Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Biology Resources
Biology Web Services
Provides information and links to a variety of bioscience websites
NatureServe Explorer an Online Encyclopedia of Life
An authoritative source for information on more than 60,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada
NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology Information
Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.
The Biological Resources Discipline (BRD) of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) works with others to provide the scientific understanding and technologies needed to support the sound management and conservation of our Nation's biological resources.
Botanical Society of America
References for Indiana botany resources
Botany Virtual Library List
List of websites for Botany
The New York Botanical Garden International Plant Science Center
This website offers plant research resources such as a global herbaria database, the Index to American Botanical Literature, and a plant specimen database.
PLANTanswers is a reference service offered by the Texas Agricultural Extension Service.
The PLANTS Database includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools. From the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Natural Resources Conservation Service.
Plants in Motion
A collection of time-lapse movies that demonstrate various phases of plant growth.
Genetic Science Learning Center
Helping people understanding how genetics affects our lives and society
National Human Genome Research Institute
"With the human genome sequence complete since April 2003, scientists around the world have access to a database that greatly facilitates and accelerates the pace of biomedical research. The history of the HGP, the history of genomics, and the history of NHGRI, are inextricably intertwined."
Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement
"...experience the unfiltered story of American eugenics – primarily through materials from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, which was the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940."
Resource for the study of cells
The Microbiology Information Portal
This searchable directory of microbiology resources includes links to sites about specific microbiology disciplines (environmental, food, industrial, medical, veterinary), education, employment, organizations, companies, publications, news, events, articles, and FAQs.
Explore the podcasts and videos available on the site, including podcasts on virology, microbiology, and bacteria and video documentaries about disease and the microbiology of Yellowstone.