes, by far the most comprehensive collection ever published. The book will also feature a series of specially commissioned photographs, illustrating the food and atmosphere of Noma, as well as the Nordic environment that lies at the heart of Redzepi's cuisine.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2010
The Fundamental Techniques of Classic Pastry Arts by
Call Number: TX773 .C5258 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
An indispensable addition to any serious home baker's library, The Fundamental Techniques of Classic Pastry Arts covers the many skills an aspiring pastry chef must master. Based on the internationally lauded curriculum developed by master ptissier Jacques Torres for New York's French Culinary Institute, the book presents chapters on every classic category of confection: tarts, cream puffs, puff pastry, creams and custards, breads and pastries, cakes, and petits fours. Each chapter begins with an overview of the required techniques, followed by dozens of recipes--many the original creations of distinguished FCI graduates. Each recipe even includes a checklist to help you evaluate your success as measured against professional standards of perfection! Distilling ten years of trial and error in teaching students, The Fundamental Techniques of Classic Pastry Arts is a comprehensive reference with hundreds of color photographs, a wealth of insider tips, and highly detailed information on tools and ingredients--quite simply the most valuable baking book you can own.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2009
Call Number: TX714 .A375 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
The debut cookbook from the restaurant Gourmet magazine named the best in the country. A pioneer in American cuisine, chef Grant Achatz represents the best of the molecular gastronomy movement--brilliant fundamentals and exquisite taste paired with a groundbreaking approach to new techniques and equipment. ALINEA showcases Achatz's cuisine with more than 100 dishes (totaling 600 recipes) and 600 photographs presented in a deluxe volume. Three feature pieces frame the book: Michael Ruhlman considers Alinea's role in the global dining scene, Jeffrey Steingarten offers his distinctive take on dining at the restaurant, and Mark McClusky explores the role of technology in the Alinea kitchen. Buyers of the book will receive access to a website featuring video demonstrations, interviews, and an online forum that allows readers to interact with Achatz and his team. "Achatz is something new on the national culinary landscape: a chef as ambitious as Thomas Keller who wants to make his mark not with perfection but with constant innovation . . . Get close enough to sit down and allow yourself to be teased, challenged, and coddled by Achatz's version of this kind of cooking, and you can have one of the most enjoyable culinary adventures of your life." --Corby Kummer, senior editor of Atlantic Monthly "Someone new has entered the arena. His name is Grant Achatz, and he is redefining the American restaurant once again for an entirely new generation . . . Alinea is in perpetual motion; having eaten here once, you cannot wait to come back, to see what Achatz will come up with next." --GourmetReviews & AwardsJames Beard Foundation Cookbook Award Finalist: Cooking from a professional Point of View Category James Beard Foundation Outstanding Chef Award!nbsp;"Even if your kitchen isn't equipped with a paint-stripping heat gun, thermocirculator, or refractometer, and you are only vaguely aware that chefs use siphons and foams in contemporary cooking, you can enjoy this daring cookbook from Grant Achatz of the Chicago restaurant Alinea.. . . While the recipes can hardly become part of your everday cooking, this book is far too interesting to be left on the coffee table. As you read, a question emerges: Is Alinea's food art? . . . I go a little further, describing Achatz with a word that he would probably never use to describe himself: avant-garde, as it defined art movements at the beginning of the last century--planned, self-concious, and structured attempts to provoke and shake the status quo. Just as with those artists, the results are not necessarily as interesting as the intentions and concepts behind them. In this sense, this volume constitutes a full-blown although not threatening manifesto."--Art of Eating
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2008
The Fundamental Techniques of Classic Cuisine by
Call Number: TX719 .C4543 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
This volume provides all the essential information techniques for becoming a proficient home cook or a beginning professional chef. It includes more than 650 colour photos showing techniques, preparations, equipment, ingredients, and finished dishes, as well as 200 classic recipes.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2007
Grand Livre de Cuisine by
Call Number: TX773 .D822 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
The Man Who Loved Children is Christina Stead's masterpiece about family life. Set in Washington during the 1930s, Sam and Henny Pollit are a warring husband and wife. Their tempestuous marriage, aggravated by too little money, lies at the centre of Stead's satirical and brilliantly observed novel about the relations between husbands and wives, and parents and children. Sam, a scientist, uses words as weapons of attack and control on his children and is prone to illusions of power and influence that fail to extend beyond his family. His wife Henny, who hails from a wealthy Baltimore family, is disastrously impractical and enmeshed in her own fantasies of romance and vengeance. Much of the care of their six children is left to Louisa, Sam's 14-year-old daughter from his first marriage. Within this psychological battleground, Louisa must attempt to make a life of her own. First published in 1940, The Man Who Loved Children was hailed for its satiric energy. Now its originality is again lauded by novelist, Jonathan Franzen, in his illuminating new introduction.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2006
