A-Z List of Databases

All | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
 

 

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)​​
    • Comprehensive academic database providing full text for more than 4600 journals dating back to 1975
  • African American Experience
    • The widest depth and breadth of information available of any online database collection on African American history and culture. Mostly secondary sources; recommended for introductory research.
  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCO)
    • Drug information written for consumers. Search by condition or drug name. English/Spanish versions. Includes How To instructions for administering medications; also Beers Criteria identifying adverse effects in elderly.
  • America's Historical Newspapers (NewsBank)
    • Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources.
  • Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO)
    • Extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines with full text for almost 1,200 journals
  • Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO)
    • Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, with overview articles, news, and trade publications
  • Audio Archive
    • This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download. 

Return to Top

​​B

 

  • Biography in Context (Gale)
    • Start here when researching people or categories of people (such as notable women). Searches books, magazines, journals, and websites. ADA compliant. Not compatible with Chrome browser.
  • Biography Resource Center (EBSCO)
    • This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. The database includes coverage of several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
  • Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO)
    • Search over 100 medical journals, many peer-reviewed, many full-text. A subset of MEDLINE for students, researchers, and practitioners in the medical sciences.
  • Bridgeman Art Library (Credo/xreferplus)
    • Unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties, eras, and cultures. Entries: 66,919 Images: 66,934 People: 33,040
  • Britannica Online
    • Academic edition, with signed articles by leading scholars. Recommended for topic overviews.
  • Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
    • News, Trade, and Academic sources focused on business. Less than two weeks delay. Includes Company and Industry profiles. Recommended for research at all levels.

Return to Top

 

  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    • Newspaper, published monthly. The premier source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty, staff and administrators. Includes an archive of past issues. Recommended for educators.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
    • ​Academic and professional journals, magazines, books, theses, and CEUs for Nursing and allied health professions.
  • CQ Encyclopedia of American Government
    • Encyclopedia of American Government - Answering your questions about American democracy
  • CQ Researcher
    • Reports on, and explanation of, contemporary topics. Recommended for topic overviews and for argumentative essays.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
    • Periodicals covering all communication and media topics. Search using the same interface as other EBSCO databases.
  • Contemporary Authors (Gale)
    • Find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.
  • CREDO Reference
    • 600+ electronic reference books. Search within multiple sources using keywords, or browse topics in different subjects. Recommended for introductory research in all topics.

Return to Top

  • eBook Collection (EBSCO)
    • Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas, strongest in liberal arts. Also has an App for mobile devices
  • eBook Central
    • Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas
  • EBSCOhost
    • Portal to all EBSCO databases; select as appropriate from this entry page
  • EBSCO Management Collection
    • Articles and company profiles. Search using the standard EBSCO interface.
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    • Index of journal articles, reports, conference papers and other materials relating to education; many peer-reviewed, many full text. Includes the What Works Clearinghouse of practices reviewed for standards of evidence. Search using standard EBSCO interface, use the direct link for advanced searching options. Recommended for research in Education at all levels.
  • ERIC (direct link to government site)
    • Advanced search interface for index of journal articles, reports, conference papers and other materials relating to education; many peer-reviewed, many full text. Includes the What Works Clearinghouse of practices reviewed for standards of evidence. Recommended for research in Education at all levels.

Return to Top

 

 

 

  • Gale Virtual Reference
    • A collection of reference works related primarily to law and criminal justice (complete list of resources is available)

  • GCF Learn Free
    • Collection of free tutorials on basic student skills, includes using a computer, typing, reading, and math. Recommended for anyone uncomfortable with computers.
  • Global Road Warrior
    • Provides a broad range of practical information, available in twenty broad subject categories, for over 175 countries.
  • Google Books
    • Search engine for full text or partial text of electronic books, plus the ability to locate specific books in libraries near you.
  • Google Image Search
    • The most comprehensive image search on the web.
  • Google Scholar
    • Search engine for scholarly resources available on the web, including articles and book chapters. Some are free full-text and some are not; links to Ivy Tech databases when articles are available there
  • GreenFILE (EBSCO)
    • Articles and government documents covering environmental issues, including health effects. Search using the standard EBSCO interface.

