Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Autism Spectrum Disorders by This handbook provides an overview of the current scientific understanding of autism spectrum disorders, as well as a cultural and historical perspective on the controversies that plague the field. * Presents diagnostic criteria from the American Psychiatric Association manual * Contains quotations and excerpts from scientific literature and text from court proceedings related to the Vaccine Injury Program * Includes a chronology of important events in the field of autism, beginning in 1910 when the word "autism" was first used * 12 charts, figures, and graphs illustrate autism diagnosis, neuroscience, treatment, prevalence, and cultural factors * Includes reference bibliographies at the end of each chapter, as well as a chapter of annotated print and nonprint resources related to autism
Call Number: RC553.A88 B47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-20
Educating Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders by Similar to a handbook in its comprehensive description of the theory and research supporting current practices in the treatment of autism spectrum disorders, this interdisciplinary text shows how the existing knowledge base can be used to explore promising new possibilities related to the field's many unanswered questions. Key features include the following: Comprehensive- This is the first book to consider the history and current state of autism as a field in transition, to cover its varied approaches and philosophies, and to describe the interventions used throughout the developmental cycle. Cross Disciplinary- Serving students with autism necessitates communication and collaboration among professionals from several disciplines as well as family members. The editors have, therefore, brought together divergent perspectives, theories and philosophies in order to demonstrate that scientific evidence, rather than educational orientation, must determine which practices should be selected for use in particular situations. Research Based- Whereas many existing texts advocate a particular type of treatment, this one recognizes that interventions must be selected and evaluated based on the scientific evidence of their effectiveness. Integrated Methodology-Chapter authors consider findings from studies that employed single-subject designs, experimental large-scale studies, and qualitative methodology. The inter-relatedness of therapies and disciplines will be highlighted throughout. Expertise- The volume editors are all highly visible researchers in autism and developmental disabilities. Likewise, each chapter is directed by a senior, highly accomplished author who is nationally recognized for his/her work in the topic being addressed. This book is appropriate for practicing professionals in education and psychology and for speech/language therapists and other clinicians. It is also suitable as a graduate level text in these fields.
Call Number: LC4717 .E36 2012
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Social Skills and Adaptive Behavior in Learners with Autism Spectrum Disorders by Promoting better social skills and behavior is a top priority for anyone who works with learners with autism--but which practices really improve outcomes? Find out in this cutting-edge volume, a reader-friendly synthesis of the latest findings from more than 20 of today's top researchers in the field. Coordinated by the highly respected Organization for Autism Research, this accessible book is an ideal text for future professionals and essential reading for administrators and consultants in educational settings. Readers will explore current evidence, best-practice recommendations, and future research directions for assessing social skills with evidence-based methods and tools conducting interventions that really make a difference promoting friendships and peer acceptance increasing joint attention implementing schoolwide positive behavior support improving outcomes with Pivotal Response Treatment strengthening children's self-help skills providing effective support for families of children with autism using appropriate pharmacologic interventions to manage symptoms associated with ASD Readers will also get first-hand insights from individuals on the autism spectrum and their family members and service providers, who provide balanced perspectives on today's research trends and practices. A cornerstone resource for current and future professionals working with learners of all ages, this book will help readers understand what really advances the social skills and behavior of students with autism--so they can use effective practices to improve the lives of children and families. With contributions from Shahla Ala'i-Rosales Stephen R. Anderson Joanne Gerenser Connie Kasari Kathleen Koenig Suzanne Letso Erik Mayville Daniel Openden Roy Sanders Ilene Schwartz Mary Jane Weiss Thomas L. Zane and more
Call Number: RJ506.A9 S633 2013
Publication Date: 2012-09-14
Social and Academic Abilities in Children with High-Functioning Autism Spectrum Disorders by A uniquely comprehensive resource for practitioners, this research-based book addresses both the social-emotional and cognitive-academic challenges faced by children and adolescents with high-functioning autism spectrum disorders (HFASD). The author discusses DSM-5 criteria, traces these kids' developmental trajectories, and explores their distinct combination of strengths and needs. Effective school-based interventions for overcoming the social isolation and learning difficulties often associated with HFASD are reviewed in depth. Appendices include concise descriptions of more than 50 relevant assessment tools, plus a detailed, practical outline of the author's empirically supported social intervention model.
