The Power of Different by
A powerful and inspiring examination of the connection between the potential for great talent and conditions commonly thought to be "disabilities," revealing how the source of our struggles can be the origin of our greatest strengths. InThe Power of Different, psychiatrist and bestselling author Gail Saltz examines the latest scientific discoveries, profiles famous geniuses who have been diagnosed with all manner of brain "problems"--including learning disabilities, ADD, anxiety, Depression, Bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and Autism--and tells the stories of lay individuals to demonstrate how specific deficits in certain areas of the brain are directly associated with the potential for great talent. Saltz shows how the very conditions that cause people to experience difficulty at school, in social situations, at home, or at work, are inextricably bound to creative, disciplinary, artistic, empathetic, and cognitive abilities. In this pioneering work, readers will find engaging scientific research and stories from historical geniuses and everyday individuals who have not only made the most of their conditions, but who have flourishedbecause of them. They are leaning into their brain differences to: *Identify areas of interest and expertise *Develop work arounds *Create the environments that best foster their talents *Forge rewarding interpersonal relationships Enlightening and inspiring,The Power of Different proves that the unique wiring of every brain can be a source of strength and productivity, and contributes to the richness of our world.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Psychological Issues, 19/e Expanded by
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create(tm) includes current controversial issues in a debate-style forma designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an "Exploring the Issue" section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, Additional Resources, and Internet References. Go to the Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create(tm) at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com/takingsides and click on "Explore this Collection" to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire Gantt, Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Psychological Issues, 19/e Expanded book here at http://create.mheducation.com/createonline/index.html#qlink=search%2Ftext%3Disbn:1259431614 for an easy, pre-built teaching resource. Visit http://create.mheducation.com for more information on other McGraw-Hill titles and special collections.
Taking Sides by
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create(tm) includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create, or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issues is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources and Internet References. Go to McGraw-Hill Create(tm) at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com, click on the "Collections" tab, and select The Taking Sides Collection to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire Behan: Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Special Education, 7/e ExpressBook for an easy, pre-built teaching resource by clicking here. An online Instructor's Resource Guide with testing material is available for each Taking Sides volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit the Create Central Online Learning Center at www.mhhe.com/createcentral for more details.
A Spectrum Approach to Mood Disorders by
Though the DSM discusses the criteria for mood disorders in absolute terms--either present or absent--professionals are aware that while such dichotomies are useful for teaching, they are not always true in practice. Recent genetic data support clinicians' longstanding recognition that a continuum of mood disorders between unipolar and bipolar better matches reality than a yes/no, bipolar-or-not approach. If we acknowledge that continuum, how does this affect our approach to diagnosis and treatment? In A Spectrum Approach to Mood Disorders, nationally recognized expert James Phelps provides an in-depth exploration of the signs, symptoms, and nuanced presentations of the mood disorder spectrum, focusing on the broad gray area between Major Depression and Bipolar I. Combining theoretical understanding and real-world scenarios, Phelps offers practical treatment guidelines for clinicians to better understand the subtle ways mood disorders can show up, and how to find the most beneficial path for treatment based on the patient's individual pattern of symptoms. Is it trauma, or is it bipolar? Borderline? Both? Phelps's expertise and wealth of personal experience provides readers with unparalleled insight into a subject that is by nature challenging to define. His emphasis on non-medication approaches, as well as chapters on all the major pill-based treatments (from fish oil to lithium to the avoidance of atypical antipsychotics and antidepressants), creates a comprehensive resource for any clinician working with patients on the mood spectrum. Appendices on the relationship between bipolar diagnosis, politics, and religion; and a plain-English approach to the statistical perils of bipolar screening, offer further value. Phelps has written an invaluable guide of the critical information professionals need to treat patients on the mood disorder spectrum, as well as a useful tool for highly motivated families and patients to better understand the mood disorder that effects their lives. This book seeks to alter the black and white language surrounding these mood disorders to influence a shift in how patients are diagnosed--to insure that treatment matches their specific needs.
