Academic Databases

Gale Reference Tools

 

Biography in Context-search for the world's most influential and engaging people
Gale Literary Sources-collects all of Gale's literary databases and consolidates them into one searchable database
Gale Virtual Reference Library-a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multi-disciplinary research
Opposing Viewpoints-discover differing opinions on hundreds of today's most debated issues

Proquest

 

The Arts-over 1100 publications ranging from scholarly journals to newspapers covering the arts
Literature and Language-this database covers publications on literature and language; 900 scholarly journals and counting
Social Sciences-this database covers publications on social science information for researchers of all levels

Reference Tools

Britannica Encyclopedia-academic encyclopedia
Credo Reference- find reference books, dictionaries, and encyclopedias

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. You can access the website here!

EBSCOhost

 

EBSCOhost houses some of the most extensive research databases in the nation. Listed below are subject related databases that will help streamline your research.

  • Academic Search Premier-this multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

 

  • MasterFILE Premier-designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

 

  • ERIC-the Education Resource Information Center provides access to education information and research.

 

  • GreenFILE-well researched information covering nearly all aspects of human impact to the environment.

 

  • Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center-provides comprehensive full text content for many of the most popular hobbies, crafts, and recreation activities today.

 

  • Primary Search-provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.

 

  • Professional Development Collection-this database supplies a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

 

  • Social Sciences Full Text-provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English language journals published in the social sciences.

Dictionary & Merck Manual

Having trouble finding a word? Look up the perfect word by accessing these online dictionaries:

Cambridge Dictionary
Dictionary.com
Visuwords

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a free service that indexes abstracts and full text articles across an array of academic topics. You can access Google Scholar here!

Publication Finder

Publication Finder is used to search for journals by title or subject. Begin your search here!