A - Z List Box - Evansville

A-Z List of Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
 
A
B
  • Biography In Context (GALE)
    A great resource for researching biographical information on a specific person or category of people (such as notable women)
  • Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO)
    Combination of in-depth, original profiles and periodicals coverage, with full-text articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries
  • Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)
    A collection of full-text and unique narrative biographies, including coverage for many of the most popular and heavily researched individuals and genres
  • Blue Link 
    Human anatomy resource created by the University of Michigan Medical School
  • Britannica Online
    Academic encyclopedia; search or browse subject descriptions, biographies, quotations, videos and other media
  • Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
    World's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content
  • Business Wire News (EBSCO)
    Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications
C
D
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    An online directory of open-access, peer-reviewed journals
  • Duolingo
    A free, web-based language learning tool.  It allows users to set their own goals and pace.  Lessons are presented in small, fun, and manageable sections
E
  • Ebook Central (ProQuest)
    Digital library that provides access to thousands of full-text, scholarly e-books on a variety of topics
  • EBSCO eBooks (EBSCO)
    Full-text, scholarly reference eBooks generated by university and professional publishers
  • EBSCO Management Collection (EBSCO)
    Full text articles from nearly 1200 magazines and journals designed for the diverse information needs of today's companies
  • EBSCOHost (EBSCO)
    A collection of databases containing full-text articles from thousands of magazines, journals, and newspapers covering a wide range of subjects
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source (EBSCO)
    Provides the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business.
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    Education Resource Information Center containing links to more than 337,00 full-text academic documents
  • ERIC (direct link to government site)
    Education database maintained by the Institute of Education Sciences
  • Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO)
    A unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada
F
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)
    Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews
  • Films on Demand (Infobase)
    Master Academic and Career & Technical Education packages. Thousands of streaming videos covering topics in humanities, social sciences, science, business and economics, health and medicine, technical education and trade skills, family and consumer science, vocational guidance (careers), and more
  • Films on Demand Archival Films & Newsreels (Infobase)
    A treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources
G
  • Google Arts & Culture
    More than 40,000 high-resolution images of artwork from around the globe
  • Google Scholar
    Search engine for scholarly resources available on the web (some free, some not); links to Ivy Tech databases when articles are available
H
  • Hathi Trust
    Collaborative archive resource containing a wide range of digitized materials from more than 90 institutions
  • Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO)
    Full-text articles from 130 periodical titles exploring the business of health care administration
  • Health Reference Center Academic (GALE)
    Periodicals and reference book content supporting research in health studies
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
    Full-text articles from 190 journals discussing health care questions
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
    Peer-reviewed and full-text articles pertaining to nursing and allied health topics
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center (GALE)
    Searchable medical and health-related information from a variety of current publications
  • HighWire Press
    Division of the Stanford University Libraries producing free online versions of peer-reviewed journals and scholarly content
  • Hippocampus
    Academic website that provides free multimedia content on general education subjects
  • History Reference Center (EBSCO)
    Academic website that provides free multimedia content on general education subjects
  • Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center (EBSCO)
    An INSPIRE resource covering numerous craft-related categories, from needlework to gardening to scrapbooking and more
  • Home Improvement Reference Center (EBSCO)
    An informational INSPIRE resource containing home improvement ideas and techniques
  • Hoosier State Chronicles
    Indiana's historic digital historic newspaper program
  • Human Anatomy Learning Modules 
    Human anatomy resource from the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmoth that includes practice quizzes
  • Humanities Ebook (ACLS)
    Nearly 2,000 full-text ebooks  covering humanities disciplines: history, philosophy, religion, visual arts, performing arts, language and literature
  • Humanities Full Text (H. W. Wilson) (EBSCO)
     Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed
I
  • Image Collection (EBSCO)
    Searchable collection of more than 1 million images, photographs and maps
  • Indiana History Online
    Personal narratives, memoirs, pamphlets, political speeches, sermons, songs, legal treatises and other documents related to Indiana history
  • Indiana Memory
    A collaborative effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions.
  • INFORME! (GALE)
    A collection of Spanish language publications
  • INSPIRE
    State-sponsored collection of databases (free to Indiana citizens); includes Biography Resource Center, Career Collection, Lit Finder, journals, encyclopedias and more
  • IvyCat
    The Ivy Tech online library catalog; can be used to search for physical library materials as well as eBooks
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO)
    Definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts
J
  • Journal of Green Building
    Current research findings and new directions related to green building; peer-reviewed articles from authors in the fields of construction, building science, engineering, architecture, construction management, design, and facilities management; full text issues available from 2006 to current