Sunday Suppers at Lucques by
Call Number: TX719 .G623 2005
Publication Date: 2005-11-08
Few chefs in America have won more acclaim than Suzanne Goin, owner of Lucques restaurant. A chef of impeccable pedigree, she got her start cooking at some of the best restaurants in the world. Olives, and Chez Panisse, to name a few places where she acquired top-notch skills to match her already flawless culinary instincts. A great many cooks have come through the kitchen at Chez Panisse, observes the legendary Alice Waters, But Suzanne Goin was a stand-out. We all knew immediately that one day she would have a restaurant of her own, and that other cooks would be coming to her for kitchen wisdom and a warm welcome. And come they have, in droves. Since opening her L.A. restaurant, Lucques, in 1998, Goins cooking has garnered extraordinary accolades. Lucques is now recognized as one of the best restaurants in the country, and she is widely acknowledged as one of the most talented chefs around. Goins gospel is her commitment to the freshest ingredients available; her way of combining those ingredients in novel but impeccably appropriate ways continues to awe those who dine at her restaurant. Her Sunday Supper menus at Lucques ever changing and always tied to the produce of the season have drawn raves from all quarters: critics, fellow chefs, and Lucques devoted clientele. Now, in her long-awaited cookbook, Sunday Suppers at Lucques, Goin offers the general public, for the first time, the menus that have made her famous. This inspired cookbook contains: recipes in all, arranged into four-course menus and organized by season. Each recipes contains detailed instructions that distill the creation of these elegant and classy dishes down to easy-to-follow steps. Recipes include: Braised Beef Shortribs with Potato Puree and Horseradish Cream; Cranberry Walnut Clafoutis; Warm Crepes with Lemon Zest and Hazelnut Brown Butter full-color photographs that illustrate not only the beauty of the food but the graceful plating techniques that Suzanne Goin is known for A wealth of information on seasonal produce everything from reading a ripe squash to making the most of its flavors. She even tells us where to purchase the best fruit, vegetables, and pantry items Detailed instruction on standard cooking techniques both simple and involved, from making breadcrumbs to grilling duck A foreword by Alice Waters, owner and head chef of Chez Panisse restaurant and mentor to Suzanne Goin (one-time Chez Panisse line cook) With this book, Goin gives readers a sublime collection of destined-to-be-classic recipes. More than that, however, she offers advice on how home cooks can truly enjoy the process of cooking and make that process their own. One Sunday with Suzanne Goin is guaranteed to change your approach to cooking not to mention transform your results in the kitchen.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2005
Cooking One on One by
Call Number: TX715 .A774 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-23
You love good food. You prefer fresh ingredients, you appreciate lively flavors, you try to eat healthy. So what's keeping you out of the kitchen? Fear? Boredom with making the same old things? In this book, renowned cooking teacher and innovative California chef John Ash says, "Let's get back in there." Those lucky enough to have learned in the classroom alongside John Ash know that he is an extraordinarily gifted teacher who empowers beginning cooks and kitchen veterans alike to reach new culinary heights. In his celebrated classes, Ash takes the fear out of creative cooking by demonstrating the basics, then encouraging students to dive right in and experiment with the endless possibilities. Now, home cooks can reap the benefits of a private course with John Ash in this enlightening guide to cooking essentials and beyond. John Ash: Cooking One on Onefeatures lessons that focus on specific techniques, ingredients, or flavor-makers--vinaigrettes, pestos, and other building blocks that turn ordinary dishes into something special. With each lesson, Ash presents a handful of recipes--variations on a theme that start simply, then progress to reveal more complex combinations. With clear-cut instructions and a dash of charm, Ash helps cooks build confidence in the kitchen and proves that any dish, no matter how intricate, is based on a handful of simple techniques and troubleshooting know-how. This unique new collection of recipes--his first since the IACP Cookbook of the YearFrom the Earth to the Table--offers savory soups, satisfying main course salads, comforting vegetarian and nonvegetarian entres, and delectable desserts for every occasion. Pan-Seared Sea Bass with Pineapple Melon Salsa. Mojo-Marinated Skewered Beef. Warm Spinach Salad with Bacon, Apple Cider Dressing, and Oven-Dried Grapes. Mushroom-Ginger Soup with Roasted Garlic Custards. Orange Ricotta Cake with Strawberries. Discover an irresistible assortment of extraordinary recipes prepared with global accents and a light touch. As one of the guiding forces behind California cuisine, Ash uses fats judiciously and encourages cooking with seasonal produce. His final lesson, an introduction to wine, rounds out this groundbreaking cookbook. An unprecedented blend of instruction and inspiration,John Ash: Cooking One on Oneswings open the kitchen door, stocks the pantry, and invites cooks of all skill levels to dish up fresh, flavorful food at home.
Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2004
Publication Date: 2003-11-05
"Knockout dining" leaves fans breathless at this Gramercy New American "paragon" where "rock star" chef Rocco DiSpirito produces "sublime," "synergistic" dishes. --Zagat, on Rocco DiSpirito's restaurant Union Pacific He runs one of the most successful restaurants in New York City. He is seen everywhere from David Letterman to Good Morning America to the Food Network. He has graced the cover of Gourmet magazine as "America's Most Exciting Young Chef"--and Zagat calls him a "rock star." Now, Rocco DiSpirito unleashes his culinary magic with Flavor. In Flavor, DiSpirito shows readers how to create bold, intriguingly delicious food through combinations of ingredients both mundane and exotic. The cuisine is sophisticated but surprisingly easy for home chefs to replicate. Using the four flavors (sour, sweet, bitter, and salty) as basic building blocks, Rocco demonstrates how to combine and commingle flavors to create one-of-a-kind dishes. Some recipes included in Flavor are: Lemongrass Lobster Salad Baby Lettuces with Pickled Squash Blossoms and Yogurt-Tahini Vinaigrette Calamari with Coconut Curry and Green Papaya Braised Veal Roulade with Root Vegetables Cinnamon Glazed Duck Lavender Creme Brulee Peach-Phyllo Strudel with Goat Cheese Cream and much more
General/Cooking from a Professional Point of View 2003
The Zuni Cafe Cookbook by
Call Number: TX714 .R614 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-17
As a high school student, Judy Rodgers was placed by a benevolent fate on the doorstep of the Troisgros Brothers' three-star restaurant in Roanne, France. For more than a year, she watched closely, tasted relentlessly, and recorded every culinary thing she could. Won over by la cuisine'hile also taking time out to earn a degree at Stanford'he continued her explorations by cooking in the southwest of France, then headed for Tuscany, Umbria, and Sicily, and later Catalonia and Greece, always in search of honest cuisine g'euse, and always taking notes. In 1987, Judy arrived at San Francisco's Zuni Cafe eager to share the bounty she had amassed. Through years of creating daily menus for the cafe she nurtured all the culinary traditions she observed in her travels, adapting them to the emerging traditions of Californian cooking. At last, after years of anticipation, The Zuni Cafe Cookbook is here and lets you share in and enjoy the repertory Judy has developed that continues to captivate locals and travelers alike. Chef-owner Judy Rodgers has assembled a generous collection of her recipes and woven them together with a lifetime's worth of culinary lore. She walks you through each dish, providing friendly explanations of the how and why of every step'ou'll feel she is standing next to you in the kitchen as you cook. Crystal-clear essays on deciding what to cook, shopping for your food, and the habit of tasting will liberate the inexperienced cook and provide new insight for the experienced. Judy's ideas on roasting, braising, and pastry-making break new ground. And her "Practice of Salting Early" may forever change how you cook. You'll find the world-famous Zuni Roast Chicken and Caesar Salad as well as the Zuni Hamburger and the very special Espresso Granita. Along the way you'll find advice on serving oysters, as well as how to endow a simple salad with finesse and heart and how to assemble a modest but exquisite cheese course. You'll learn what makes a stock for a soup or sauce extraordinary, duck confit succulent, and what makes a risotto silky and rich. Judy will also convince you to make her favorite "labor-of-love-intensive" dishes'raised oxtails, a fragrant porchetta, graisserons, and a treasury of rabbit recipes. This is honest, yet sophisticated, food from the heart. Designed as it is for cooks, The Zuni Cafe Cookbook is also a treat for readers who enjoy curling up with a cookbook at night. Colorful stories are interspersed among the recipes and cooking lessons to deepen your understanding of the art of cooking and how its careful practice can enrich daily life. Judy's fine prose will draw you into the process, making reading her instructions as easy and satisfying as eating her food. Offering a new way to think about ingredients, and the act of cooking, The Zuni Cafe Cookbook is a masterwork, bringing together the ideas and practices of one of the most skilled cooks and food writers today. Twenty-four color photographs display, in gorgeous detail, the earthy, sensual food for which Zuni is known. Fifty black-and-white photographs illustrate technique throughout the text. Wine suggestions from Zuni devotee and preeminent wine connoisseur Gerald Asher accompany the recipes.