Federal Websites - Health Sciences - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

Health Statistics Tutorial

Finding and Using Health Statistics
This online tutorial, provided by the National Library of Medicine, describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
US DHHS - Health Data This site brings together key health and human services data and statistics. It is designed to complement other government resources such as FirstGov and FastStats. The Gateway covers federal, state and local government sponsored information.
AHRQ Agency for Health Care Research & Quality Provides information on such areas as disaster preparedness, quality and patient safety, datasets and research findings.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Data (SAMHSA) Provides the latest national data on substance abuse and mental health issues.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality This site contains many helpful reports related to healthcare access and utilization.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey from AHRQ MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
Health Resources and Services Administration Data Reports and data about access to care and other healthcare disparity issues.
HealthFinder.gov "An award-winning Federal Web site for consumers, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services together with other Federal agencies. It links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,500 health-related organizations."

Some Health Statistics Resources

Public Health Partners
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries
more...less...
The Partners Web site provides links to information in 10 main categories:
• Health Promotion and Health Education
• Literature and Guidelines
• Health Data Tools and Statistics
• Grants and Funding
• Education and Training
• Legislation
• Conferences and Meetings
• Finding People
• Discussion and E-mail Lists
• Jobs and Careers
In addition it provides public health topic pages
and news as well as links to several Partners-supported initiatives such as the Healthy People 2010 Information Access Project, the Public
Health Information and Data: Training Manual
and online tutorial, and the Resource Guide for
Public Health Preparedness.
US Census Bureau The primary source for United States Census data, covering a wide range of topics/issues. PHPartners offers training and education videos on finding needed census data.
Health Insurance (US Census Bureau) Provides the latest statistics on income, poverty and health insurance coverage in the United States.

Evaluating Health Websites

Evaluating Health Information
MedlinePlus -- a suite of videos and tutorials about evaluating different types of health information by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health

National Institutes of Health

National Institutes of Health NIH's mission is science in pursuit of fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to extend healthy life and reduce the burdens of illness and disability.
National Library of Medicine The Worlds largest medical library.
MedlinePlus Maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Covers over 700 diseases and conditions.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) HSR Information Central was developed to serve the information needs of the health services research community. This site includes links to data sources and tools useful for health services research.
National Institute of Nursing Research "Promotes research in the following areas: Promoting Health and Preventing Disease, Improving Quality of Life, Eliminating Health Disparities, Setting Directions for End-of-Life Research"
Health Services Research Projects in Progress Information about all health services research and public health projects.
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) conducts and supports basic and applied research to better understand, treat, and ultimately prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases.
National Heart Lung & Blood Institute (NHLBI) provides leadership for a national program in diseases of the heart, blood vessels, lung, and blood; blood resources; and sleep disorders

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention National clearing house for information on infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, disabilities, and environmental health threats
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Data National data and statistics on matters of public health importance.
Data 2010 (CDC Healthy People 2010 Database) The Healthy People 2010 report contains 467 objectives that identify specific measures to monitor health. Data for the population-based objectives is presented separately for select populations, such as racial, gender, educational attainment, or income.
National Center for Health Statistics The US' principal health statistics agency, NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve health and healthcare. A unique public resource for health information.
FastStats by topic
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System The nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Established in 1984 with 15 states, BRFSS now collects data in all 50 states as well as the District of Columbia and three U.S. territories. BRFSS completes more than 400,000 adult interviews each year, making it the largest continuously conducted health survey system in the world.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) The NHANES program is unique in that it combines interviews with physical examinations and laboratory studies. NHANES adopted these three data collection modes to maximize the efficiency, quality, and accuracy of data collected.

More Federal Government Web Sites

Health Resources and Services Administration The primary Federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.
FDA Consumer Updates Updates on foods, illnesses related to food and drugs.