Skip to main content

The Environment

Pollution, Recycling, Conservation, Endangered Species, and Extreme Weather

Online Libraries

Digital Public Library of America

Access thousands of videos from libraries, archives, and museums. To limit to video formats, do a keyword search for topic of interest and then select the "moving images" filter on the results page.

 

United Nations Digital Library 

Currently, the UNDL incorporates digital content, mainly official UN documents and selected UN maps, with metadata from UNBISnet for UN-produced materials, as well as speech and voting records. Additional collections of digital materials will be added as they are created or are made available to us by UN departments, offices, and agencies.

 

Internet Sites

United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Pick a tab on the top to narrow your search parameters.   

ENIRONMENTAL TOPICS – You can choose form a wide range of topics from mold, pesticides, radon, or search from the A-Z Index.

  • Ground Water and Drinking Water 
  • Surf Your Watershed (SYW) - Watershed is an area or ridge of land that separates waters flowing to different rivers, basins, or seas.  The site provides simple access to a rich collection of watershed information
  •  Air Quality Trends  - EPA has set national air quality standards for six common air pollutants (also called the criteria pollutants):
    • carbon monoxide (CO)
    • ozone (O3),
    • lead (Pb)
    • nitrogen dioxide (NO2)
    • particulate matter (PM)
    • sulfur dioxide (SO2)

LAWS & REGULATIONS – Search by business sector, topic, policy and guidance, enforcement, and compliance.

 

Hint: Try typing “BP oil spill” in the search bar for information about the BP oil spill

U.S. Department of Energy – Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) 

The Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide.

Hint: Type “air pollution” for journal article, technical reports, and data results.

GeoPlatform.gov – National Geospatial Data Asset (NGDA) Themes

Use these NGDA Theme pages to access authoritative resources including Theme Community Sites, featured maps, data, layers, web services and more.  Information such as Biodiversity and Ecosystems, Climate and Weather, Cultural Resources, Geology, Land Use- Land Cover, Soils, Transportation, Water- Inland, and Water – Oceans & Coasts.

US. Fish & Wildlife Service (FWS) 

Provides information by national programs and regions.  There are links for ecological services, endangered species, conservation, invasive species, wildlife refuges, science, and wind energy.

National Ocean Service (NOAA) 

Find information on rides and currents, nautical charts, ocean reports, infographics, and information on the carbon cycle.

Government Publishing Office

  • ‚ÄčElectronic Code of Federal Regulations The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.
  • United States Code The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.  Browse for codes by the year.

Regulations.gov

The types of documents that can be found on this site include Proposed Rules, Rules, as well as Notices from the Federal Register – often referred to just as “Notices.” Public Submissions (e.g., comments, citizen petitions, early submissions) and Supporting Materials often associated with regulatory actions can also be found on this site.

Hint: Type “water pollution control” to find over 11,000 notices, proposed rule, and rules from EPA, NOAA, BOEM, and other government agencies.

U.S. Geological Survey

 

The site provides science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods; the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on; the health of our ecosystems and environment; and the impacts of climate and land-use change. Their scientists are developing new methods and tools to supply timely, relevant, and useful information about the Earth and its processes.

Hint: Click Science on the top tool bar and choose topics from Science Explorer, Mission Areas, or Regions.

Example: Mission Areas

  • Water Resources includes data for the nations news, and publications.
  • Environmental Health this page has information on the programs, science activities, publications, and news.

Scorecard – The Pollution Information Site 

Scorecard ranks geographic areas or pollution sources by health risks, pollutant exposures or toxic chemical releases. First select what you want to rank -- states, counties, zip codes or facilities. Then select your ranking criteria -- hazardous air pollutants, smog and particulates, toxic chemical releases, Superfund sites, lead hazards in housing, or animal waste. Result pages let you modify your ranking criteria, or drill down to local geographic areas.