Call Number: LC4717 .B38 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-21
The Autism Spectrum by Written for the wide range of physicians and professionals who treat children and adults with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs), this book reviews the scientific research on the nature and causes of autism, outlines best treatment practices with children and describes a comprehensive assessment and treatment approach for adults. Topics covered include: * Classification, epidemiology and diagnosis * Neurodevelopmental abnormalities * Recommendations for early screening and evaluating at-risk children * Early interventions based on applied behavioral analysis * The critical role of special education, speech-language therapy, occupational therapy and assistive technology in treating children * Pharmacotherapy * Complementary and alternative treatments * Development of individualized and person-centered treatments for adults The Autism Spectrum is an invaluable resource for all those working with ASDs including pediatricians, psychiatrists, behavioral psychologists, special educators, nurses and therapists.
Publication Date: 2012-10-11
Counseling People on the Autism Spectrum by The characteristics of autism spectrum disorders (ASD) present unique challenges, not only to people themselves affected, but also to counselling professionals. This manual provides counselling techniques that work not only for professionals, but also for individuals either coping with being on the spectrum themselves, or living with someone who has an ASD. Regardless of intellectual and linguistic ability, people on the autism spectrum often have significant impairments in emotional expression, regulation, and recognition, and they are known to have higher rates of depression and anxiety than the general population. This comprehensive book shows how to develop the tools necessary to help people on the spectrum cope with their emotions, anxieties, and confusion about the often overwhelming world that surrounds them. Illustrated with useful case studies, it covers a range situations where counselling may be helpful for individuals with ASD, both children and adults, families where a member is on the spectrum, and couples where a partner has ASD. It also addresses specific issues, including depression, anxiety, emotional regulation, social skills, and stress, with effective strategies for dealing with each issue. As well as being indispensable for counsellors, this book provides valuable information and advice for anyone working with people and families affected by ASDs.
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
Early Intervention for Young Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder by This book examines early intensive behavioral intervention (EIBI) programs for young children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). It analyzes current research on early intervention (EI) and explains the importance of accurate, timely detection of ASD in facilitating the use of EI. Chapters address five widely researched EIBI approaches: Discrete Trial Training, Pivotal Response Training, the Early Start Denver Model, Prelinguistic Milieu Teaching, and Enhanced Milieu Teaching. This in-depth study of current EIBI approaches offers a rigorous guide to earlier and more intensive interventions for children with ASD, leading to greater autonomy and improved later life outcomes for individuals. Featured topics include: Parent-implemented interventions and related issues. Evaluations of controversial interventions used with children with ASD. Factors contributing to rising ASD prevalence. Obstacles to obtaining accurate ASD diagnosis in young children. Early Intervention for Young Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder is an essential resource for researchers, clinicians, and graduate students in developmental, clinical child, and school psychology, behavioral therapy/rehabilitation, social work, public health, educational policy and politics, and related psychology and behavioral health fields.
Publication Date: 2016-05-24
Essentials of Autism Spectrum Disorders Evaluation and Assessment by With autism spectrum disorders (ASD) on the rise, there is an urgent need for health practitioners to learn about the nature, course, assessment, and diagnosis of the various ASDs. This book addresses the main domains of assessment, defines the purpose of the assessment, suggests test instruments, and includes user-friendly features such as "Don't Forget," "Rapid Reference" boxes and "Test Yourself" questions at the end of each chapter. Mental health practitioners will be equipped with all the information they need to utilize the varied assessments frequently employed in an autism evaluation.
Publication Date: 2012-04-17
Find Books -- Print or Electronic
Books in the library and online:
Use IvyCat to find materials in Ivy Tech Libraries and to link to ebooks.
Use this IvyCat quick search box for a search limited to ebooks: