Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HCPCS Level II Professional 2016 (Softbound) by
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! by
Publication Date: 2015-11-14
Calculate correct dosages with safety and confidence, with the easy-to-follow nursing expertise of Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 5th edition . This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text. Your Incredible Easy editors know from experience that learning the basics isn't always easy so you'll find full coverage of topics including: o math basics such as fractions, decimals, and percentages o measurement systems and conversions o calculating oral, topical, liquid, and rectal drug dosages o calculating parenteral injections and IV infusions o calculating pediatric, obstetric, and critical care dosages o recording drug administration An easy-reference format with clearly worded, bulleted content demonstrated with numerous photos, illustrations, and diagrams will give you step-by-step direction on: o calculating dosages of all kinds o starting an infusion, including IV guidelines o choosing administration equipment o dealing with poor handwriting o understanding medication labels and drug Abbreviations o avoiding common drug errors Plus, you'll get all of the learning aids, tips, and tricks that nurses have come to expect from the books in the Incredibly Easy series: * Full-color inserts include: improving patient safety by using infusion devices; the anatomy of a medication label * Appendices include: multiple choice Q&A; drug therapy conversions chart; dosage calculation formulas table; glossary with key terms and definitions * Before you give that drug! - Crucial advice on avoiding medication errors * Advice from the experts - Tips on ensuring accurate dosages * For math phobics only - Hints, tips, and drawings to help you dissolve math obstacles * Dosage drill - Real-life clinical dosage situations to practice your calculation skills on * Memory jogger - Fortifies content with easy-to-remember tips and formulas * Quick quiz - Questions with answers/explanations at end of every chapter to help you remember vital points
Essentials of Human Diseases and Conditions by
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Get a firm grasp of disease and disease process as it relates to your job with Essentials of Human Diseases and Conditions, 6th Edition. Perfectly tailored to the needs to today's medical assistants, this unique text uses simple language and an abundance of learning features as it walks readers through the disease pathology of over 500 common patient conditions. This new sixth edition includes new diseases and conditions, new illustrations, ICD-10-CM codes for every condition, and new critical thinking questions to keep readers up-to-date on the latest pathology topics while helping them apply concepts from the text to clinical practice. Tenth grade reading level utilizes very approachable language to make the text content easy to digest. Enrichment boxes relate disease information to everyday practice. ICD-10-CM codes for each disease give readers ample practice looking up codes in ICD-10-CM. Current information on the most commonly encountered clinical disorders is presented in small segments for easier understanding. Full-color illustrations clarify difficult concepts. Consistent format for all diseases entries walks readers through each step of patient care and treatment, including: Description Symptoms and Signs Patient Screening Etiology Diagnosis Treatment Prognosis Prevention Patient Teaching Pharmacology appendix details drug names, therapeutic objectives, side effects, and general comments for commonly prescribed drugs. Alerts highlight safety precautions for physician-based practice. Review Challenges reinforce content and reveal areas requiring additional study. Real-life Challenges test readers' ability to apply chapter content to real-world cases. NEW! Additional diseases and conditions have been added throughout the text to keep readers up to date on the types of diseases and conditions they will encounter on the job. NEW! Critical thinking questions provide additional opportunities for readers to critically apply the concepts covered in the text.
CPT 2016 Professional Edition by
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
CPT 2016 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services.
Mathematics for the Clinical Laboratory by
Publication Date: 2015-08-19
Filled with easy-to-follow explanations and loads of examples and sample problems, Mathematics for the Clinical Laboratory, 3rd Edition is the perfect resource to help you master the clinical calculations needed for each area of the laboratory. Content is divided into three sections: a review of math and calculation basics, coverage of particular areas of the clinical laboratory (including immunohematology and microbiology), and statistical calculations. This new third edition also includes a new full-color design, additional text notes, formula summaries, and the latest procedures used in today's laboratories to ensure you are fully equipped with the mathematical understanding and application skills needed to succeed in professional practice. Examples of calculations for each different type of calculation are worked out in the chapters, step by step to show readers exactly what they're expected to learn and how to perform each type of calculation. Practice problems at the ends of each chapter act as a self-assessment tool to help readers determine what they need to review. Example problems and answers throughout the text can also be used as templates for solving laboratory calculations. Quick tips and notes throughout the text help readers understand and remember pertinent information. Answer key to the practice problems appears in the back of the book. Updated content and calculations reflect the latest procedures used in today's laboratories. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter provide a measurable outcome to achieve by the completing the chapter material. NEW! Summaries of important formulas are included at the ends of major sections. NEW! Full-color design creates a more accessible look and feel. NEW! Greek symbol appendix at the end of the book provides a quick place for readers to turn to when studying. NEW! Glossary at the back of the textbook includes definitions of important mathematical terms.
Linne and Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science by
Publication Date: 2015-04-09
Updated and easy-to-use, Linne & Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science: The Basics and Routine Techniques, 6th Edition delivers a fundamental overview of the laboratory skills and techniques essential for success in your classes and your career. Author Mary Louise Turgeon's simple, straightforward writing clarifies complex concepts, and a discipline-by-discipline approach helps you build the knowledge to confidently perform clinical laboratory tests and ensure accurate, effective results. Hands-on procedures guide you through the exact steps you'll perform in the lab. Review questions at the end of each chapter help you assess your understanding and identify areas requiring additional study. A broad scope makes this text an ideal introduction to clinical laboratory science at various levels, including CLS/MT, CLT/MLT, and Medical Assisting, and reflects the taxonomy levels of the CLS/MT and CLT/MLT exams. Detailed full-color illustrations show what you will see under the microscope. An Evolve companion website provides convenient online access to all of the procedures in the text, a glossary, audio glossary, and links to additional information. Case studies include critical thinking and multiple-choice questions, providing the opportunity to apply content to real-life scenarios. Learning objectives help you study more effectively and provide measurable outcomes to achieve by completing the material. Streamlined approach makes it easier to learn the most essential information on individual disciplines in clinical lab science. Experienced author, speaker, and educator Mary Lou Turgeon is well known for providing insight into the rapidly changing field of clinical laboratory science. Convenient glossary makes it easy to look up definitions without having to search through each chapter. NEW! Procedure worksheets have been added to most chapters; perforated pages make it easy for students to remove for use in the lab and for assignment of review questions as homework. NEW! Instrumentation updates show new technology being used in the lab. NEW! Additional key terms in each chapter cover need-to-know terminology. NEW! Additional tables and figures in each chapter clarify clinical lab science concepts.
Cardiovascular Disorders Sourcebook by
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Provides basic consumer health information about risk factors, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of disorders of the heart and blood vessels, along with prevention strategies and concerns specific to men, women, children, and minority populations. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and directory of resources.
Health Care by
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Health care is one of the fastest-growing career areas with many available employment opportunities. Ideal for those in search of a new career, Health Care introduces readers to many of the jobs in this rewarding industry and helps them reach their career goals with useful tips and advice from professionals in the field. A list of further information and trade organizations is also included, as well as a section helping readers to identify important skills or qualities needed to succeed in the health care field. Careers profiled include: Chiropractor Dental hygienist Genetic counselor Nurse Optician Osteopath Pharmacist Physical therapist Physician assistant Veterinary technician.
Patient-perspective care : a new paradigm for health systems and services by
Publication Date: 2018
Inappropriate health care is an escalating and expensive problem. It affects high income, middle income, and low income countries and wastes billions of dollars annually as well as harming individuals and communities. Inappropriate care refers to both the overuse and underuse of tests and treatments and, ironically, can occur concurrently within the same health system. Even though patient-centred care is still the prevailing ethos, specifying where patients should be situated geographically has not required health professionals to consider the preferences, values, and priorities of patients when making treatment decisions. Patient-perspective care demands that the decisions health professionals make are in the service of patient's goals. Health care, ultimately, is helping individuals to live the lives they would wish for themselves. In order to meet this imperative, health professionals must work towards understanding what their patients would like to achieve through their engagement with health services. This book details the extent and scope of inappropriate care and how we have arrived in this position. The necessity for patient-perspective care is outlined and provides a theoretical framework that explains why patient-perspective care is so critical. The implications of this theory are then explored and specific strategies for moving towards a patient-perspective approach are discussed. This book is entirely original and describes a novel, fresh approach to delivering health services. Many long-standing and expensive problems such as missed appointments will disappear and patients will be more satisfied with the treatments they receive. Health services generally will be more efficient and effective leading to more sustainable and affordable health care.
Medical Ethics, Law and Communication at a Glance by
Publication Date: 2016-10-10
Medical Ethics, Law and Communication at a Glance presents a succinct overview of these key areas of the medical curriculum. This new title aims to provide a concise summary of the three core, interlinked topics essential to resolving ethical dilemmas in medicine and avoiding medico-legal action. Divided into two sections; the first examines the ethical and legal principles underpinning each medical topic; while the second focuses on communication skills and the importance of good communication. Medical Ethics, Law and Communication at a Glance offers an accessible introduction to the fundamentals of good medical practice, and will provide indispensable support for undergraduate medical students and nurses, as well as newly qualified healthcare professionals.
