Skip to main content

The Environment

Pollution, Recycling, Conservation, Endangered Species, and Extreme Weather

Databases can also be found in A-Z Database List

Hint: type Pollution” to receive the following example of results.

Academic Journal: Association between Outdoor Air Pollution and Childhood Leukemia: A Systematic Review and Dose-Response Meta-Analysis

Periodical: Are Electric Cars the Future?
 

EBSCOhost Web: 

Search multiple databases at once.  Click Academic Premier, GreenFILE, Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, eBook Collection, Applied Science & Technology Source, and Newspaper Source Plus.

Hint: A basic search of the word “pollution” gives the following results:

eBook: Coastal Pollution : Effects on Living Resources and Humans    

Reference: Water Pollution in Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia 

Academic Journal: Nonlinear Effects of Environmental Regulation on Environmental Pollution 

News: Roasting on an open fire: Is the home hearth harmful?

Videos from AP - Associated Press: Steel Mill Accused of Pollution, and Chemical Warfare Research [Streaming video] from Associated Press Video Collection database.

 

EBSCOhost Image Collection The image collection consists of more than one million images.  The Image Collection database can be accessed from the main page 

 or  by clicking Images from the More dropdown menu on the toolbar. 

Examples of key words to try for images.

  • Pollution
  • Water pollution
  • Waste management
  • Air pollution
  • Plastic pollution

 

Example Search: Type “oil spill

The search term "Oil Spill"  displays results for oil-spill damage, oil-spill cleanup, and information on the largest oil-tanker spills in history.  Check out the tabs on the left for the dictionary, images, videos, related websites, and journal/periodicals.

Results are also given based on categories such as Barack Obama: Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill, Budget Battles, and More Executive Action...

Example:  Type “noise pollution” in the search box for results that include articles, images, and links to information from a multitude of dictionaries and encyclopedias. 

Example:  Type “endangered species” in the search box for videos covering everything from the Mission Blue Butterfly to poaching in Africa.

Example:  Types “amazon conservation” in the search box, and  click Full Text and Peer Reviewed (articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by experts in the same subject area).  Once results displayed, date ranged can be selected at Applied Filters on the left.  The Last 12 Months was selected for the following results:     

Climate change impact on ecosystem functions provided by birds in southeastern Amazonia 

Agricultural land use among mestizo colonist and indigenous populations: Contrasting patterns in the Amazon