Return to Top

 

  • Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale)
    • Health-related information for consumers and researchers, from a variety of publication formats: books, periodicals, pamphlets, websites. Includes Alternative Medicine, and Drugs & Herbs.
  • Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO)
    • Full text articles of 130 periodicals exploring the business of health care administration. Search using the standard EBSCO interface.
  • Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
    • Searches periodicals, books, reports, websites, newswires and more. Select clinical reports, reviews, case studies, overviews, editorials and more. Dates range from "past week" to past decades. Some full-text content is embargoed. For Nursing & Health professionals, researchers, and students. Keyword and topical searching, with topic mapping.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
    • Searches scholarly, professional, and general periodicals on health topics. Includes some embargoed full-text content. Uses the standard EBSCO interface.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
    • Searches expanded collection of scholarly, professional, and general periodicals on health topics. Includes less embargoed full-text content. Uses the standard EBSCO interface.
  • History & Politics Out Loud
    • Here, you can listen to famous speeches made by influential leaders of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. We're offering original audio tapes of how JFK dealt with the Cuban Missile Crisis. You can also hear Dr. Martin Luther King's famous "I Have a Dream" speech. Use these resources to bring history and politics alive! Listening to these historically famous speeches out loud can be truly inspirational for both students and educators alike. In addition to the original audio of the speeches, you will also find transcriptions beneath the audio player, so that you can follow along as you hear some of the world's greatest speakers address political issues of the 1900s and 2000s.
  • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center (EBSCO)
    • How-to instructions and creative ideas for hobbies, crafts and DIY at all levels including children's, in full text from leading periodicals. Search a theme across all crafts or search within one area. Recommended for school teachers.
  • Home Improvement Reference Center (EBSCO)
    • Searches trade and professional publications covering all areas of home maintenance and remodeling, plus creative ideas for decorating. Includes videos and full-text print materials. Search a style across all categories or search within electrical, woodworking, etc. using the standard EBSCO interface.
  • Humanities E-Books (HEB) ACLS ​
    • 5000+ scholarly books in full text, online or downloadable, covering all areas of the humanities and social sciences. Titles are chosen by scholars as important to further scholarship; includes classic works. Search full texts by keyword, or browse titles or authors. Recommended for course reserves. Website is ADA compliant.

Return to Top

 

  • Image Collection (EBSCO)
    • The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
  • Indiana History Online (Gale)
    • Digital archive documenting Indiana history from the 1600s to the 1870s. Primary sources include almanacs, memoirs, travelogues, treaties, speeches, sermons, political pamphlets. Includes overview essays and teaching tips. Recommended for historical research and for educators.
  • Informe Academico (Gale)
    • Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines, offering a wide range of content both from and about Latin America. Spanish language search interface. Recommended for ESL, Spanish language, and Latin American studies.
  • INSPIRE
    • Indiana State Library's collection of databases free to all residents. Includes Spanish, Portuguese, and French language databases. Recommended for all academic subjects at all levels. Also consumer research, genealogy and local history.
  • IvyCat
    • Find books and eBooks. View your library account and renew materials.

Return to Top

 

  • Library, Information Science & Technology (EBSCO)
    • Indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
  • Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
    • This robust full-text database provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
  • Literary Sources (Gale)
    • Search biographical and critical sources on authors and titles; search across literary works. Recommended for introductory research and digital humanities research.
  • LitFinder (Gale)
    • Short stories, essays, poems, plays, speeches, and commentary; many full text. Plus reference sources on authors and their works.

Return to Top

 

  • MAS Ultra-School Edition (EBSCO)
    • Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and more. Recommended for Educators.
  • MasterFILE Premier(EBSCO)
    • Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for over 1500 periodicals dating back to 1975. Also full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 160,000 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of nearly 600,000 photos, maps, & flags. Updated daily.
  • McClatchy-Tribune Collection (EBSCO)
    • 90-day archive of approximately 300 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. Updated daily. Recommended for any research needing current news.
  • Medline (EBSCO)
    • Indexes journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, biology, chemistry, and more. Many full text. From the National Library of Medicine. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) with advanced search capabilities. Recommended for research on public safety as well as health sciences.
  • MedlinePlus.gov
    • Consumer-oriented database of health-medical videos and tools from U.S. National Library of Medicine
  • Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)
    • Indexes more than 140 popular, middle school magazines in full text. Assigns a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also thousands of biographies and historical essays in full text. 100,000+ primary source documents, and Image Collection of photos, maps, and flags. Recommended for teachers.
  • Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
    • Full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 academic journals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Recommended for current news and for applied science topics.
  • Military & Intelligence Collection (Gale)
    • Discover a collection of authoritative periodical and scholarly journals. 