Medical Claims Billing Service by
Publication Date: 2016-09-19
LAUNCH A CAREER IN MEDICAL CLAIMS BILLING The market for medical claim billers is growing exponentially. With legions of providers and an ever-expanding patient pool, health-care industry spending is expected to grow by 5.8 percent each year through 2024. By then, health-care spending will total $5.43 trillion and account for 19.6 percent of the gross domestic product. So let there be no doubt: Health care is big business and its growth shows no signs of slowing. This makes it the perfect time to start your own medical claims billing service.
Skills for Communicating with Patients by
Publication Date: 2016-03-09
Skills for Communicating with Patients, Third Edition is one of two companion books on improving communication in medicine, which together provide a comprehensive approach to teaching and learning communication skills throughout all levels of medical education in both specialist and family medicine. Since their publication, the first edition of thi
Practice Management for Healthcare Professionals by
Publication Date: 2015-10-29
Healthcare is one field that remains a growing industry, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor. As the youngest baby boomers continue to ascend in age, the need to employ qualified health care personnel to both prevent and treat medical issues increases. BLS suggests that there will be substantial growth of people in the healthcare field, from practitioners to operations personnel in administration and technology. Yet, many in the field struggle. This book provides relevant, pertinent, and focused information to aid a new or existing practice. The author, a well-respected international practice management consultant and medical practice coach, offers insights to revive a struggling practice. He provides frameworks, templates, and scripts that practices can immediately use.
Appreciative Healthcare Practice : A guide to compassionate, person-centred care by
Publication Date: 07/13/2015
Written by a leading healthcare academic and an accredited international business coach, this book takes a new approach to one of the most crucial issues in healthcare - how to care for patients appreciatively, responsively and compassionately. In the light of the findings of the Francis Report (2013), and at a time when healthcare services are under enormous pressure, there is a clear and urgent need for such a book. Despite the challenges of ill health, the authors demonstrate that the opportunity is there for any healthcare practitioner to draw out what the patient needs and desires, in line with the patient's own values, purposes and beliefs. This approach seeks to alleviate suffering and allows the patient to be more empowered and motivated to change, discovering choice and possibility in times of adversity. In this way, the practitioner can help the patient increase their own resilience and resourcefulness. At the same time, the practitioner discovers their own ability to self-care and self-manage.Aimed at healthcare students and practitioners at all levels, Appreciative Healthcare Practice will provide a valuable and supportive learning resource for a wide range of individuals involved in caring. Contents include:Introduction Carers' stories Compassionate and dignified care Professionalism - on becoming a professional Applying appreciative inquiry in practice and education Creativity and care Applying the three-eye model to healthcare Mindful healthcare practice The appreciative care worker and coach.
Medical Billing and Coding for Dummies by
Publication Date: 2015-05-27
Your complete guide to a career in medical billing and coding, updated with the latest changes in the ICD-10 and PPS This fully updated second edition of Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies provides readers with a complete overview of what to expect and how to succeed in a career in medical billing and coding. With healthcare providers moving more rapidly to electronic record systems, data accuracy and efficient data processing is more important than ever. Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies gives you everything you need to know to get started in medical billing and coding. This updated resource includes details on the most current industry changes in ICD-10 (10th revision of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems) and PPS (Prospective Payment Systems), expanded coverage on the differences between EHRs and MHRs, the latest certification requirements and standard industry practices, and updated tips and advice for dealing with government agencies and insurance companies. Prepare for a successful career in medical billing and coding Get the latest updates on changes in the ICD-10 and PPS Understand how the industry is changing and learn how to stay ahead of the curve Learn about flexible employment options in this rapidly growing industry Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies, 2nd Edition provides aspiring professionals with detailed information and advice on what to expect in a billing and coding career, ways to find a training program, certification options, and ways to stay competitive in the field.
Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement by
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement stands apart from other texts on health care finance or health insurance, in that it specifically addresses the methods and process for reimbursement, including coding, reimbursement strategies, compliance, financial reporting, case mix index, and external auditing. With up-to-date coverage of the Affordable Care Act, this one-of-a-kind text will prepare health administration and health information management students with the necessary tools to successfully transition from the classroom to the health care facility. Some of the topics covered include: * Claims Processing * The Affordable Care Act * Medicare Prospective Payment System (Inpatient) * Medicare Outpatient Prospective Payment Systems (Non-Inpatient) * Coding for the Non-HIM Professional * Revenue Cycle Management * Healthcare Fraud and Abuse * Electronic Health Records and Meaningful Use * Government Incentive Programs * Recovery Audit Contractors Student & Instructor Resources: This text comes packaged with Navigate 2 Advantage Access, a comprehensive package of mobile-ready course materials including: Learn: A complete eBook with interactive tools Practice: A virtual Study Center with robust practice activities and flashcards Assess: A homework and testing Assessment center with prepopulated quizzes and examinations Analyze: Dashboards with learner and educator views that reports actionable data
12-Lead Ekg Confidence by
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Praise for the Second Edition: ""This is an excellent workbook for students or healthcare professionals who are just beginning to interpret 12-lead EKGs. The book covers what is expected, but the manner in which it presents the material brings much clarity to the topic.""--Doody's Medical Reviews This handy, step-by-step guide for medical and nursing students and novice practitioners delivers ample information for confidently interpreting 12-lead EKGS. It goes beyond the many EKG books that rely on rote memorization by actively engaging students in the learning process. The guide fosters the understanding needed for students to comprehend, analyze, and interpret the variety of rhythm strips involved with 12-lead EKGs, and provides a solid grounding in the clinical relevance of dysrhythmias. This third edition features an expanded section on arrhythmias with double the amount of EKGs for practice, a revised worksheet design with larger 12-lead EKG printouts for readability, more practice worksheets and case studies, and additional 12-Lead EKGs in a digital folder for extra practice. Written clearly while avoiding a simplistic approach, the guide features a step-by-step progression that enables self-paced study. It presents basic principles of anatomy and physiology, including a review of the heartis electrical system, followed by foundational EKG concepts. The segment featuring the 12-Lead EKG rhythm strip is enlarged to ensure students can view the appropriate lead while seeing the entire strip. The guide discusses clinical reasoning for each type of rhythm and includes actual EKGs at the end of each chapter to test comprehension. Worksheets in each chapter include guidelines for interpreting actual EKG printouts and require students to practice measurement, evaluation, and analysis of rhythms and develop improved diagnostic reasoning skills. Case examples, Critical Concept Boxes, and tables highlight important points within the text. New to the Third Edition: Expanded Arrhythmia section with twice as many practice EKGs Revised Worksheet design offers larger 12-lead EKG printouts for readability More practice worksheets and case studies Additional 12-Lead EKGs in digital folder for extra practice Key Features: Facilitates step-by-step, self-paced learning Organizes EKG changes by causative abnormalityTeaches clinical reasoning for each type of rhythm Includes plentiful worksheets for practicing measurement, evaluating and analyzing rhythms, and honing diagnostic reasoning skills Offers actual EKGs at the end of each chapter "
Health Practice Relationships by
Publication Date: 2014-09-11
The quality, resourcing and accessibility of healthcare is a key issue facing societies in the 21st century. Despite the system delivery focus of these factors it is critical to remember that healthcare is a human service and as such, people need to be placed at the centre of healthcare systems and processes. To do this we need to improve the way that people are valued and involved in healthcare practices. Professional relationships lie at the heart of such practices. This book illuminates and challenges professional healthcare relationships. The authors examine the nature, context and purpose of healthcare relationships, explore models through which these relationships are enacted, developed and critiqued, and provide narratives of health practice relationships in action. These narratives reveal how health practice relationships are experienced and created in real-world situations. The various chapters generate a range of implications and recommendations for healthcare practice and systems and for the education of health professionals. This is a book for practitioners, educators, clients, members of the community, advocacy and agency groups, regulatory bodies and those with power to shape the future direction of healthcare. There are four sections in the book:Section 1: Health practice relationships contextSection 2: Understanding professional relationshipsSection 3: Health practice relationships narrativesSection 4: Implications for practice, systems and education
Medical Coding by
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
In clear and straightforward language, Medical Coding: What It Is and How It Works, Second Edition provides an overview of the evolution of medical coding and all the various coding systems, how they relate, and how they function. Reasoning and consequences of the delayed ICD-10 implementation are explained along with a sound overview of the ICD-10-CM and PCS classification systems. For those contemplating a career in the coding field, this book is ideal as a basic orientation. Other individuals in healthcare management and administration will also benefit from a basic understanding of how coding works. Unlike other publications that focus only on coding, this book integrates coding guidelines and principles into the billing and reimbursement process, giving the student a more practical foundation in the rationale for correct coding. Healthcare fraud and abuse is addressed as well, to assure that readers understand ethical concerns inherent in coding for reimbursement. Instructor Resources: Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Test Bank