Health Sciences Resources - Health Sciences - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

Welcome

Welcome to Ivy Tech Community College Guide for the Health Sciences. This guide will help you locate information for research and general course assignments.

Start Here! Best Databases for Health & Medicine

CINAHL
The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, and 17 allied health disciplines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on numerous medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 650 journals.

PubMed (Medline)
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Other Health & Medicine Databases

The library databases below are available 24/7 and provide access to more than 1,000 titles in the fields of health & medicine.

BioMed Central
BioMed Central publishes over 230 peer-reviewed open access journals which are available to the public for free. BioMed specializes in subjects related to science, technology and medicine.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (EBSCO)
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO)
Provides full text coverage for nearly 130 journals covering the business of health care administration.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Medline Plus
From the National Library of Medicine, a part of the National Institutes of Health. This site provides patient level information on a wide variety of medical subjects and also provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Compiled by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the world's most comprehensive source of biomedical information. It contains nearly eleven million records from over 7,300 different publications from 1965 to present.
PsycArticles (EBSCO)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
ScienceDirect
Access to more than 1,700 health science journals and eBooks, some of which are full-text. Ivy Tech access is limited to Open Access Journal Titles.

Electronic Books

The library provides access to numerous eBooks on health and medicine topics. You can search for eBook titles in the eBook collections below or search the Ivy Tech statewide catalog, IvyCat by author, title, or subject and select "Electronic Resources" for location.

Credo Medical Reference Collection
A collection of online reference books which includes a section on medicine.
DSM-5 Library (Psychiatry Online)
A comprehensive resource used by mental health professionals, this resource includes the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition), the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and the DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
eBook Central (ProQuest)
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.

Streaming Video

Local Health Information

Global Health Information

Coronavirus Information

Covid-19 Mapped Out
Coronavirus update page, by Johns Hopkins University
National Institutes of Health Information Page
A Guide to COVID-19 (coronavirus disease 2019) for Libraries, including information from the CDC and WHO.
FEMA COVID-19 Rumor Control
The purpose of this FEMA page is to help the public distinguish between rumors and facts regarding the response to coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
Coronavirus Misinformation
All the news and information sites in the U.S., the U.K., France, Italy, and Germany that we have identified — 140 so far — as publishing materially false information about the virus.
Navigating the Infodemic
How people in six countries access and rate news and information about coronavirus
COVID Explained
Written by a team of researchers and students at Brown, MIT, Harvard, Mass General and elsewhere.
Sifting Through the Pandemic
SIFT: Stop, Investigate the source, Find better coverage, and Trace claims, quotes and media to the original context.
United Nations iLibrary Covid-19 results
United Nations papers written about a variety of topics interwoven with the coronavirus affecting the world.
more...less...
Examples include economies, education, civil rights, etc.