K
  • Khan Academy
    Academic website that provides free multimedia content and presentations on general education subjects
L
  • LibGuides
    Subject-based online research guides created by Ivy Tech librarians and faculty members
  • Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
    Contains plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticisms, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, author interviews, classic texts and much more
  • LitFinder (GALE)
    Short stories, poems, essays, plays, speeches and literary commentary
M
  • MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCO)
    This database includes literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries, as well as biographies and author essays
  • MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
    Digital collection of full-text magazines, reference texts and primary source documents
  • Medcom Video Training Programs Collection (ProQuest)
    Video database covering a variety a healthcare-centered subjects
  • MEDLINE w/ Full Text (EBSCO)
    Full-text database providing access to top-tier biomedical and health journals
  • MedlinePlus
    Patient-oriented site produced by the National Library of Medicine 
  • Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
    Current news collection of periodicals and academic journals pertaining to all branches of the military and government
N
O
P
  • Play Index (H. W. Wilson) (EBSCO)
    Over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present.  Covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama
  • Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO)
    Presents multiple sides of an issue and provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills
  • Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
    A collection of high-quality journals geared toward professions in education
  • PsychARTICLES (EBSCO)
    Full-text, peer reviewed, scholarly and scientific articles; most published by the American Psychological Association
  • Publication Finder
    Search a comprehensive, indexed database of all online journal titles available in full text
  • PubMed Central
    National Institutes of Health digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature
R
  • Read It! (EBSCO)
    A resource designed for anyone with a foundation in English grammar and reading but needing adapted reading material for a variety of subjects
  • Readers' Guide Full Text Select (H. W. Wilson) (EBSCO)
    Provides searchable full text for a broad selection of the most-wanted popular periodicals
  • Referencia Latina (EBSCO)
    Providing Spanish-language, multidisciplinary content for the research needs of the Spanish-speaking community
  • Regional Business News (EBSCO)
    Regional business publications covering all areas covering metropolitan and rural areas across the United States
  • Research Library (ProQuest)
    Academic and popular articles covering a range of disciplines
  • Rosetta Stone Library Solution (EBSCO)
    Resource to learn over 30 foreign languages (works best with Firefox)
S
  • Science Reference Center (EBSCO)
    Provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content
  • Short Story Index (H. W. Wilson) (EBSCO)
    Index of all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year
  • Skillsoft Books (Skillsoft)
    Thousands of ebooks, audio books, and videos on topics of business, management, computers and computing, engineering, and health and wellness. Users are able to authenticate into a personal account using MyIvy credentials
  • Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO)
    Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites
  • Small Business Resource Center (GALE)
    Searches encyclopedias, directories, journals, How-To guides, business plans, and websites. Recommended for business research at any level
T
  • Testing & Education Reference Center
    A testing resource that provides materials  for High School, College Prep, Grad Schools, Career Guidance and International tests and certifications. Includes tests, courses ebooks, school information, resume help, and more
  • TreeFinder
    Tree identification resource
  • Tutor.com - Free Online Tutoring
    Did you know that you can access free, online tutoring 24/7 via Tutor.com? You can upload assignments, chat with a live tutor, and even submit papers for review! To connect with this 100% free service, login to IvyLearn
U
W
  • World Factbook
    Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, etc. of entities across the world; government site maintained by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) of the United States
  • WorldCat
    An extensive catalog of libraries from around the globe