  • Military & Intelligence Database (Gale)
    • Discover a comprehensive periodical collection supporting state and military affairs.
  • Moving Image Archive
    • This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Return to Top

 

  • NAXOS Spoken Word Library
    • Catalog of audiobooks, includes fiction, non-fiction, poetry, etc.
  • NAXOS Music Library
    • Vast catalog of streaming music selections with emphasis on Classical. Access individual works or playlists
  • NAXOS Music Library Jazz
    • Over 185,000 tracks of top jazz music from 400 labels.
  • NAXOS Video Library
    • The world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.
  • NewsBank (America's Historical Newspapers)
    • Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources . Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts and pro/con articles of events, issues and daily life in the colonies or during the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I, the Great Depression, Vietnam War, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Cold War, globalization and other eras. Also included are illustrations, advertisements, classifieds, birth and marriage announcements, obituaries, stories about historic people and other articles exactly as they appeared in print .
  • Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
    • Searches Newspapers plus TV & Radio news transcripts. Full text of 40+ (U.S.) & international newspapers; selective text of 400 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Recommended for current news
  • NoodleTools
    • NoodleTools is an online research management platform that promotes critical thinking and authentic research. Students stay organized as they evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. Quickly and easily generate accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago citations!
  • Nursing and Allied Health (Gale)
    • Article database, searching periodicals on all aspects of nursing and allied health sciences. Scholarly, Trade, and Consumer publications, includes children's. Search by keyword, Topic finder, Lexile level. Recommended for any level of research.
  • Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
    • Searches Journals and Dissertations in Nursing, allied health, Alternative and Complementary medicine. Also Cultural reports, Training videos, Study paths. For researchers and practitioners.
  • Nursing Resource Center (Gale)
    • Focus is on community college level resources and can include journal articles, diagnostics, care plans, multimedia, etc.
  • NYPL Digital Gallery
    • Free online access to hundreds of thousands of digital images. Includes manuscripts, photos, maps, ephemera; many dating to 1700s. Search by keyword or browse by subject. Recommended for American history topics.

Return to Top

 

Return to Top

 

  • PowerSearch (Gale)
    • Browses through more than 20,000 publications, providing the ability to search across more than 150 million documents.
  • Primary Search (EBSCO)
    • Full text elementary school magazines with reading level indicators (Lexiles). Full text information dates as far back as 1990. Recommended for elementary school research.
  • Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
    • Collection of high quality journals for the education profession. Topics from early childhood to collegiate levels. Recommended for Educators.
  • ProQuest
    • Portal to all ProQuest databases; select as appropriate from this entry page
  • PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
    • Full text, peer reviewed, scholarly, and scientific journals on all aspects of psychology. Recommended for psychology research.
  • Publication Finder
    • Search or browse by Title or Topic for journals, newspapers, and conference proceedings that we subscribe to online. Most are full text. Recommended for starting a research project.

Return to Top

 

  • Regional Business News (EBSCO)
    • Business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering city and rural areas in the U.S.
  • Research Library (ProQuest)
    • Scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines covering the top 150 core academic subject reference areas. Help Guide available.

 

 

  • Science in Context (Gale)
    • Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, by integrating authoritative reference content with headlines and videos. Shows how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity. Recommended for introductory research and class presentations.
  • Skillsoft Books (formally known as Books 24/7) 
    • Searchable, full-text books on business, computing, and technology. Read online, few downloads. Users are able to authenticate into a personal account using Ivy Tech login credentials.
  • Small Business Resource Center (Gale)
    • Searches encyclopedias, directories, journals, How-To guides, business plans, and websites. Recommended for business research at any level.

Return to Top

 

  • Test Prep Review
    • Your Source for Free Online Practice Tests

  • Testing & Education Reference Center (Gale)
    • Practice tests for High School equivalency, College entrance, Grad school entrance, and many professional certifications. CLEP, SAT, GMAT, GRE, Accounting, Firefighter, etc.
  • TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
    • 90,000+ full-text articles from diverse sources on current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the grades 5-12 classroom. Search by topic. Recommended for Educators and beginning research.
  • TreeFinder
    • Online guide to identifying trees. Interface uses a series of illustrated questions leading to the identification. Also a mobile App. Recommended for educators.

Return to Top

 

  • U.S. Government Documents
    • Official U.S. Government Documents from all three branches, from 1780s to present. Includes current CFR plus historical documents, many in downloadable files. Simple search by KW, browse topics, or choose by publication title. Also advanced searching and help. Recommended for accessing the text of a law or regulation, and for analysis of legislation in process such as CBO scores.

 

 

  • WorldCat
    • Search library catalogs from around the world. Useful for Interlibrary Loan.

Return to Top