How to Reach and Teach Children and Teens with ADD/ADHD by
The most up-to-date and comprehensive vital resource for educators seeking ADD/ADHD-supportive methods How to Reach and Teach Children and Teens with ADD/ADHD, Third Edition is an essential guide for school personnel. Approximately 10 percent of school-aged children have ADD/ADHD'that is at least two students in every classroom. Without support and appropriate intervention, many of these students will suffer academically and socially, leaving them at risk for a variety of negative outcomes. This book serves as a comprehensive guide to understand and manage ADHD: utilizing educational methods, techniques, and accommodations to help children and teens sidestep their weaknesses and showcase their numerous strengths. This new 2016 edition has been completely updated with the latest information about ADHD, research-validated treatments, educational laws, executive function, and subject-specific strategies. It also includes powerful case studies, intervention plans, valuable resources, and a variety of management tools to improve the academic and behavioral performance of students from kindergarten through high-school. From learning and behavioral techniques to whole group and individualized interventions, this indispensable guide is a must-have resource for every classroom'providing expert tips and strategies on reaching kids with ADHD, getting through, and bringing out their best. Prevent behavioral problems in the classroom and other school settings Increase students' on-task behavior, work production, and academic performance Effectively manage challenging behaviors related to ADHD Improve executive function-related skills (organization, memory, time management) Apply specific research-based supports and interventions to enable school success Communicate and collaborate effectively with parents, physicians, and agencies
ADHD by
Now in paperback, this concise and highly accessible book contains everything that parents and busy professionals need to know about ADHD. The author describes the spectrum of ADHD, the co-occurring symptoms, and common difficulties that parents face. The rest of the book focuses on solutions, based around four rules. Rule number one is keeping it positive: punishments can change behavior, but only positive approaches can improve attitude. Rule number two is keeping it calm: it's difficult thinking clearly enough to solve problems logically if you are feeling overwhelmed. Rule number three is keeping it organized: this rule relates particularly to the child's school life. Rule number four is to keep doing rules one to three. Finally, Dr. Kutscher discusses the role of medication for treating ADHD. The concluding chapter summarizes the information covered and can also be read as a complete, freestanding text. Useful checklists and further reading recommendations are also included. Realistic and optimistic, this book is the ideal source of information and advice for parents and professionals who are trying to keep up with children who are living without brakes.
The ADHD Book of Lists by
Practical ADHD management techniques for parents and teachers The ADHD Book of Lists is a comprehensive guide to ADHD/ADD, providing the answers parents, teachers, and other caregivers seek in a convenient list format. This new second edition has been updated with the latest research findings and resources, including the most up to date tools and strategies for helping these children succeed. Each aspect of ADHD/ADD is fully explained, from diagnosis to intervention, providing readers with the insight they need to make the best choices for the affected child. Coverage includes the latest medications and behavioral management techniques that work inside and outside the classroom, plus guidance toward alleviating individual struggles including inattention, impulsivity, executive function and subject-specific academic issues. Readers learn how to create a collaborative care team by bringing parents, teachers, doctors, therapists, and counselors on board to build a comprehensive management plan, as well as the practical techniques they can use every day to provide these children the support they need to be their very best. Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder cannot be cured, but it can be managed successfully. This book is an insightful guide to supporting children and teens with ADHD, and giving them the mental, emotional, and practical tools that boost their confidence and abilities and enable them to thrive. Investigate comprehensive treatments, including ADHD coaching Learn strategies for strengthening organization, working memory and other executive functions. Understand effective classroom management of students with ADHD Discover ways to help struggling children succeed despite the challenges The ADHD Book of Lists is the complete easy-to-reference guide to practical ADHD management and will be a go-to resource for parents, teachers, clinicians, and others involved in the care and education of students with ADHD.
Essentials of ADHD Assessment for Children and Adolescents by
A comprehensive approach to accurate ADHD diagnosis In Essentials of ADHD Assessment in Children and Adolescents, the authors provide a clear and informative road map for practitioners seeking to conduct state-of-the-art assessments for one of the most common disorders of childhood. Drawing upon years of experience in conducting diagnostic evaluations of ADHD following best-practice standards, they emphasize the importance of a comprehensive evaluation, incorporating data from multiple sources, using multiple methods, and interpreting findings within the appropriate developmental and cultural contexts. The major components of an ADHD evaluation (interviews, rating scales, cognitive testing, observation, record review) are reviewed in detail. Expert guidance is provided for resolving the most common challenges in assessing ADHD, including differentiating symptoms from normal development, dealing with discrepant data, differential diagnosis, and considering comorbidity. The latest scholarly literature is integrated with the authors' practical recommendations to provide clinicians with the concepts and tools needed for effective and accurate assessment of ADHD, addressing such topics as: When inattention is ADHD, and when it may be emotional or neurological Which disorders may masquerade as or present with ADHD The elements of accurate ADHD testing and the reasons behind them Integrating results of a multi-modal approach into an ADHD assessment An indispensable professional resource for practicing clinicians, Essentials of ADHD Assessment for Children and Adolescents is a reader-friendly guide to providing a thorough, responsible ADHD evaluation.
From Scattered to Centered by
Scattered to Centered is a practical and thought-provoking guide to help you recognize, understand and thrive with adult ADHD. Starting with a self-assessment survey to explain symptoms, you then learn the neuroscience behind them in clear, easily understood language. Whether you have ADHD or just find that the complexities of modern life have left you struggling with inefficiency and disorganization, this workbook can help you to rewire your brain and relax into the life of ease you desire. * Take the thinking out of remembering * Stop wasting time looking for lost items Reduce physical and mental stress * Learn the keys to motivation and follow-through * Find inner peace and focus * Be present and effective in communication * Live a productive and rewarding life * 30-day exercises to organize the brain
Books in the library and online:
Use IvyCat to find materials in Ivy Tech Libraries and to link to ebooks.
Use this IvyCat quick search box for a search limited to ebooks:
